We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Island House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Island House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Island House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 373: English reviews
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

This is an old building, which means the rooms are small, but very clean feeling to me. Also, the water in the shower takes between 15 and 25 minutes to get hot (I'm not exaggerating at all) so plan ahead if you're in a hurry. The breakfast is free, and you get what you pay for. During the week, it's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lindsay H
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

It is good to hear that you are 100% healthy again and we appreciate the time you took to leave us a review and take pictures of our hotel. It was a pleasure to care for you and your boyfriend during your time in Port Clinton. Feel free to visit us again anytime you're in the area. Respectfully, Michael Phillips

Newtown ct
Reviewed 21 August 2015

I chose this for the overall high ratings but I would not rate this property anywhere close to two starts. It is so outdated and dingy with areas that are so dirty, I didn't want to touch them. The room had a filthy open closet that had carpeting on stairs holding an ironing board and a vacuum with a window...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kcr1
Melrose, Massachusetts
Reviewed 18 August 2015

This hotel met my expectations and I was perfectly happy with my stay. We are a family of two parents and a teenager. We booked a room with two queen beds. Our purpose was to stay somewhere equidistant from Toledo and Cedar Point. What I really liked: The hotel is historic. The lobby is comfortable and historic looking. The beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank masstravelerwithkids
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello again and thank you for posting a review on our page. It is refreshing and reassuring to hear such positive comments regarding our hotel and staff at the Island House. Whenever you return to the area, we welcome you to give us a call so we can make accommodations for you and your family. Again, it was nice to...

Strongsville, Ohio
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

There were both good and bad points with our stay. Loved the hotel and the history, would stay again just for the atmosphere. 2 things left bad impression. After paying ~$200 for a room, we went down for the breakfast that consisted of Walmart breads and bagels. Very disappointing. They could have at least had homemade food made by their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorig763
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon and thank you for enlightening me to your experience during your stay with us. I greatly apologize that the housekeeping department had entered your room before your actual departure; this is not part of the procedures set in place here at the Island House Hotel. With that, I will speak with the housekeeping staff regarding this matter and...

Oxford
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

This is certainly a historic hotel which has been done up but stills looks and feels very tired. Bedrooms are small but adequate and the bed was very comfortable. Bathrooms are ok but showers are not thermostatically controlled so change from hot to cold in milliseconds. The hotel accommodation is laid out in a U shape and those looking inward...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnOxfordCouple
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning and thank you for taking the time to post a review on our page. We apologize that the experience was fairly adequate. It allows us to critique particular areas within our hotel. When making reservations we do allow an option to request a street view room or one of our rooms that overlook the lake; these options tend...

North Carolina
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Not a bad place. Rooms are TINY unless you pay the price for a larger room. Breakfast is really good and staff were really nice. Very close to the Jet Express and a couple of restaurants/bars. We were busy every night with a wedding for my cousin. She spoke very highly of everyone she worked with there. Most of her...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melindabmauney
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. It reassures our staff that we are giving our best to our guests and leaving them with a positive impression of our hotel. I am glad you were able to enjoy the area and the wedding during your stay. We look forward to meeting you again...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 10 August 2015

I have to admit I was plesantly surprised. The rooms are small, but they are updated as well as the bathrooms. Everything we read on tripadvisor was accurate. I never thought the seaguls would bother me, but they did. They started singing to us at 3am. Good thing though I had too much to drink and was able to block...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ALSinCLE
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

We were very delighted to see the review you've posted for us. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to post such great things regarding our property and your rooms. Although we are an historic hotel, we value our guest wants and needs when regarding our property. As for the neighboring seagulls. we do apologize for them;...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 August 2015

We had a mix up with our reservations for another place so we were very grateful for the Island House to make a reservation for us on short notice. The Hotel is quite old and beautiful. Rooms are extremely small just enough room to make it around the bed, but very clean. Only one small elevator with a very musty,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patty S
Peggy S, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave our hotel and staff a friendly response regarding our services. We were happy to take care of you during your visit to Port Clinton, Ohio and to leave such a memorable impression. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future. Kind Regards, Michael P. General Manager

Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Stayed at the Island House for three nights. Upon entering the lobby to check in, I thought the hotel was very charming. It seemed kind of boutiqueish--which I like a lot and I thought we were in for a fabulous stay. Hubby and I had a standard room on the 3rd floor. By American standards, the room was really small....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kfitz84
Peggy S, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and enlightening us to some of the experiences you had during your stay. I greatly apologize regarding the Wi-Fi connectivity during your stay. We've since had this looked in to and repaired with our internet company. Although we are an Historic Hotel and tend to this appeal, we have also...

Pickerington, Ohio
Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

I would give our stay 3 1/2 stars, which defaults to 4 on this scale. The check in process was really easy, even with a slight miss on the reservation (date for following week versus current week, which was fixed upon arrival). We stayed on the 2nd floor, which was perfect. .. mind you, the rooms are in fact small....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank butterflysugha

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
7.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
6.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
108 reviews
18.3 km away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#2 of 7 in Put in Bay
224 reviews
14.5 km away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Island House is a unique combination of boutique hotel with historic charm. Enjoy an attentive staff, charming ambiance and World Class dining. Walk to Jet Express, fishing charters and nightlife. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Island House Hotel

Address: 102 Madison St., Port Clinton, OH 43452
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Price Range: $84 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Port Clinton, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Island House Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Island House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner rooms have many windows / streetlights and traffic noise may deter some”
 of 5 bubbles G3132LVscottr, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the street are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles KittyF309, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms that face the lake have a great view. Nice sunshine comes through the windows in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles K3681MPcherylb, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on street side can hear street activity”
 of 5 bubbles garyt593, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Corner King Suite on the second or third floor”
 of 5 bubbles itraveleverywhere, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5