We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Happy Hills Campground and Cabins

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelsonville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Happy Hills Campground and Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 65: English reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We stayed at this campground late in October. We paid for a "premium" site because they were the only full hookup available at the time of our reservation. The campground itself was OK - the layout was a little confusing. The campground has gravel roads and gravel sites. Most of the sites didn't appear very level - we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
Strongsville, Ohio
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I have to admit that I was a little hesitant to stay because of some of the reviews I read but i the back of my mind I thought the reviews were far fetched. I called and spoke with Darrin, the owner, and expressed my concerns since this was my husbands first time camping we had a nice conversation and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vp832016
Canton, Ohio
Reviewed 22 September 2016

This is a diamond in the rough! I reserved a site at this campground as part of my husband and 2 daughters' first camping trip. Our girls are 5 & 6, so I was concerned that they would be bored most of the time. NOT A CHANCE!!! There is a playground, a lake for swimming, fishing, paddle boats for rent,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peanutt7
South Vienna, Ohio
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Camper's paradise. Whether a holiday weekend or a midweek visit a great place to camp. Clean and quite. Plenty to do or just enjoy nature at your site. Newly remodeled bath house. Great Lake to fish, swim, canoe/kayak, float or just take in sunset. Owners are great go out of the way to ensure all campers are having a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JWolfenden
Williamstown, West Virginia
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

I have some awesome friends that let me borrow their 26 ft camper. I had my two kids with me 12 boy, 9 yr old girl. The campground was very nice and well kept, bathrooms were clean, tons of kids and families here. I forgot ketchup and mustard and bought both at their store for around $5. Rentals are reasonable!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simpleman74
Sunbury, Ohio
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Couldn't be happier! This was an important family reunion. The Owners bent over backwards and were very helpful and accommodating. They gave us all that we needed and took away stress. We camped the entire weekend. The grounds are clean and more important the shower house was spotless! We will go again and again!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cathy D
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

The male owner was pleasant at first. Our site was clean but the ground was rough and very Unleveled for a camper. The pool was a small residential pool and the lake was a mud hole. The slide that they advertised was accessible only when they wanted it available. Mens Bathroom was dirty. The porch slabs for the RV are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tessa N
happycampesr2011, Owner at Happy Hills Campground and Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are hoping that with your review, it will eliminate anyone considering camping with us who is only here to party and not take the time to read our rules, from making a reservation with us. Let me start off by addressing each of the complaints that you have listed here in this review, which...

South Rockwood
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Well let me start off by saying that we are a very large group that camp together a lot during the summer. We have never had any issues with us being almost kicked out or the sheriffs being called on us. Now let me explain we had a corn hole tournament going on there was several neighboring sites that came...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kari S
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

A simple rivalry of Ohio State and Michigan can make us the Michiganders labeled as "You people". Can make the owner feel like all of Michigan people are from the slums of Detroit. Because Michiganders are "Trashy" This place is for old farts.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ace L
happycampesr2011, Owner at Happy Hills Campground and Cabins, responded to this review

The words "Michiganders are Trashy" never came out of our mouths, I've never even heard the term "Michiganders" so it wouldn't have come from us. This place is for campers who want to spend quality time with one another and/or their families. This is not a party campground. Us not being originally from Ohio, we take no part in the...

Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

So we have about 5 families including ours in this campground, and they are so unprofessional. Saying that Michiganders are "Trashy". And using profanity in front of children. Just because we were partying at 10:30 when quiet time is 11:00

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Game D
happycampesr2011, Owner at Happy Hills Campground and Cabins, responded to this review

ok, so having 7 sites and a cabin is only 5 families? LOL. The words "Michiganders are Trashy" never came out of our mouths, I've never even heard the term "Michiganders" so it wouldn't have come from us. It was 11:20 when we had to stop the party on Friday night and yes, on Saturday night, it was only 10:30,...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelsonville
20.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
19.0 km away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
20.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
22.0 km away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#2 of 10 in Athens
423 reviews
21.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Happy Hills Campground and Cabins is a beautiful campground in the Hocking Hills featuring a private fishing lake, swimming pool, game room, playground, Modern spotless bath house, a laundry facility and a camp store. Happy Hills is conveniently located to the State Park attractions, as well as great shopping, antique malls, craft specialty shops, golf, ATV and bike trails, and restaurants.A Great Family Place"Happy Hills is the perfect retreat for couples, family, or friends to enjoy nature."FEATURES - Camping Cabins & Spacious Sites - Premium/Deluxe Campsites with patio, grill, table & chairs - Beach area for Lake Swimming - Swimming Pool 2' to 5' - Fishing Lake, Fun Boats, Paddle Boats and Rowboat & Kayaks - Game Room - WIFI - Laundry Facility - Shuffleboard Court, Playground, disc golf, and Horseshoes - Modern Clean Bath house - Camp Store with Groceries, Snacks, Necessities, Firewood, Camper - Parts,LP Gas - Quiet leashed Pets are Welcome - All sites have a Picnic Table and a Fire Ring, (perfect for star gazing) - Shaded Primitive Sites - 45 Acres of Relaxation, Good Times, and Happy Memories - Walking/hiking trails - Open for turkey and deer hunting season - 8 miles from ATV trails - Shelter House with planned activities ... more   less 

Additional Information about Happy Hills Campground and Cabins

Address: 22245 State Route 278 SW, Nelsonville, OH 45764-9623
Region: United States > Ohio > Nelsonville
Price Range: $35 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 92
Also Known As:
Happy Hills Campground And Cabins Hotel Nelsonville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Happy Hills Campground and Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The best sites were the ones furthest away from the lake. The premium and full hookup sites are pretty close together.”
 of 5 bubbles emilycL553IU, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The cabins are VERY small, but they are well-kept, and the idea is to be outside anyways!”
 of 5 bubbles 674carried, 29 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Stay clear of this camp ground!”
 of 5 bubbles mrmom0810, 27 May 2014 | Read review
“We had lot 45 and it was great...”
 of 5 bubbles carlad414, 16 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Treat people the way you wish to be treated, it will go along way!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Hpycmpr33, 28 Aug 2011 | Read review
5 of 5