We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,524: English reviews
Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just spent 3 days 2 nights at kalahari. This is our third time here. Kids always have a great time. We found the level of service to be lower this time. The most frustrating is arriving to waiting in line 25 min to pre register only to have to wait in line another 20 min to get room cards when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Mike. We appreciate you taking the time to fill out a review from your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that this visit was not as satisfactory as your previous visits. As check-in time approaches, the number of people in the lobby temporarily increases and decreases based on the time. We appreciate all of the...

Carpentersville, Illinois
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a night, the beginning of August. This was our second time here, and we had a great time. The inside waterpark was a blast. They have an adult swim-up hot tub, which is great! The outside pool bar was nice to sit at and have a drink or lunch. The food was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teri Z
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Teri. Thank you for all of the kind words regarding your stay with us. I am so thrilled to hear that you had a blast within our waterparks and especially the swim-up bar. We appreciate you taking the time to fill out such a great review. We'll see you back again soon!

Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I traveled 4 hours to visit the petting zoo, get our pictures taken with a lion cub and have a amazing drink and dinner buffet. We didn't even book a room or enjoy the awesome looking water park! We really enjoyed this resort for the day. We are planning to come back next year to stay with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lostgirl2
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. Although you didn't stay over, I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the Animal Park as well as the Safari Outdoor Adventure Park. Next time you visit, I hope you're able to take advantage of the Waterpark. Thanks again and take care!

Sandusky, Michigan
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We went for our granddaughter's 4th and 7th birthday's and had a combination suite for 7 of us. It was a GREAT place to go and stay!!! The waterpark inside and outside tickets for 2 days included in our stay made it a great value for 7 of us to stay for only over $100 a person. I would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynette L
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hello Lynette. Thank you for the great review. I am so glad your granddaughters had a wonderful birthday with us! A Combination Suite is a very nice room to stay in and includes a full kitchen. I am so thrilled they love the waterpark. The lazy river is definitely a favorite place to relax within the waterpark. Thank you again...

Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is the third year that we have vacationed at Kalahari and they never disappoint! Massive space for outside water park and front desk is amazing! Asked for extra blankets and they were there within 10 mins which was greatly appreciated. Keep up the great customer service!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda a
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Amanda. Thank you for the great review. We pride ourselves in offering the best service we can to go above each guests expectations. I'm glad you were able to swim at the waterparks during your stay. Take care and we hope to see you back again soon!

Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We hosted my husband's 40th birthday at the resort. We had 5 families in one of the entertainment villas and it was amazing! There was plenty of room for all and we held a great open house for local friends and family during out stay. The villa had everything we needed to keep all of the kids and adults busy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hello Jennifer. The Nyumba Entertainment Villas are such a fun way to experience the Resort with such a large crowd. We pride ourselves in offering activities and amenities for guests of all ages. I could spend days between the Resort and the Entertainment Villas and still not be able to explore everything. Thank you for taking the time to fill...

Mars, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I can't say enough good things about our experience at Kalahari hotel. The staff was so nice to us - and I mean everyone there. We checked in on Thursday. Our room was ready earlier than expected. So we checked in - took about 5 minutes and they had my passes for the park and my meal coupons from our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael S
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Michael. Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am so thrilled to hear that you all had a great time at Kalahari. I am so pleased to hear that the room, staff, food, and waterpark were all not just a great value, but were fun too! I will pass on your note about Erdis, Michelle, and the bellman....

Carlton PA
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Been to the resort several times, always a good time. Affordable especially with internet deals. The game room provides some welcome dry fun after being in the water all day. The buffet dinner was excellent. One of the cleanest attraction we have been too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Frank. Thank you for your loyalty in staying with us. We appreciate the kind comments on our game room, waterparks, and the delicious buffet. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoy each stay with us. Thanks again and take care.

Sebring, Ohio
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

For Sandusky I would pick Kalahari over other options in the area BUT there are some cons. This resort is massive which means lots of walking. I personally do not mind and look at it as a nice work out carrying tired children but others might frown on this. There are tons of eating and snack options along with activities....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mariawal24
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Resort and especially the Waterpark. At Kalahari, we pride ourselves in keeping everything you need for a fantastic getaway all under one roof! We understand your concern with visitors to the Waterpark on Day passes and are looking into it. Thanks again for...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Food is disgusting and overpriced.....room was dirty.....we paid a fortune for this trip and was very disappointed. Not supposed to be unattended children in hot tub but there were plenty. Half the slides were closed. People running the arcade were not friendly. I would not recommend this place. I contacted them and all they said was that they hoped I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, Thank you for your time. We truly appreciate the feedback. I am sorry to hear about your latest experience with us. As we work to deliver beyond expectations, I would certainly love the opportunity to learn more about your stay and see what we can do to improve moving forward. Please connect with me at SocialConnect@KalahariResorts.com when you...

790 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (747)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (104)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (104)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (59)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
3:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (322)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.4 km away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
305 reviews
7.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
2.5 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: $287 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kalahari Resorts & Conventions staff and other travellers.
57 questions
Ask a question
Michigan Center, Michigan
7 months ago

See all questions (57)

Questions? Get answers from Kalahari Resorts & Conventions staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wonderful place to have business meetings.”
 of 5 bubbles LeslieA862, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“try to get a room close to the waterpark!”
 of 5 bubbles darleens2013, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want to be near the waterpark, ask for a room nearby otherwise you may have long hallway walks.”
 of 5 bubbles marknewcars, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to figure out which elevators are closer to the waterpark, some are much closer then others but the opposite way of your room.”
 of 5 bubbles themanwitha, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room with pull out sleeper is great. Had 1228 big room, lower floor was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles LHZ3, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5