We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Candlewood Suites Mcalester

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Mcalester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 138: English reviews
San Antonio
Reviewed 1 week ago

An independently owned and operated hotel that met all of my needs. The staff was outstanding, courteous, and friendly. The room was spacious, clean, and had everything anyone doing and extended stay would need including a two burner cook top. The beds were comfortable and the pillows (3 on each bed) were varied from very soft to pretty solid.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Howard W
Kelli W, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Mcalester, responded to this review

Howard W - Come on back next time you pass through! So glad it was all that needed. We take pride in our hotel. All rooms have a 2 burner cook top - even pots and pans so you will feel right at home. Don't forget the full size fridge! That really makes it nice . We look forward to...

Belle Plaine, Kansas, United States
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Stayed here on business for one night clean and quiet on the back side of the hotel. Furniture had obvious signs of wear and could be replaced. Bed was comfortable and the the help was nice but slow checking people in. Location is just off a busy highway and rooms on the front side may have traffic noise. Several restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cort A
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Mcalester, responded to this review

Dear Cort A, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We always strive to provide our guests with comfortable accommodations and we are pleased that we were able to meet some of your expectations. On the other hand, allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced...

Missouri
Reviewed 23 October 2016

I was very pleased with my experience at Candlewood Suites in McAlester. I was here for 3 nights on business and the property was impressive. I travel nearly every week for work and this was the first time I've stayed at a Candlewood Suites. For an extended stay type of hotel, this was in the top tier. It was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erica H
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I stayed here for night one night. Due to some medical conditions I need a lot of ice at night to fill a cooling machine. I talked to the front desk clerk to find where the ice machine was and was told that they removed it since all rooms have a full size refrigerator and ice maker (which doesn't make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
McAlester, Oklahoma
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Check in was efficient and fast. The room was perfect and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. A+++ Wasn't sure what to expect since I didn't book in advance. Full size refrigerator and the room was very spacious. Will be staying here again :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melissab75283
Kelli W, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Mcalester, responded to this review

Melissab75283 - I look forward to seeing you again. I love knowing that you slept so good. We take pride in our hotel and it shows! Take care & Safe travels.

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is so poorly trained and treated I can't understand how higher management hasn't replaced the Manager on site. Been there awhile and seen a lot of issues from Mold to bugs. Plenty of other choices in McAlester.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DivaWarrior
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Mcalester, responded to this review

Dear DivaWarrior, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations regarding our staff and hotel cleanliness. Your feedback...

Ada, Oklahoma
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The people at the front desk need to pay more attention when people are checking out. When I went to check out I was told I had already checked out. I had secured the room with a credit card and upon check out I wanted to switch to a debit card to pay for my stay. Some one else had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fishermn2016
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Mcalester, responded to this review

Dear fishermn2016, Thank you for taking time to share your most recent experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your time in our hotel due to the level of service rendered during your stay including the billing issue you have had. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to...

Browns Mills, New Jersey
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

I have been here for two weeks the kitchenette was wonderful. Front desk is great. Could not ask for a better place to stay. Enjoyed my time here cause of the front desk. Wifi a little slow. With extender stay remember room does not cleaned every day. Great play to stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cferguson234380
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

I have been at this hotel for almost two months. It is the cleanest and friendliest hotel I have ever been in. The staff is always there to help you the housekeepers are there with smiles and what ever they can do for the,will. It's quiet my room is right near the,elevator I can't e enid hear it . This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaMaria M
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Me and my husband got stranded in town overnight with a flat and ended up at this lovely hotel. The staff was very friendly and sympathetic and offered us a nice room at a great rate. All we did was stay here for one night and wait for the Walmart to open back up to fix our car but our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McAlester hotels
0.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites McAlester
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAlester
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Comfort Suites McAlester
Comfort Suites McAlester
#8 of 16 in McAlester
91 reviews
2.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester
3.9 km away
Happy Days Hotel
Happy Days Hotel
#6 of 16 in McAlester
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The new Candlewood Suites McAlester is the only extended stay, all suites hotel in McAlester, Oklahoma. The 89 suite, 4 story hotel is conveniently located just off Highway 69. If McAlester is your destination, the Candlewood Suites is the place to stay. The hotel is conveniently located near restaurants, shopping and attractions. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with microwave, stove top, dishwasher and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access or relax in the comfortable living room area while you enjoy premium Direct TV or DVD player on a 32 inch flat screen television. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit the Cupboard where you can pick a variety of foods, beverages and even toiletry items 24-hours a day. McAlester, OK has many attractions just minutes away. Whether your trip is business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the McAlester area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Mcalester

Address: 425 S George Nigh Expy, McAlester, OK 74501-6092
Region: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Price Range: $95 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Mcalester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG and Orbitz so you can book your Candlewood Suites Mcalester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in McAlester
#2 Family Hotel in McAlester
#6 Romantic Hotel in McAlester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Mcalester staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Mcalester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the back side away from the highway are probably quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles corta2014, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You can ask for an accessible room”
 of 5 bubbles michaelm714, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you want counter space in the bathroom make sure they don't force you into a handicap room that you didn't request,”
 of 5 bubbles CadLine, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are equally quiet, even behind the elevator!~”
 of 5 bubbles MrsTerdalfarm, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms were very nice and clean, employees are helpful and friendly, eating establishments very close, pets are welcomed with a deposit”
 of 5 bubbles bethadams36, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay