We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel on the River

Show Prices
#56 of 137 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel on the River
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

940 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel on the River
See the most recent reviews
Showing 928: English reviews
Portland
Reviewed 12 May 2015

Since we are not "morning people," my wife and I use this Red Lion as a place to spend the night before very early morning departures. It is a large complex with a good restaurant, comfortable and large rooms and pleasant staff. The rooms are well soundproofed which is important since it is a stone's throw from Interstate 5. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KommissarKen
Otorohanga, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 May 2015

We stayed at this hotel because it was the hotel of the event we were a part of. First complaint: the safe in our room had been locked by the previous occupant of the room, so we were unable to open it. Two days after telling the front desk, it still has not been opened. Second complaint: we were supposed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank satch58
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review

I am very disappointed in issues you experienced during your stay. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations in all that we do and it is clear that in this case we failed. This is not the type of stay we want our guest to have. Please accept my apology. We appreciate the feedback. Rod Russell General Manager

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 9 May 2015

We had a great stay here which added to our experience in Portland. We loved being on the water and wish we had secured a room on the river side. Our breakfast at the hotel restaurant was very good. I would recommend this hotel for those not needing to be in downtown Portland and as we had a 5 am...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dieselmedia
Hudson, Florida
Reviewed 5 May 2015

hotel itself very nice but the WORST shuttle service and EVEN WORSE COVER-UP ATTEMPT-- we called as soon as we landed from a long exhausting trip cross country and were told a shuttle would arrive in 20 minutes... no shuttle... 2nd call.. another 20 minute wait...... no shuttle... many calls and after an HOUR, it finally arrived. we were NOT...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mareesac
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review

I am sorry for the long wait at the airport on the Friday you arrived at the airport we had 2 shuttles running at a time to the airport and I am not sure how you were left for an hour, Please accept my apology that we left you with the feeling the hotel had lied to you and I...

Prince George, BC, CANADA
Reviewed 4 May 2015

This was a really nice place to stay at. Perfect if you're close to airport or you don't want to pay the high prices of being downtown, that was us. We had a car so just drive to town and park in the parkade, I'm sure we saved a lot of money. The room was really nice, bathroom was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank missingthebuffet
St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 2 May 2015

The rooms are large and comfortable. I stayed on the side nearest the bridge so there was some road noise during rush hour but it was not to bad. I would suggest asking for a room with a view of the river as this hotel is right on the river, the view from the restaurant for breakfast was excellent. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NLtrout
Keller
Reviewed 28 April 2015

I was very happy with my stay here. It's right on the Columbia River, and sports a large pool and tennis court. I opted for a room with a view of the river (tip: ask for one of the rooms at the far end of each wing closest to the river). Everything was above the norm-- comfortable bed/bedding, room amenities,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ben S
Canada
Reviewed 26 April 2015

The Red Lion is located on the Columbia River and we could see Mount St. Helens and Mount Hood from our room on some days. We were lucky to stay in a riverside room near the marina, so we had a beautiful view of the river. The hotel is going through renovations though, so be sure to ask for an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mercury752
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review

Daryl, Thank you for sharing your comments with others and it is rewarding to know that guests enjoy there stay and are able to relax and enjoy the beautiful view of the local mountains and the Columbia River, We are doing some upgrades and renovations to the hotel and I am happy you enjoyed them. Rod Russell General Manager

Reviewed 25 April 2015

Satisfactory room; they have some work to do in the restaurant to handle busy times and food was OK, not great. But we were there as it was the departing spot for the cruise. Maybe if we stayed only one night it would have been better. Location not real good for visiting Portland - van to train, which was great,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review

Carl, I hope you enjoyed your cruise on the Columbia River and we receive great comments from guest who have taken the cruise, I will address your concerns of the Restaurant being able to handle the business levels when we are full, I appreciate your feedback and your business. Rod Russell General Manager

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 24 April 2015

Everyone at this hotel was incredibly friendly and helpful. Very high customer service. My room was comfortable and the restaurant food was great! The view of the river is also very relaxing. Great place to stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allie P

591 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (213)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (354)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Family Suite (49)
Viewed
Fireplace Suite (48)
Viewed
Junior Suite (44)
Viewed
Parlor Suite (46)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Premium Double Queen Room (33)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 km away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn At The Meadows
0.9 km away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
#39 of 137 in Portland
987 reviews
1.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
1.0 km away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Price Range: $145 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel on the River staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel on the River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They help get you to the Cruise ship on departure day. Nicely done”
 of 5 bubbles angelamN7255VF, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A room at the poolside gave us a pretty view of the bridge”
 of 5 bubbles 439bonniec, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Located right on the Columbia River.”
 of 5 bubbles U8355KOrobertk, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room.”
 of 5 bubbles budbyrwheels, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors have better view of river”
 of 5 bubbles keithbS6419VQ, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay