We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Agate Beach Inn

CancelonUSD 137*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 281*
USD 137*
Great Deal
USD 151*
USD 151*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,154: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western Agate Beach Inn
 Click to rate
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Fantastic ocean view and no real problems during our stay. Friendly receptionist, quick check-in and a decent size room . Everything was clean but just seemed 20 years behind the times. Carpets were dark, decorations bland, everything just needs a lift. We used the bar and service was excellent. No breakfast provided which is unusual for BW. We booked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel S
portland or
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 27 March 2017

The Agate Beach Best Western is where we keep returning when headed to the Oregon Coast. You just can't beat the views, room size and the general quality of the hotel... all at a very reasonable price. I like the privacy of the setting. It's far enough away from the hustle and bustle yet still convenient. If you are a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank heatherPortlandOr
About Hotel's Favourite Review
twokuhl, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate all of your comments about our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Judy

Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We needed a three day get away and chose Newport as the destination. We were happy to get a room for a reasonable rate at the Best Western. The hotel needs a face lift and in November it will get that and more in the mean time it still has a great location, good views The staff could not be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We can hardly wait till our Remodel it will be so nice when it is done. So bare with us and come see us again. Judy

Woodburn, Oregon
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Loved the view from my room of the ocean. Agate Beach is just across the road from the hotel. A lovely beach to walk on. Staff is friendly. Pool was great. Plenty of parking. Pet friendly too! Room service menu is very reasonable.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thorw72
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate your comments and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Judy

Redmond, Oregon
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room 306 they will tell you is full ocean view. Only if you stand to the far right of the room immediately at the very dirty windows will you have a substantial ocean view. From there you will also gaze out over the metal rooftop and a couple roads. We've enjoyed many full ocean view rooms, this is not one....

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dahlmanm
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry you were disappointed with your stay, I noticed you were in a pet room and we try very hard to keep them as clean as our other rooms. I do hope you will come back and stay with us again. I do appreciate all of your comments. Judy

Dallas, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

Going to the beach always involves our 3 dogs (golden retrievers and Weim) , and who wants to go for just 1 day, especially if you hit a beautiful day! We have discovered that most hotels limit the size of dog allowed, usually 25lb or less. Not sure of THAT logic? BW Agate Beach does not have a size limit....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meg B
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review

I am glad that you like that we are pet friendly. I wish we could come up with a plan that would make a better access to the beach but since it's not our property not sure what we could do. Thank you for your review. Judy

Modesto, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff here was very helpful, especially Ann who helped explain my points on rewards and a miscommunication between another service member. While the views are not as good as the Hallmark Resort, this hotel still has one of the better locations in Newport. You can hear the waves crash when when you go to sleep at might. The room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank X2662OAalejandroa
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. Judy

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

I purchased our time here via a Groupon so we got a very good deal to stay here. When we arrived, it was a little startling to see how far away and high up most of the parking was from the hotel but this turned out not to be a problem at all. The parking lot is at the same...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelinThompsons
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate all of your comments and hope that you will come stay with us again. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Judy

Newberg, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

As always, we were very comfortable. The view is the best from the upper floors. The hotel room is always clean and comfortable. All of the Hotel employees we converse with are quite pleasant. This is a pet friendly place so I will probably take my dog next time.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X9656DXmaryp
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review

I am glad that you stay with us when you come to town. Make sure you call in advance for a pet room as they go fast. Thank your for your review. Judy

Manchester, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has gorgeous views if you are in the back end facing the ocean. The restaurant has great food and great waitstaff. Unfortunately, there was no breakfast included, but there was a $5.00 breakfast offered every morning.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 683lesliej
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review

I love the view here as well, I am glad that you were able to enjoy it. I hope you will come stay with us again. Thank you for your review! Judy,

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.8 km away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,006 reviews
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.9 km away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
3.2 km away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,673 reviews
1.8 km away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All of our rooms have been recently redecorated and new carpet as of 7/31/2013! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Agate Beach Inn

Address: 3019 North Coast Highway, Newport, OR 97365-1707
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Price Range: $171 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Agate Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Agate Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Agate Beach Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Eugene, Oregon
Portland, Oregon, United States
over a year ago
Swansea S.Wales
Stillwater, Minnesota

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Agate Beach Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean view room a must”
hazels207, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“6th floor 610 and higher.”
josephcC2575FD, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“King View Room had nice views - 5th floor”
TravelinThompsons, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“every room has a view. short walk to Agate Beach.”
263colleenl, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ocean View rooms, as high up as possible! Pool is on the 2nd floor at the end of the hall (lots of traffic).”
JimmyBe425, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
USD 137* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 151
TripAdvisorUSD 151
AMOMAUSD 281
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates