We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 289: English reviews
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Let me begin by saying I will be traveling around the state of Ohio for the next few weeks writing reviews about hotels. It's a new adventure that at first sounded exciting. Now I'm starting to think it might not be worth it. I arrived at the lodge after a brief stop at the golf course. Great course and Danielle...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Ireview1to5
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

I had a chance to read your review and was concerned you were not happy with your stay. We invest over $600.000.00 annually into the property and have aggressively made several major upgrades. As you can see by all the other reviews people love the property and staff and we do our best to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This "resort" is absolutely awful! Both the common areas, pools and rooms are filthy and in terrible disrepair. The service is shameful and an attitude of apathy permeates the majority of the staff. Our room was exactly what you would expect to find at an old roadside Motel 6. For $225/night I certainly expected more. The wallpaper was ripped, the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank momtotwingirls
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have read your review and am concerned about the challenges you faced. We usually receive very high marks on our facility and service as you can read. I am following up to see where we can improve. Thank you for your comments.

Troy, Michigan
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here to celebrate our 20th anniversary and it was a wonderful getaway. Our room was very nice and had a great view! We rented a kayak and paddled around on the lake, took a bike ride, hiked, enjoyed the pools and hot tub. The lighted tennis courts looked great but ran out of time to play. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HLHeaglemom
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Happy 20th anniversary! Thank you for the great comments! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and all Deer Creek has to offer. Looking forward to your next visit!

Oberlin, Ohio
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Deer Creek Lodge is a very nice place to go for a getaway. food was great, The staff was fantastic ,very helpful, made stay most pleasant. the only drawback it is in need updating an cleaning. bath room had band aid repairs gutters leeks, lots of cobwebs and spiders. Lots of fun thing to do at the lake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CRichter42
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here as a getaway during ROTR weekend, very clean/quiet place, great for relaxing. Restaurant overlooks a beautiful lake view. Unfortunately the weather was stormy while I was there so I didn't get an opportunity to explore the park, but the lodge was very nice & met & exceeded all my expectations. Most of all, the staff was SUPER friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Monica P
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Sorry the weather wasn't the best during your stay. However it does sound like your experience was very positive and enjoyable and that's great! The staff takes a lot of pride in enhancing our guests stay and I will be sure to pass on your comments to them. Thank you for comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Wooster, Ohio
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We found this lodge to be very pleasant and relaxing. The rooms were nice and the staff especially friendly. The restaurant overlooks the lake with numerous tables right by the windows for good viewing. The food was quite good and the selection had a varied assortment of entrees you might not find everywhere. The service was fast. The peaceful setting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula51176
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. I'm glad you were able to experience and enjoy all Deer Creek has to offer! We have just added kayak rentals and they have been a huge hit. Hope you have the opportunity to visit again and give them a try.

Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I where spending the weekend there. Was a quite nice location, and as we were interesting in hiking, we figured we'd try the hiking routes on site. For being in a total flat country it was quite decent. Not what we're used to ofc, and the paths were a bit short as well, but still decent. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank slopeh
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! It’s great to hear you had positive interactions with the staff. I know they care a lot and will be happy to read your comments. I apologize for the mix up at checkout but am glad they were able to correct it for you. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Troy, Ohio
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A friend and I just spent two days at the Lodge. Our room was fine--clean and well-appointed. Our balcony or porch was the highlight of our stay. We were able to watch all kinds of birds, two baby foxes, ground hogs, and all the activity on the lake as we read our books and chatted. The trainee who checked us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank calatayud7
William G, Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the great food that is available here at the lodge. The menus will change for the summer and we hope you will stop in to check them out. We apologize that the ice machine was out of order. We are currently waiting on a part to...

Westerville, Ohio
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We celebrated our 42nd anniversary in a wonderful environment surrounded in scenic splendor. The Ohio beef in Rafter's restaurant was great on all burgers. Give a try to their homemade spicy ranch dressing for dipping and salads. You will be taken care of by the outstanding staff and managers. GREAT PLACE!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank conslancelot
William G, Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Congratulations on your 42nd anniversary! We're very happy you shared this special time here with us and are proud we were able to make this day special for the two of you!

Blacklick, Ohio
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We decided at last minute to stay @ Deer Creek for a night, just as a little mid-week getaway. Not having any expectations, since we don't know anyone that has stayed in the lodge, we were very pleased with our stay all around! We stayed in March, on a Wed night, so we had practically the entire lodge to ourselves!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christina M
William G, Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

That's for your comments! It's always good to hear how much a family enjoyed their stay. Looking forward to your next visit.

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Sterling
24.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Circleville
22.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Washington Court House
Holiday Inn Express Washington C...
#1 of 3 in Washington Court House
98 reviews
24.9 km away
Comfort Inn Circleville
Comfort Inn Circleville
#2 of 4 in Circleville
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.6 km away
Christopher Inn & Suites
Christopher Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Chillicothe
223 reviews
31.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington Court House Jeffersonville
37.3 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chillicothe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by more than 3,100 tranquil acres, Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center is just 30 minutes south of Columbus, Ohio. We offer 110 guestrooms perfect for a quiet and romantic weekend getaway or a fun-filled family reunion. All lodge guestrooms have a private balcony or patio to give you a scenic view of the park, lake or outdoor pool. We also have 25 two-bedroom cottages (three with roll-in showers), each with a fully equipped kitchen, full bath, living room, dining area and a screened-in porch. Rafter's Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner; the gift shop operates seven days a week. Our 18-hole championship golf course is diverse, challenging and exciting for golfers of all skill levels. Other things to do: boating, fishing, hiking, cycling, camping, and many more recreational activities! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center

Address: 22300 State Park Road 20, Mount Sterling, OH 43143-9542
Region: United States > Ohio > Mount Sterling
Price Range: $130 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Creek Hotel Mount Sterling
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room with a lake view”
 of 5 bubbles JeffreyG648, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lake views are best but they will not guarantee you get one.”
 of 5 bubbles karena740, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the water are nice. Exits to exterior are on 2nd floor (not first).”
  • Rust and gunk
  • Dirty light fixtures
  • Nice warm bulbs...
  • Daylight bulbs in the same room. Strange.
  • Damaged paint in room
  • Ceiling in our room
  • Rattling dirty fan
 of 5 bubbles Jim335, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are rooms that have balconies and overlook the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles TekPa, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The best view is the 'lake' view”
 of 5 bubbles bulldana1967, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay