We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Carlisle

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hotel Carlisle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carlisle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 192: English reviews
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Dated and a bit shabby, but very clean and convenient - worth the money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TopSkierDad
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here for a week during a National Specialty Dog Show.HORRIBLE! I was not expecting fabulous by any means,but I was expecting clean,friendly and decent. I was expecting clean towels,toilet tissue, a TV with a decent picture and staff that at least ACTED like they cared. I really think my expectations were well within reason....especially for $120 a night!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NEWFLADY
Wellsboro
Reviewed 30 May 2012

When you pull in to a hotel and the parking lot is empty turn around and keep driving. Very rude staff, dirty rooms (broken toilet, dirty bed sheets & room smelled of dog pee). Towels were disgusting and at least 20 years old.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diane W
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here for one night...it was a last minute decision and I booked the hotel on Orbitz, trusting their 3-Star rating. It's a 1-star. It smelled liked dogs (I guess there is an annual Greyhound convention at this hotel each year), it is very old...walls, ceiling, air conditioner, bathroom, pretty much everything. The towels looked like worn rags and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tripgirl89
Morgan Hill, California, USA
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Worst Hotel I have ever stayed at in my life. Smell was horrible, We had to go to walmart and buy our own toilet paper and bath towels because they said they didnt have enough. The sheets were old and during the 7 days we were there ( for a big dog show) they never once changed them or turned...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John B
Vermont
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Went to Carlisle for Dickinson College graduation and unfortunately stayed here. Granted,we arrived early before check-in time and there was a sign on the counter that said, Back in a few minutes. Phones were ringing and no one was around. After waiting about 10 minutes, a sullen young lady came in the front door and went behind the counter. She...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank travelervermonter
Malvern, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 18 May 2012

For the love of all things good and pure, do not give these people your money. Website shows refrigerator, microwave, clock radio. We received none of these in our room. When we called to complain, they said they would supply if there were any available. The towels were disgusting, stains all over them. There was no cold water in our...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Heather B
Scottsville, VA
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Worst hotel in the US. No towels, mold, filthy, little or no hot water, no toilet paper--absolutely discusting. Forced to stay her as site of a dog show. Never again. Rather sleep in my car.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank marvScottsville_VA
Fooka, General Manager at Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for all what you had to go through. because guests from the dog show walked their dogs in the hallways and inside the rooms, housekeepers could not enter and do their job. I know your dogs never bite, but the house keepers were afraid to enter rooms with loose dogs inside

Murrysville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My daughters and I have been coming to this hotel for over 20years. Now grown this we decided the best meeting place between our Pa. locations. Could not believe how this wonderful hotel has gone to the DOGS!!! We moved from 1 room to another because of the lack of light, smelling mold and mildew, dirty carpet. New room was...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank linda z
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This place used to be beautiful well kept hotel and conference center. However it was sold a number of years ago and it has just gone down the drain. I was here for a seminar and was in a large conference room. The doors in the room had to be propped open. Which I Was told it was to "warm...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank jrm1982
Fooka, General Manager at Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for all what you had to go through. because guests from the dog show walked their dogs in the hallways and inside the rooms, housekeepers could not enter and do their job. I know your dogs never bite, but the house keepers were afraid to enter rooms with loose dogs inside

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#23 of 27 in Carlisle
43 reviews
1.0 km away
Econo Lodge Carlisle
Econo Lodge Carlisle
#12 of 27 in Carlisle
131 reviews
1.5 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#17 of 27 in Carlisle
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Hampton Inn Carlisle
#1 of 27 in Carlisle
624 reviews
2.5 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 27 in Carlisle
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hotel Carlisle

Address: 1700 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17015-7658
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Price Range: $106 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Carlisle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Carlisle staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Carlisle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Happy and will be back”
 of 5 bubbles Marnie628, 29 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Don't go here”
 of 5 bubbles TravelingDan8, 7 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The best rooms are at another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles michaelpL1239TD, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
“don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles tennbunny, 21 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Find another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles janebA2318OA, 29 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay