We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Downtown Value Inn

Hostelworld.comUSD 82*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 138*
USD 82*
Great Deal
USD 138*
USD 122*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Downtown Value Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Downtown Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
Stevensville, Montana
Reviewed 17 December 2014

Lots of the bad reviews for this place, I feel, are from older peopling who could probably afford a better place to stay. For what we paid, which was less than half of other downtown Portland hotels, no complaints. It had the classic old cigarette hotel smell, the room was a bit dirty (found a cigarette butt against the wall...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank DirtyPatches
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Reviewed 29 November 2014

I reserved this room through AARP and I can't believe anyone vetted this place for seniors. Not particularly clean to begin with, edging on blanket torn which almost tripped me up before I realized it, big stain on bedspread, floors so sloping I thought at first I had vertigo, NO elevator, no bell service, had to schlep my own bags...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jean M
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 17 November 2014

Room were clean, no big issues and the location was good, our issue was that it was pricy for what the room was, and we got there really late. Walking distance from the nightlife in downtown Portland, if you like to walk this is.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaktux
Reviewed 9 November 2014 via mobile

One of the cheaper accomdations downtown Portland. Stayed one night. Budget/no frills in a decent/central location. Parking &/close to public transportation. Didn't notice an elevator but I think there are only 3 or 4 floors. Room was slightly larger and also less sketchy than I'd anticipated. A/C, microwave, mini fridge. Free wifi(need password to access). Toiletries & amenities sparse. Bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alana B
New Westminster, Canada
Reviewed 9 November 2014

For the price (cheap compared to other downtown hotels), this place is surprisingly nice. Bedspreads are super old but some renos have been done in the rooms. Very clean and good size. Walking distance to everything you would want in Portland (food trucks, breweries, shopping, etc.). nice and quiet too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melisa J
Washington
Reviewed 27 September 2014

This was our first visit to Portland Or. We drove all the way from our hometown and were tired, needed a place to rest and enjoy, luckily this motel was awesome. We were walk in guest, got a two queen bed room. The front desk staff were really helpful and courteous. The front desk clerk Brent went out of his...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthew G
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Mathew thank you for choosing TripAdvisor to share with other travelers your experience at our establishment. We were pleased to see that you had such an enjoyable stay. We were glad to see that Brent was so helpful, and that the facilities and amenities met your needs. We do apologize that our parking area isn't as spacious as we wish...

California
Reviewed 21 September 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights and was really happy being in Portland for the summer. Firstly the place iis good for its location. The motel is little old but the beds and the room which I was given was nicely done. The linen was soft and clean. No signs of bed bugs at all. We got the housekeeping service...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank norio444
Reviewed 20 September 2014

very bad place no hot water in the shower.At least good location, but now have to spend the day dirty in good location. other than that you get what you pay for I guess. Just ask to see the room and test water before renting if possible.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank haventshowered
Tasmania
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed 4 nights here after being underwhelmed by Portland's Airbnb options and it ticked all the boxes for a motel of this quality. The place is clean. Good location - trams and buses often leave just near and it's not too far to walk into the pioneer square area. Comfy bed, quiet at night, air con, good quality wifi....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank musquit0
Eagle River, Alaska
Reviewed 11 July 2014

After booking a room for a four day weekend in Portland, I arrived and they had canceled my reservation. Trying to say that I canceled the reservation (which I definitely did not) they were extremely rude. Probably for the best as the lobby had a stench and was certainly not clean. Never ever.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AKBurdy
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We were sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience at our establishment. We would very much appreciate the chance to talk with you in more detail about your visit. We can be contacted at guestrelations@downtownvalueinn.com. We hope to hear from you soon.

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#48 of 139 in Portland
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#26 of 139 in Portland
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Downtown Value Inn

Address: 415 SW Montgomery Street, Portland, OR 97201
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Price Range: $132 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Downtown Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Value Hotel Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Downtown Value Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from them and get somewhere else...it is the best way!”
hirohosono, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“# 34 was our room and the owner had just painted and remodeled the bathroom.”
vld, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room not on the main road as the trams are go right pass the front and start at around 5.30AM”
817karlp, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you can park on-location,”
883luisj, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“if you have to stay here, be sure to ask for a room away from the street and trains/street cars”
jessmxoxo, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
USD 82* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 138
Orbitz.comUSD 122
Hotwire.comUSD 122
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates