We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Grand Hotel in Salem

Show Prices
#3 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Grand Hotel in Salem
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

553 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel in Salem
See the most recent reviews
Showing 546: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We were on a road trip between the Bay Area and Seattle and this was a great stop. We were tired of motels and wanted to stay someplace nice. The bed was -really- comfortable and the service was great. They give you a free breakfast that you can eat in the restaurant or take it up to your room. Nummies!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Msalexhill
Scott S, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review

Dear Msalexhill, Thanks for choosing our hotel and we really appreciate the outstanding comments! Scott Snyder General Manager

Yakima, Washington
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights at Ike Grand. The hotel is well named. It's a classic style downtown hotel in a capital city. The restaurant was excellent. There was a full breakfast buffet. Parking was available at no charge. The rate was excellent. All of the staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. I will choose this hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StuMac1002
Scott S, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review

StuMac1002, We're glad that you found us, that is really awesome that you gave yourself the extra day to enjoy our community. A collegiate game is a full day commitment, Salem has a lot to offer to the explorer. We do look forward to hosting you in the future. Scott Snyder General Manager

Montville, New Jersey
Reviewed 20 October 2016

I would recommend this hotel. We stayed here after visiting a couple vineyards roughly 20 minutes away. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The onsite restaurant, Bentley's Grill, is excellent. There is a complimentary parking lot below the hotel. Unfortunately, there was no bellman to help with our luggage so checking in was a hassle....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
Scott S, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review

Dear Karen H, Thank you for the compliments. I do apologize for the temperature of the breakfast items, typically the breakfast food is being prepared right up until closing due to need. Perhaps a lid was left open allowing the heat to escape and it didn't get noticed by the breakfast team. We do hope that we will have an...

Freeport, United States
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We were very pleased with our hotel and the staff was wonderful. Warm chocolate chiop cookies were presented by the owner himself as we checked in. We did not get bell service until we asked for it in the lobby, but then they were prompt. Our room was very nice - a living area as well as a bedroom area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy J
Scott S, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review

Dear Timothy J, Thank you for the great comments, glad the cookies were a hit! Regarding Bell Service, Salem isn't the type of town that would feel right, we do have personal that can assist as you noted and we happily provide it for many people, I am glad that you requested it because similarly we don't want to make...

Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Our stay was a return visit. My husband and I spent three nights @ the Grand while visiting our son who attends Willamette Univ. The downtown location can't be beat as it offers close proximity to the university and many restaurants--the downside to the location...the street noise in the room can be bothersome, but the convenience, and free parking (big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura and Melvi... H
Scott S, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review

Dear Laura and Melvin, We are so happy that you've found us. We cherish the 4 year relationships we build with our Willamette parents. Depending on the style of room that you request, we'd be happy to assign an interior facing room, just let the desk staff know your preference. Also, please make reservations quickly for any campus events as...

Seattle
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Staff are very nice although there was only one person at the desk at a time so the wait could be longer than you would expect at an upscale hotel. Location is good if you have a reason to be in Salem, and the restaurant was tasty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanw8461
Scott S, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review

Dear joanw8461, Thank you for the observation and comments. I going to presume that one of the front desk staff were on a break or helping run an errand when you experienced the delay. The staff works to minimize any inconvenience while taking the required breaks. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Scott...

Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We have stayed hotels with this name where the name reflects former rather than current glory. That is not the case with the Grand in Salem, it is a modern, well equipped hotel. Our room was large with a semi-separate seating area. The bathroom was modern and well equipped and the whole room was clean. The bed was large and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike-Bucks
Scott S, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review

Dear Mike-Bucks, Thank you for the wonderful evaluation! The Wi-Fi connectivity is interesting as we've just gone through an upgrade for our location. I'm not sure if you will be returning, but please let us know so that if the same thing happens, we can get you in touch with our support service to help ensure there are no firewalls...

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

A good experience. The lobby was pleasant and the room was very good. It seems way better than the other options in the area. The only demerit was the free breakfast which was too industrial. The parking was free and easy to access without even a ticket.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald L
Scott S, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review

Dear Donald L, Thank you for the comments and observations. I would like to let you know that we are working on making the Breakfast Room more comfortable. We are ordering some more appropriately sized and situated tables as well as center pieces. We have a constantly changing menu for proteins and starches to give repeat and multi-day guests variety...

Sisters, Oregon
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

I attended a conference here. Worst experience of my life - I guess I'll have stories to tell for years to come. I tried to switch rooms, but the staff was horrible and wouldn't do anything without me having to pay an extra two hundred dollars!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy K
Scott S, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review

Dear Randy K Below is the email that I sent to you on Saturday morning. I am very sorry to hear about your experience. I am not certain how or if you would’ve had any idea that your roommate would have a CPAP machine or if your group would’ve known to be able to place that person in a room...

Breckenridge, Minnesota
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The check-in and out were so easy in the downtown location, and the parking garage was special in the rain. Dinner here was the best in the Northwest, I think. We had a table with a dedication plaque, for a longtime businessman customer who had recently passed, with a view of the chef's plating area and kitchen. The dinner was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael470
Scott S, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review

Dear Michael470, Thank you for the kind words. We hope that your travel plans do bring you back to our area soon! Scott Snyder General Manager

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
4.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mill Creek Inn
4.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
3.8 km away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 23 in Salem
759 reviews
5.3 km away
Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oversized, Well-Appointed, and newly renovated Hotel Accommodations in Salem, Oregon. The Grand Hotel in Salem, Oregon features 193 luxurious and comfortable rooms and premier suites. Headquarters hotel for the Salem Convention Center, we are a 100% non-smoking facility. Our room settings are arranged perfectly for business and leisure travelers, conference attendees, small or large families and groups. These are definitely the most elegant, spacious rooms in Salem, Oregon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Address: 201 Liberty St SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301-3509
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Price Range: $214 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Travelocity and TravelClick so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
#3 Business Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Grand Hotel in Salem staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Puyallup, Washington
2 days ago
San Francisco, California

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Grand Hotel in Salem staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick a room near the elevator, as it is a long walk to some rooms. The suite is worth the money for the extra sleeping area and privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles 1rialta, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an upper floor with a street view.”
 of 5 bubbles CrowdAvoidance, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best night sleep the whole trip”
 of 5 bubbles Msalexhill, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They do have a microwave and a fridge”
 of 5 bubbles TimothyJ746, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“upper floors are better as are the rooms to the west and away from Front Street”
 of 5 bubbles joanw8461, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5