We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,313: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We got a Groupon for our family of 6 for only $209 for a nights stay. To me as a mom our dinner bill at a wing joint was $87 so for all of us to have fun for 2 days at a water park, Each kid had a bunk bed and a nice breakfast. This is a parenting win!!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
Management response:

Dear Amanda S: We are pleased to hear that you had a very enjoyable visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Water Park in Sandusky, Ohio. It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest. The resort is ideal for young families. Our family suites that feature a private bedroom for parents and a second room with bunk... More 

Meadville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Jessie was the best person at the desk. She is a keeper. We was wonderful helping with everything we needed. Our room was very nice and clean. The water park was open and we spend one whole day having a great time. Thank you Maui Sands for a great vacation I have read how bad it is. We have always... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debra A
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Indiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took a weekend trip to Cedar Point and saw this place. Cheap fun option if your wanting a indoor waterpark without the Great Wolf Lodge price. Great kids area, fun slides and a lazy river. Life guards are friendly and pay very close attention to everyone. 2 arcades. A little dated but fun. The only downside is that the walls... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tjtr3631
Management response:

Dear tjtr3631: Glad to hear you had a wonderful visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio. The water park is ideal for young families. It has a variety of attractions that parents and children can enjoy together including lazy river, slides, bucket drop and the Pineapple Bay kiddie area. Plus, all of the lifeguards are... More 

1 review
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel was affordable and two of the staff we dealt with were great. We decided to stay here because we were going to Cedar Point for a mini vacation. When we arrived to Maui Sands Resort Alicia had checked us in at one a.m. We were extremely exhausted from our 6 hr. road trip. We came across a dilemma... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gloria O
Management response:

Dear Gloria O: Good to hear from you again. You are very welcome. We are glad your stay went so well! We also appreciate the kind words about our Team Members Alicia and Hope. We expect all of our employees to be courteous and professional each and every day. we are pleased they were able to assist you. The water... More 

1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This was our second time staying at Maui Sands and it was great we stayed in a family room and it was perfect size for our family of 6. The price was great. the water park was very clean and the staff was very friendly. all of the water park things were open and I liked how they had fresh... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alicia V
Management response:

Dear Alicia V: Thank you very much for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio. It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest. We are very pleased everyone in your family had an enjoyable visit. With a variety of attractions, the water park is ideal for families of all... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Came here because it was cheaper then a hotel close to cedar point, it was ok, but I wouldn't stay again, I didn't like how everyone was checking in at 4 , the check in time, so there was a massive line & with small children that was annoying. I didn't like the hotel suite it was really small, it... More 

Helpful?
Thank beydd
Management response:

Dear beydd: Thank you for telling us about your visit to the resort. We are always interested to learn about our guests' stay. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the water park. With a variety of attractions, it is ideal for young families. Plus, all of our lifeguards are Red Cross-certified and monitor the activities in the water... More 

Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2016

An amalgamation of everything that I would like to avoid at a hotel - broken toilet in my room, broken public restroom, but the hotel staff tells me to use the public restroom anyway because the urinals are working at least. Others are using it as well so I go in and then a surly and rude janitor starts yelling... More 

Helpful?
Thank DanH4062
Management response:

Dear DanH4062: We are very sorry you had such a disappointing stay at the resort. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable stay that includes clean and comfortable accommodations. We also apologize that all of our Team Members did not treat you properly. We expect all of our employees to be professional and courteous each and every... More 

Travellers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

When u booked the room on booking.com, I was told they needed a credit card, buy it wouldn't be charged, I could pay in cash, well they charged my card for half the room on the day of my arrival. I get there I find out the restaurant is closed the lounge is closed, half of the water park is... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank action1214
Management response:

Dear action 1214: We are very sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the resort. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable stay. We also apologize that all of our Team Members did not treat you properly. We expect all of our employees to be professional and courteous each and every day. The kind comments about... More 

Trenton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived on Friday evening. After being sent to the wrong room twice and the fourth trip to the front desk we finally got into our room. The room was nice and clean. It looked like it had recently been upgraded. That is the only good thing I can say. The whole point of staying at a resort is everything... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
Management response:

Dear Laura L: We are sorry you had a disappointing stay at the resort. We are currently completing a renovations program. The grill and the lounge are currently closed and we hope to have the projects completed by the end of next month. We apologize for the inconvenience. We try to inform all callers about the status of these updates.... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed over Labor Day weekend. The first night we were there we were put in a room that the ac was broke. It got to over 80 degrees and no one slept well which put a little damper on our trip. The next day we were moved next door where the room was just as bad. The bathtub didn't... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Kcroucher
Management response:

Dear Kcroucher: We are very sorry you had such a disappointing visit to the resort. Unfortunately, we did not do many things well during your stay. We also apologize for the unkept rooms. All of our rooms should be cleaned and inspected before being assigned to a guest. We want all of our guests to have clean and comfortable accommodations.... More 

352 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (316)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (137)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
4.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#3 of 35 in Sandusky
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
298 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
1.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: $137 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you plan on utilizing the water park, CALL to make sure it will be OPEN during your stay BEFORE you book the room!”
 of 5 bubbles Lilspinster, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not to far from amusement park”
 of 5 bubbles roxxig2016, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not let them put you in the rooms that is located near the Arcade! They smell really Bad plus rats!”
 of 5 bubbles 317deannad, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I'm not sure, but it seems that the rooms in the main building with the water park are very nice, which is where we stayed.”
 of 5 bubbles Deco916, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If your room not good enough ask for a other.”
 of 5 bubbles debraa999, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay