We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Lion Hotel on the River

Show Prices
#56 of 137 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel on the River
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

939 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 927: English reviews
WA State
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location and views from this hotel are amazing. It's too bad our room was not properly cleaned. Our bathroom and coffee station were dirty and not properly stocked. The second night the coffee pod and sugar was not restocked. The carpet needed a more recent vacuum also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WAStateSandy1950
Rod R, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review

Sandy -- I am so sorry to hear about our housekeeping mistakes. We will follow up with research and training. Thanks for letting us know. I do hope you will come again. Rod Russell General Manager

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is sprawling and doesn't feel well cared for. Not my favorite spot in Portland. The view is nice but you can't walk to any neighborhoods from this location and the restaurant food is average. The rooms are decent but nothing about this hotel feels special. It really caters to the conventions and it feels very generic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cshowalter
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When I walked in my room I was amazed by the modern looking room with a huge TV. I was extremely happy with the room for the price but when I came back to my room the 2nd night the trash wasn't taken and my bed was never made. They did pick up my towel but that was all they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan P
Rod R, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review

Ryan -- I am delighted that you enjoyed one of our newly remodeled rooms. I apologize for the lack of housekeeping. I will forward your comments, for research and further training. Thanks for the feedback, and your business ! Rod Russell General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised with the fresh and clean looking lobby. As I proceeded down the long corridor to my room cleanliness and upkeep appear to be worsening with every step. The double queen room was large and well appointed. It looks like an attempt was made to refresh the property but the upkeep has fallen short. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
Rod R, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review

Mike -- thank you for your comments. Guest feedback is essential to us, and we appreciate the time it takes to communicate your experience. As we continue to work toward our goal of remodeling/upgrading all 320 guest rooms, our plans are to then move to the public spaces and major building renovations. Meanwhile, our fantastic river front view will continue...

Deltona, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fist the room is decent standard two queens bedroom. Nice bathroom and lot of spaces. Other standard items as you would expect from the hotel. The front desk of the hotel looks very nice. "Include breakfast" does not clarify what would be included. It does not really include breakfast but rather you have credit toward your breakfast that you get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
Rod R, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review

John -- thanks for the detailed comments ! I do apologize for the missed housekeeping ! I hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again, in the near future. Rod Russell General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My parents were going on the River boat Cruise and had reservations here. We decided to bring them in 1 day early to get them settled and rested. Needless to say nothing quite goes as planned - with the exception of one thing...The Red Lion Team! They did a fabulous job. They didn't drop the ball on any details. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
Rod R, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review

Excellent ! I am so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your business and your recommendations to other travelers. Sincerely Rod Russell General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the Deluxe King Suite $200+ / night. Highly Over priced, in comparison to what is offered. Very low in-room amenities. Refrigerator wasn't cold enough. Only 2 single cup coffee packets. Tried to order coffee through room service. Very rude staff. Told it was at least a 1 hour wait. Restaurant dinner entrees selection is highly overpriced, (No soup,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John M
Rod R, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review

John -- I am very sorry that you were disappointed with our facility. We strive to meet and exceed our guests expectations, and fortunately most often succeed. We realize we cannot do that for every guest, and can only apologize. Thank you for the feedback, we will use it to research and train, as needed. Rod Russell General Manager

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our fourth trip to Red Lion (because we've come to trust Red Lion as a reliably clean and comfortable spot we can afford.) My husband enjoyed the pool. I enjoyed the nearby shopping. Staff were friendly and helpful, and when we showed up for our room reservation, they upgraded us to a poolside room at charge (so nice!)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bonnie C
Rod R, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review

Bonnie -- I am very glad to hear your stay was perfect ! I love that you appreciated our facility, staff and organic coffee ! I hope we will have the chance to host you again, soon ! Rod Russell General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked the Red Lion Hotel not knowing if it would suit my business travel needs. Found it to be an excellent choice including the room and restaurant. Stayed on the river side and enjoyed the view. The front desk staff was courteous and helpful in suggesting a room and other services. Stayed on an upper floor.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert K
Rod R, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review

Robert -- thank you for the feedback. It's always nice to know when we have succeeded in meeting or exceeding our guests expectations. We look forward to a return visit. Rod Russell General Manager

LA
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We stayed here two nights before cruising on ACL American Pride which docks right behind hotel. Four of us took a shuttle taxi for $40. It use to have free transportation to airport but unfortunately they discontinued service a few days before we arrived which was disappointing. As for the hotel it is a very nice. The room and bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank luv2goLa
Rod R, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review

Terrific review ! I am glad you enjoyed all we had to offer. Please come again soon ! Rod Russell General Manager

591 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (213)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (354)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Family Suite (49)
Viewed
Fireplace Suite (48)
Viewed
Junior Suite (44)
Viewed
Parlor Suite (46)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Premium Double Queen Room (33)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 km away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn At The Meadows
0.9 km away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
#39 of 137 in Portland
987 reviews
1.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
1.0 km away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Price Range: $145 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel on the River staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel on the River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They help get you to the Cruise ship on departure day. Nicely done”
 of 5 bubbles angelamN7255VF, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A room at the poolside gave us a pretty view of the bridge”
 of 5 bubbles 439bonniec, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Located right on the Columbia River.”
 of 5 bubbles U8355KOrobertk, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room.”
 of 5 bubbles budbyrwheels, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors have better view of river”
 of 5 bubbles keithbS6419VQ, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay