We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Travellers' Choice award winner
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,593 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,586: English reviews
Allentown
Reviewed 12 December 2014

This property means high class from the minute you walk into the resort. I completely have been blown away from all of the detail that this hotel has put into its property. I have visited this hotel for the past 2 years when I visited Cedar Point. It's about a 15 minute drive to the point but its well worth...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HotelConnoisseur95
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to provide us such a wonderful review. Most of all thank you for choosing Kalahari time & time again, there is no better compliment then when a guest chooses to to stay with us multiple times. We appreciate all of your compliments, especially regarding our guest service & the decor, we take great...

New Phila., OHio
Reviewed 12 December 2014

We went here for a convention and enjoyed our room but thought the restaurants were lacking.We did not use the watermark facilities as the walk to them from our room was freezing due to ongoing renovations. We think families with young children could have a lot of fun here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luvtogogirl
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hello & thank you for taking the time to review us, we value guest feedback as an opportunity to improve. I will be sure to pass your review onto our management team. I do hope that you enjoyed your convention that was held here & that you will give us another opportunity in the near future & plan a leisurely...

Mission Viejo, California
Reviewed 12 December 2014

To be fair, everything about this place is top notch except for one thing. 3 out of 4 of us had projectile vomiting for two days 24 hours into our stay. I'm not sure if it was something in the water, the room or what but it was horrible. Not sure we'll stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John M
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi John! While I'm thrilled to hear that you felt everything was top notch, I am very disturbed to hear about your illness & I do hope that everyone is feeling better. This is the first that I have heard of this. I have forwarded your review to our Food & Beverage Director who would appreciate the opportunity to further...

Stow, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 11 December 2014

we make Kalahari a regular get away. My grandkids love the water park. We stayed in the African suite and we loved the room. plenty of room to spread out. The kids loved the animal safari. Those animals are spoiled like big pets. We have been coming to Kalahari since our granddaughter was 3. There is something to appeal to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marty J
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

The best compliment we can receive is when guests choose us again & again. Thank you Marty for allowing us to be part of your family's winter getaway! We are a great location to beat those winter blues & warm up. I'm happy to hear that your grandchildren love the animals, We take great pride in providing our guests with...

Reviewed 11 December 2014

We booked two rooms with three adults and six kids. We had a great time can't wait to catch another good deal and go back. The kids had suo Much fun at the water park we didn't do all the other great things Kalahari offers. Only down side is how expensive everything ifs but you pretty much know that going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traceyla86
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us Tracey I'm glad that everyone had a great time! I would like to encourage you to like us out on Facebook & to check out our packages when you are planning your next stay, many of them include restaurant credits & other activities such as the spa, arcade or animal park! We...

Reviewed 9 December 2014

We drove 12 hrs to Kalahari to find a sunny and warm oasis. You forget about time here. The kids forget to eat. It was a blast. We spent two days with the bogo deal and we still didn't have enough time to do everything. We are definitely coming back. The rooms are spacious, facility is clean, almost everything you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica Z
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Jessica! A 12 hour drive is quite the long drive! We are humbled that you would make that drive to stay at our 'warm & sunny oasis'. You are correct that there is so much to do here, between the waterpark, arcade, spa, restaurants, retail shops, mini-golf, mini bowling & we just added a laser tag & XD Dark...

Reviewed 9 December 2014

My trip began with a 50 minute Relaxation Massage and my 5 year old daughter received a 25 minute Junior Facial at Spa Kalahari. I was beyond impressed! The staff was professional and the atmosphere was amazing! While I enjoyed my massage, my husband chaperoned my daughter's facial and took several pictures. She was treated like a princess. A very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erica B
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review Erica! I'm so glad that both you & your daughter were able to relax & enjoy our spa. I will be sure to pass your experience onto our Spa staff, I'm sure they will appreciate your review. We also appreciate your review of our restaurants & waterpark. We do have packages available that include restaurant...

Reviewed 8 December 2014

We stayed Sunday-Monday to celebrate my son's birthday. It was perfect! Room was clean and comfortable, staff throughout resort was friendly and helpful - especially Erdis (sp?)! Before close and right at opening, slides were walk right on! Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jmcj12
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

We are just thrilled that we were able to be part of your son's birthday & helped in creating those cherished birthday memories. Thank your for your review & I'll be sure to pass your kind words onto Erdis, who I know will also appreciate your review. We look forward to being part of many more of your family's celebrations!

Mount Clemens, Michigan
Reviewed 8 December 2014

Both kids and adults can find something to appreciate at this resort. We stayed 12-5-2014 and had a great experience. The staff was friendly, courteous and professional. The room was clean, and pretty much brand new. It seems like this resort keeps their customers in mind and wants everyone who stays to have an amazing time. We were also satisfied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us Sarah! I'm so happy to hear that your family had a blast! We do try to build our Resorts for guests of all ages. We appreciate the compliments regarding our staff & the cleanliness of the resort. I will be sure to pass your review onto all of our staff. We look...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 7 December 2014

We have been coming to Kalahari for years with our kids. We usually come 2-4 times a year for a quick weekend getaway. We have always enjoyed our time in the past, with maybe a few minor issues, but nothing complaint worthy. Unfortunately, this stay we did not have the same experience that we are use to, and it has...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kristin9311
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Kristin! Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate that you have been a repeat guest for so long, however, I am disappointed to read our review about your recent stay. I have passed your comments onto our Management team & they would like to speak with you directly regarding your stay, kindly email me at...

803 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (760)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (104)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (104)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (59)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
3:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (335)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.4 km away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
313 reviews
1.7 km away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
1.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: $173 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kalahari Resorts & Conventions staff and other travellers.
63 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (63)

Questions? Get answers from Kalahari Resorts & Conventions staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We didn't use the hotel space; just the convention areas.”
craigg645, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“pick a room with a view”
demianaw2016, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Get a room away from construction unless you want to be woken up at 7:45am!!”
tjstyphon, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Anything hotel side”
happilyeveralt, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 4th floor of the Resort wing and didn't notice any excessive noise.”
P7180QIheatherh, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotwire.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates