We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Super 8 Portsmouth

03/06/2017 04/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Portsmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Portsmouth
See the most recent reviews
Showing 301: English reviews
Frnaklinton, NC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Arrived at the hotel after dark and all lights were off. Learn later the hotel attendance had an incident with a smoker setting off a smoke alarm and hadn't turned on the night lights. Steep hill in entry way and very short area to turn around. Back and side doors were chocked open at night at least up 10:00 PM....

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnbH1989FB
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for your review so we may better serve our visitors & guest, I will look into correcting the issues you have addressed and want to thank you for bringing it to our attention. The Super 8 staff looks forward on your next visit to Portsmouth, Ohio. Regards Boeu Patel G.M.

Garden, Michigan
Reviewed 11 September 2016

This hotel looks nice from the outside but the rooms are filthy, The air conditioner in the room was covered in rust. The matress covers were stained. The walls had stains. Im pretty sure the sheets were not cleaned or changed. The caroet is dirty. The room had a musty foul smell. They tell you theres no smoking in the...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank regina r
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for giving us your feedback with your experience with us, please come again to see that the changes have been complete and we welcome you back as a valued guest. Regards Boeu Patel G.M.

Marion
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Overall the hotel was a mess. Check in was suppose to be at 3pm, however they were "not ready" until 4pm. After a long drive, that was disappointing. The towels were like kitchen wash clothes. There was no coffee @ 7:45am, even though breakfast was supposed to be served until 9am. I mentioned it to the associate & he seemed...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary T V
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest We thank you taking the time for your feedback so we may better serve our guest, the issues you have raised are being looked into and do want to mention this is not normal operations. Please give management a call at hotel so we may discuss the matter further in detail. Regards Boeu Patel G.M.

Warsaw, Indiana
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lockridge1110
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Douglasville
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We stay at a lot of hotels this room was great lots of room beds slept great room clean and restroom great, pool great, employees very friendly. Thanks

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank randyp175
Ohio
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Stay was ok for price. Pool was nice. But front desk was robbed about 5am. No locks on side or back door. Robber was apprehended next day. I was there by self, would probably not stay with family.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bradm616
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We at the Super 8 as any business can be subjected to the crime wave that has effected the city of Portsmouth today, we at the hotel have taken the incident very seriously and have made immediate changes to ensure better protection for our guest and staff. The court system is a revolving door for criminals that truly...

Cattaraugus County
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Have stayed here a few times. Very uncomfortable staying at a place that was robbed the night before our stay. Also, the parking lot is unsafe alot of different things going on that does not look legal.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank timpF3278NN
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest We appreciate your feedback into the incident that occurred, and will work with the local authorities to ensure safety in the area. Please contact myself to discuss on what you have observed that did not look legal so I may better serve all our guest. Regards Boeu Patel G.M.

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel sucks, My friend and I went stayed at the Comfort Inn because of everything we seen about the house keepers doing drugs out by the picnic tables and cause of the mold and because I asked when breakfast was gonna he served and being cussed at. I WOULD NOT stay there again if we come back into this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lillypod79
Portsmouth, Ohio
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

$250 was charged to my credit card for smoking in the room they say. I do not smoke yet they charged my card an additional $250. I was informed of this when I want to check out at the front desk the following morning. My bank reimburse me for this false charge but is pending investigation. It's a scam and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john a
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We at the Super 8 have made many changes to operations in 2016, mainly our No-Smoking policy. We have looked into your complaint and have not seen in the past 4 months where we charged a guest $250.00 for any violation. This large amount is only charged if there was damage or theft. We cater to visitors to...

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

The air conditioner didn't work. there was hair it the tub the room smelled bad. when ask for another room they said they didn't have any I asked for a refund the person said they couldn't never stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blondpink

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
03/06/2017 04/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Portsmouth
89 reviews
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
13.0 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Wheelersburg
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Piketon
37 reviews
38.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
36.2 km away
Ameristay Hotel Inn & Suites Waverly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
beautiful inner corridor hotel situated on HWY 23,The hotel has went through a major renovation and definitely deserves a visit ... more   less 

Additional Information about Super 8 Portsmouth

Address: 4266 US Route 23 North, Portsmouth, OH 45662
Region: United States > Ohio > Portsmouth
Price Range: $80 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Portsmouth
Portsmouth Super Eight
Portsmouth Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Portsmouth staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Portsmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pet friendly, had nice walk-in price”
162patriciak, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
pdcminnm, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The East side rooms are away from the highway and are more quiet”
bjean1217, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“It right on the main drag coming into Portsmouth Ohio but yet it out far enough not a lot of city noise so you can really get rest there without a lot of loud sirens and things.”
  • Closeup of  the  nice  soft  bed and  the  way  it  was  made looked  great.
  • Very  nice   Lobby  , It  clean and  can  see  the  pool and  very nice   staff  to be  found  t
  • Very nice  clean  room and  a  very  nice  bed  to  sleep in.
925terryp, 2 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The Hot Tub Suites are Truly Special!”
990tanyaj, 21 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
Hotwire.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates