We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Channel House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Channel House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 384: English reviews
Start your review of Channel House
 Click to rate
Grafton, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the Whale Watch room and Cukkoo's Nest. Best rooms ever. Breathtaking views from the hot tub and so relaxing. Quick walk across the street to the Whale Eco Excursions which did not disappoint either. Would recommend the Channel House to anyone staying in Depoe Bay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendygoetz
Cody B, Assistant Manager at Channel House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of Channel House. We were glad to see that you enjoyed both of your rooms. The Whale Eco Excursions sure is a treat and a "must do" over here in Depoe Bay. We were delighted to have you here and are already looking forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our recent visit to the Channel House was the most amazing, relaxing and beautiful experience we've had in quite sometime. It was a perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. The ocean was beautiful in both sight and sound. Mother nature was very kind and treated us to a beautiful sunset. The pictures I included were taken from our deck, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There is this large object that dominates part of Oregon…it's called the ocean. Next to it are thousands of places to stay. The Channel House is one of these, it's a B/B, Inn, hotel place thing. The rooms are laid out like old apartments and the building hangs at a slightly uneven angle to the sea wall. What doesn't seem...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beentheredonethat47
Sarah J, Manager at Channel House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review and choosing our inn for your Oregon Coast stay. I’m sorry it wasn’t the right accommodation for you and that you felt the room was not comfortable. Our rooms were updated with new Tempur-Pedic Mattresses and we understand that they are not for everyone. I’m surprised to hear the feedback on...

Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here based on the recommendation of friends and we were not disappointed! This bnb sits on the edge of Depoe Bay with spectacular views of the bay and ocean. The service is excellent and the room was clean and well equipped. We stayed in The Whale Watcher suite with a hot tub on the deck. In the early...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ginnyl
Sarah J, Manager at Channel House, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your kind words! Looking forward to your next visit!

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the Cuckoo's Nest with an amazing view of the coast and channel - perfect for watching the boats coming in and out of the bay. The room has a full kitchen (no microwave) a two-headed large shower, full length deck and two fireplaces! Breakfast was a huge surprise with freshly made pastries, coffee cakes, croissants, fresh fruit,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Blachly, Oregon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our stay was fantastic, the room was cozy and the jacuzzi tub was blissful. We watched the ocean and sat in the rain. It was wonderful. Breakfast was a dream. Seriously. The chef, James, made the most amazing breakfast goodies, the banana blueberry croissant pudding was probably the best thing I've ever eaten, lol. We will be returning asap. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamieSmith83
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

The weather was beautiful and warm, when we got there, but was horrible the second and third days, which was a drag. Nevertheless, having a nice room helped. The young woman who cleaned our room was very nice, and we enjoyed talking with her, as we did Sarah. It would be wonderful if the breakfast had healthier options and no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loyal M
Saint Paul, Oregon
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Wonderful views. Lovely rooms. Breakfast and view from the breakfast room is such a treat! Will definitely go back for special occasions or a for a special treat! I am excited to stay there during peak whale watching time for a wonderful view of the resident pod of whales.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We are currently staying at the Channel House B & B in Depoe Bay Oregon. We have stayed at the Channel House several times (this time for 4 nights) over the past 20 years or so. This is a very nice facility with a spectacular view of the harbor. A glass of wine in your private hot tub on your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank svbelvedere
Sarah J, General Manager at Channel House, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! We also think a glass of wine while in the private hot tub is great!

Warrenton, Oregon
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

I just returned from a one night solo getaway at Channel House. I stayed in room 11 which was on the ground floor right on the corner. The room had a lovely view of the ocean and the harbor. The staff was very kind and warm. I was greeted to fresh cookies in my room and chocolates. The rooms all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovemycockerspaniels
Sarah J, Manager at Channel House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Come back and see us mid to late March and you will have better luck whale watching.

193 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (161)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (51)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
2.5 km away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
345 reviews
6.3 km away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
338 reviews
13.7 km away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 5 in Depoe Bay
330 reviews
0.8 km away
Inn at Arch Rock
Inn at Arch Rock
#3 of 7 in Depoe Bay
252 reviews
3.7 km away
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Channel House delivers both the premier amenities and services of our luxury hotel and an experience that brings the beauty of the Oregon coast to our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Channel House

Address: 35 Ellingson Ave, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9682
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Price Range: $249 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Channel House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Channel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel House Hotel Depoe Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Channel House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Fort Collins, Colorado
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Channel House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Cuckoo's Nest and Whale Watching Room”
wendygoetz, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Love the Captain Quarters and the Admiral Suite”
F8925EIchrisw, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms all have different features but they all have a view. So choose based on what you need and your budget.”
, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We got a free upgrade to Admiral's Suite. The room we got was nothing less than spectacular but the Admiral's Suite was even better!”
sehelas, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the main hotel, all rooms are different.”
757donnac, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5