We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 245: English reviews
Kennewick, Washington
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Location, location, location... Convention Center is where we needed to be. The beds were comfortable. The room was fairly clean, though there was a discarded candy wrapper on the floor under the HVAC unit. The shower drained slow and was difficult to pull on. After reading reviews asked about a room on the quiet side. Can't imagine how loud it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debrueg
Countryside, Illinois
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Very easy to get to downtown from this hotel. Close to Max rail, bus & street cars. It takes about 5minutes to downtown by car or Max. Convention center is about 2blocks away. Lloyd center and good restaurants are within walking distance. The hotel is old but, the room was clean & the bed was comfortable. The linens were clean....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aligela C
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I booked a through Expedia to stay at this hotel. The reservation was made at 8pm the night before my arrival. I was road tripping up from LA and got snowed in about 3 hours south of Portland. I called Expedia and informed them of my situation and they said they would be happy to refund my money if Quality...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CaitP55
manager431, Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

I apologize if you felt I was rude to you, it was not my intention. I was trying to explain the cancellation policy which you had agreed to at the time of booking. We do charge for no shows or cancellation made after the cancellation deadline. Cancellations due to weather conditions after the cancellation deadline are not allowed per agreement...

Oregon
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This used to be a crappy La Quinta now it's a nice Quality Inn. Decor and bed nice and comfortable, Just a shower in out room but it had a heat lamp and nice shower head-- plenty of hot water. Close to the Max but only a 6-7 minute walk to the Rose Garden. Walked into breakfast room about 9...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
Costa Mesa, CA
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I have stayed here many times during the last six years. The property has undergone an owner/management change. The good points: ----still has very dedicated employees who are anxious to please ----the breakfast buffet is excellent with many good choices ---clean and comfortable rooms The bad points: ---I had a pre-paid reservation. Upon arrival, the employee asked me for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teacherjim
manager431, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We do require incidental credit card on pre paid reservations. We do not have any media charge. No media charge is accessed for any customers. I incidental cards are taken for any incidentals that can occur during your stay such as damage to the room, phone calls, non declared pet fees, smoking in our non-smoking...

Blackfalds, Canada
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is an 80s hotel in need of a makeover. I will never forget the smell and sounds of this hotel. And when I discussed my issues (cleanliness, wifi, smell, noise, etc) I was told "what did you expect it's an old hotel." I don't mind old....it's the poor customer service and uncleanliness I care about. Can't regulate the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
Redding, California
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed at the Quality Inn while attending an event at the convention center. WOW! Convenient location, clean and comfortable room, friendly staff, great breakfast, and affordable! What more could you want? I'd especially like to mention Clyde who takes care of the breakfast room and is topnotch. I highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again should I need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great hotel if you're on a budget, or if you'd rather spend money elsewhere (like on the wonderful food of Portland, or at the convention center). Bonus: decent continental breakfast included. The building is older with worn carpet in the stairwells, but it's clean and neat where it counts: comfortable, clean beds, nice size room and bathroom area (I stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stephsco
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location for getting aroud without the high prices of the hotels in the downtown area. Very short walk to the Max line (efficient, frequent and fast) and the Streetcar is across the street. It is friendly, quiet, clean and includes a big breakfast. Lots of free parking, so we parked the car and didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Saffron1975
Portland
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rodney K

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 km away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#71 of 138 in Portland
316 reviews
0.1 km away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.1 km away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#8 of 138 in Portland
323 reviews
1.1 km away
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#64 of 138 in Portland
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center

Address: 431 Northeast Multnomah, Portland, OR 97232 (Formerly La Quinta)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Price Range: $131 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Portland Hotel Portland
Portland La Quinta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Seattle, Washington
10 months ago
Klamath Falls, Oregon

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to be away from the street, my window was right above a bus stop.”
 of 5 bubbles laughsalot0579, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room faced the Subway (across Multnomah??) and was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles H8481FVsharonb, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“stay at the Marriott across the street”
 of 5 bubbles enjocookie, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“None of them”
 of 5 bubbles jordannet2016, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles H1166GHmichellec, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5