We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Valley River Inn

Show Prices
#4 of 34 Hotels in Eugene
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Valley River Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Valley River Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 614: English reviews
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This hotel is in a nice location next to the river. Get a river view room if possible as the view is nice, though their courtyard rooms have a garden like view that is desirable. The rooms are quite decent and generally quiet. Try to get a room toward the west side of the buildings as they are farther from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harold G
Cheryl M, General Manager at The Valley River Inn, responded to this review

Appreciate the great review. Our backyard; the Willamette River, is quite stunning isn't it? Plan another trip bacl soon! The stunning fall colors are exploding right now.

Bend
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Late to have room ready, delayed check in. Dirty room had not been vacuumed, mold in room airconditioning unit, peeling paint on toilet seat, broken TP dispenser in bathroom, very old worn out bedding and only worn sheets and one very old blanket on bed, uncomfortable beds, could feel springs in mattress, needs an upgrade badly. No microwave or fridge....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 362kathrynk
Cheryl M, General Manager at The Valley River Inn, responded to this review

Dear 362kathrynk, I am so sorry to hear about your disappointing stay. It is always my goal to provide a clean well maintained room for my guests and it appears we dropped the ball. Please accept my sincere apology. You are welcome to speak with me directly at 541-681-5079 as I am hopeful to get the room number you stayed...

Roseburg, Oregon
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was very nice with a couch. You could even open a window a small amount. And the room wasn't overheated. Liked that! There is no free breakfast or happy hour, BTW! The room was comfortable though.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robin W
Cheryl M, General Manager at The Valley River Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the 5 stars review Robin. I do hope you enjoyed SweetWaters restaurant during your stay.

Eugene, Oregon
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We have been a few times to the bar at this hotel. Worst service ever...... We have not ordered food twice because they did not even offer a menu ... We had empty drinks in front of us for 20 minutes before our wait person came back. This has happened with a group of 8 and a group of just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The motel is older and the rooms were ok for 1 night. The people that worked there were great very friendly and helpful. We stayed at a river view with our puppy. We had a nice walk and rest. The bed a bit uncomfortable. No refrigerator or microwave oven. Would not stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We love to stay at the VRI. Especially in the summer, the pool is a delightful spot to hang out & order cocktails & nibbles, sunning & swimming. The hotel is situated on the river & on a busy biking & running path. Definitely spring for the river view, it is well worth it. The restaurant has good food &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelly G
wa
Reviewed 23 September 2016

I was there to listen to a guest speaker and VRI furnished a very nice salmon and prime rib dinner. I had the salmon, and it was very delightful. Cooked perfect with just the right sauces served with it. We were in a room overlooking the river and could also watch the sunset, superb.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank denniswa
Cheryl M, General Manager at The Valley River Inn, responded to this review

SweetWaters on the River is such a great place to enjoy an amazing meal and relax on the River. Lately our sunsets have been so picturesque, hope you snapped a few pics! Thank you for the really nice review. Come back soon.

Portland, OR
Reviewed 23 September 2016

I stayed two nights at this property recently as part of a business meeting. This property is very conveniently located off of I-5 and adjacent to a shopping mall. The rooms were clean and the bed was very firm and comfortable. I thought the hallways were especially dated and dark.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanetta A
Cheryl M, General Manager at The Valley River Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Vanetta for a nice review. I am thrilled you enjoyed our home and the sunset views of the Willamette River (our backyard). We do hope you come back in the near future.

Ashland, Oregon
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Nice location, across from Valley River Center, just off hwy. Rate for a king is 136.00, maybe a little high. The staff is very nice, room is average. tYou can walk across the street to the shopping center, several places to eat, starbuck, frozen yogurt. only a few minutes to UofO.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
Cheryl M, General Manager at The Valley River Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Donna. Our location is perfect for whatever brings you to Eugene! I hope we can move the stars with our upcoming renovation.

Claremont, California
Reviewed 18 September 2016

This hotel, which has the look of a luxury hotel but is mid-priced, is worth a visit for its great setting along the river and bike/running path, and its unusual, beautiful art/architecture. Our deluxe king river-view room with a balcony was spacious, quiet, and all the furnishings and amenities were top of the line.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David L
Cheryl M, General Manager at The Valley River Inn, responded to this review

Hey David, The hotel was built by the Woodard family back in the early 70's with the wood, chandeliers and artwork direct from the mill. We have a rich history being in a logging state and I appreciate the great review. THANKS!

302 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (163)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Double Queen Pool View Room (32)
Viewed
Executive King Suite (48)
Viewed
King River View Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1.6 km away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#3 of 34 in Eugene
964 reviews
1.7 km away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 34 in Eugene
763 reviews
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
3.4 km away
BEST WESTERN New Oregon
BEST WESTERN New Oregon
#14 of 34 in Eugene
525 reviews
5.1 km away
Candlewood Suites Eugene Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Treat yourself to one of the most time-honored and respected hotels in Eugene, Oregon. From its versatile event space to its award-winning restaurant, Valley River Inn offers Northwest hospitality at its best, with signature West Coast charm. Gaze out across the Willamette River, Owen Rose Garden, and our beautifully landscaped courtyards from your own private balcony or patio. Enjoy our large outdoor swimming pool, indoor whirlpool, sauna, and fitness facility. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Valley River Inn

Address: 1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Price Range: $142 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Valley River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Valley River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley River Hotel Eugene
Valley River Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Eugene
#5 Business Hotel in Eugene
#7 Family Hotel in Eugene
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Valley River Inn staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
california
over a year ago
over a year ago
Portland, Oregon
over a year ago
Ashland, Oregon, United States
over a year ago
Oregon

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Valley River Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here. Stay at the Best Western in Springfield.”
 of 5 bubbles jawanzahadley, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“River view and shopping close by.”
 of 5 bubbles N4047SZmichaeld, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We liked having a room with a view of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles nancysO3064LB, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for the first level river side.”
 of 5 bubbles Oregonfox, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a river view are worth the extra few dollars”
 of 5 bubbles benbolch, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5