We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,333: English reviews
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

We visited Maui Sands for a quick overnight getaway for our family. We got a great Groupon deal. Thank goodness for that! First... I tried to check in and it was too early. Understandable. So, we went into the water park to swim while we waited the hour to get to our room. The pool area was freezing! 3 of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jc582007
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 June 2016

I have nothing to complain about. Just spent 4 days here and the room was nice and clean and with NEW carpet. Water park was very nice..love the slides and the water temp was warm and clean. Lazy river is so much better than Great Wolf Lodge. Just saying.. New game room as well on lobby level. Everyone was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
Mansfield, Ohio
Reviewed 17 June 2016

My friend and I with our young children decided to go tot the lake. We got up there and it was pouring so we decided to try Maui Sands. I am use to taking my toddlers to Castaway Bay and thought we would try something new. We got there and I needed to change my infant and the bathrooms had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emsthefly
Abbie S, Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Emsthefly: Thank you for telling us about your visit to the resort. Comments from our guests will help us identify areas for improvement. We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Unfortunately, the lazy river was not in operation on the day of your visit. We apologize for the inconvenience. We hope you will give the opportunity to...

Hampshire, Illinois
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

I love the concept of tiny living....but these suites take it to a new level. Not only were the suites micro they were hot! We had the air on the entire time and the coolest it got was 77. Air conditioning unit was under the bathroom sink! TVs didn't work and had to call maintenance... At least they were friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddwz2003
Abbie S, Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear ddwz2003: We are very sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the resort. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable visit. Your patronage is very important to us. We hope we will have an opportunity to host your family again in the future. We appreciate your feedback. Comments from our guests will help us identify...

Ohio
Reviewed 9 June 2016

I stayed at the "resort" with a couple of friends of mine and it was horrible. Here are all of the cons: - Very long time to check in (they only had 1 or 2 people at a time where they had stations for 3. And everytime a 3rd would come up, one of them would disappear in the back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nekoy321
Abbie S, Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear nekoy321: We are very sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the resort. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable stay. Unfortunately, check-in time is usually busy. We recommend to our guests that they utilize the water park and check-in later in the day. We are also sorry all of our Team Members did not...

New Jersey
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Stayed there this past weekend and it sucked. We had a "family" room and the first night one of the bunk bed ladders broke, causing me to injure my wrist. The staff was rude as hell....There was no cleaning staff, we didn't have a "do not disturb" sign up and NO ONE came by to clean or anything. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 13KaiKai
Abbie S, Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Ugh: We are very sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the resort. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable stay with us. We also apologize that your room was not serviced properly. All of our rooms should be cleaned and inspected before being assigned to a guest. We hope you are feeling better. Your...

Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

Nice place to be with your family had sooo much fun can't wait to go again I am telling youy kids had so much fun and me and my husband we love it they clean the food is good and is fun I stay there and I sleep really good is very good place for all ages love it goooodddd

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
Abbie S, Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer M: Glad you had such a great time during your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio. We want all of our guests to have a great time in the water park and clean and comfortable accommodations. We also appreciate the compliments for our food offerings. The all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet and the made-for-you...

Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

After reading several negative reviews, I feel compelled to review the Maui Sands. First off we got an awesome deal through groupon, which is how I discovered the place. My friend was also staying there with her family that night and I called in advance and I asked them to see if there would be any way to have our...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Stephanie N
Abbie S, Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie N: Thank you very much for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio. It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest. We are very glad everything went so well. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable visit to the resort. We are also pleased...

West Mifflin, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Very nice. My grandchildren had a great time. All of the water slides were open. And I enjoyed the lazy river. The rooms are clean and comfortable. They had such a good time we returned again the following month.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
Abbie S, Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Diane H: We appreciate your feedback about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio. Comments from our guests will help us provide the best guest service possible each and every day. We are pleased your family enjoyed their visit to the park. With body and tube slides, the Kai River lazy river and...

Ohio
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Would I go back. Only if it was cheap and the kids asked. I would not stay overnight. Just not enough to do. Food overpriced. Bathroom atrocious. Too small for such a large facility. Not kept up at all. We were there from about noon to 6 and the bathroom was bad when we got there and got worse as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whatever1969

355 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (319)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
4.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
311 reviews
1.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
3.5 km away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: $134 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Groupon so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring Antibiotics.”
181lisan, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you plan on utilizing the water park, CALL to make sure it will be OPEN during your stay BEFORE you book the room!”
Lilspinster, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not to far from amusement park”
roxxig2016, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not let them put you in the rooms that is located near the Arcade! They smell really Bad plus rats!”
317deannad, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I'm not sure, but it seems that the rooms in the main building with the water park are very nice, which is where we stayed.”
Deco916, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5