We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Inn at the Convention Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Inn at the Convention Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Inn at the Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 286: English reviews
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Reviewed 24 April 2015

I spent the last week during a convention at this hotel as it was the closest hotel to the convention center and directly on a max station. Not my normal hotel type but as the price was the driving force in the decision we booked it. Ok, it is an older hotel and it shows. But, the room was clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis T
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Dennis T, thank you for deciding to stay with us. We are a bit older, but our rooms are clean, we have a great location, our price is right, and best of all we have an outstanding staff. I really appreciate your comments regarding the staff. They are very knowledgeable of the area and the many things to see and...

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 21 April 2015

I have been using this hotel for quite some time. They have made some great improvements. I was put into on of the newly refurbished rooms on my last trip. It was very nice. The location is great for my business trips to the area. Right in the middle of everything with the train to the airport stopping right across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Scott B, I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on-line. We are glad you choose to stay with us when you visit Portland. I am glad you liked our newly upgraded king rooms. We have also just added new 32" LCD TV's to all our double queen rooms. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 20 April 2015 via mobile

The staff are so personable! The outside of the hotel doesn't look like much but the rooms are immaculant close to the convention center walking distance and friendly staff reasonably priced! It's always nice to come across a staff that is friendly and a good mood

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladys99
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Ladys99, thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay. As the General Manager, I really appreciate when guests comment on how well they were treated by the staff. We have been making many improvements to the inside of the hotel and the guest rooms. We are planning on making some exterior improvements this summer. We look forward...

Reviewed 20 April 2015 via mobile

We came here for a conference and the room was perfect. It had everything we needed. The rooms are quiet. The parking is free and everything is within walking distance to everything including the conference center across the street. Will certainly come again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justbcz
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Justbcy, thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad our location across the street from the Oregon Convention Center was convenient for you. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Ashland, United States
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Staff was super friendly and very helpful. Stayed here for a local event, and was able to walk to everything, and take MAX to downtown Portland. Staff were great, and offered lots of help for restaurants & shopping. I'd definitely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristopher P
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Kristopher P, thanks for sharing your feedback with our Tripadvisor audience. We enjoyed having your group stay with us. I especially appreciate your positive comments regarding the staff. I am glad our location worked well for your team. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Located close to the convention center and the train. Easy walk down to Burnside. The room was immaculate. It's an old motel, so the furnishings aren't the latest and greatest, but everything we needed was great. Bed was uber-comfy. Shower was hot with great water pressure. Tub was spotless. Mini fridge in the room was bigger than most and looked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erin H
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Erin, it is always great to receive feedback from our guests. We appreciate you sharing your comments with our TripAdvisor audience. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our location, comfy beds, clean and spacious rooms, and the great service provided by our front desk staff. We hope to see you back on your next trip to Portland.

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 5 April 2015

The Inn at the Convention Center has one of the best views of downtown Portland(south facing rooms) that I have seen from inside a hotel. The location is perfect for shopping (Lloyd Center Mall,downtown Portland).Food (dozens of restaurants,fast food,convenience stores,and delivery services)and many of these are within walking distance.Entertainment(Convention Center, the Moda center, parks,and downtown Portland being just a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjhquote
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Matt, thank you very much for providing us feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate you staying with us and are glad you have enjoyed our newly upgraded king rooms. We are delighted that our location is a great fit for you and that you had a chance to meet some of our outstanding employees. Each one of them truly enjoys...

Everett, Washington
Reviewed 3 April 2015

dingy, old, out dated, loud traffic noise, loud Max train noise and weird homeless/drunk psycho people noises all hours of the night! However the bedding was new and the only thing going for this place. I would only stay here again IF I went to a concert at the Moda center, got extremely drunk and came here just to pass...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawna M
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Shawna, thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry you were unhappy with the furniture in the the room. We are in the process of replacing much of the furniture and updating many of the rooms. As you mentioned the bed and bedding is brand new and the location is very convenient for concerts at the...

Reviewed 29 March 2015

Booked even after reading bad reviews, unfortunately regret it. Now have a serious health concern resulting from poor housekeeping and not cleaning/removing a dangerous object from the bathroom floor. Frustrating thing is that I would have rated this much higher for overall quality but for that serious issue. Location convenient to the Convention Center and the MAX, price low. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie D
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Julie, I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate incident. I appreciate you mentioning our location and the convenience to the MAX, and our affordable pricing. I am glad you were able to stay with us for the four nights during your conference and thanks for mentioning our personable and helpful staff.

Reviewed 24 March 2015

Just not good. Smoke smell throughout. Old and run down. Took me 3 laps of city blocks to find parking. Carpet had rips in it, shower/tub stained. Couldn't get phone to work, and tv didn't work. Front desk blamed housekeeping (I really dislike when hotel staffs do that). Was a plug-in issue for Tv issue but plug was covered with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Promart1
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Promart1, I sincerely apologize for the concerns you had regarding your stay. The construction in the area has put pressure on parking and that will be coming to an end soon. We are the only hotel that does not charge its overnights guests for parking. We have made arrangements for additional parking for busy nights. I had our maintenance staff...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 km away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.3 km away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#10 of 137 in Portland
302 reviews
0.9 km away
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#66 of 137 in Portland
516 reviews
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great location, moderately price, free WIFI, free on-site parking, limited service, interior corridors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inn at the Convention Center

Address: 420 NE Holladay St, Portland, OR 97232-2009
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Price Range: $127 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at the Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Hotel Portland
Inn Convention Center Portland
Hotel At
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn at the Convention Center staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Inn at the Convention Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 504 is the best in the place.”
  • View from room 504
 of 5 bubbles 910aris, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the side away from the noise!”
 of 5 bubbles sburant2014, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“None of my group had any complaints about their room.”
 of 5 bubbles martha1850, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The street side rooms are, obviously, noisier than the parking lot side.”
 of 5 bubbles keitha718, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room high up in the building on the south side. Should cut down on outside noise.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelsI4946KC, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay