We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
See the most recent reviews
Showing 351: English reviews
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Loved it. Great Room and very quiet. Breakfast, I was not a fan of. I didn't like the breakfast because the opinions were very limited for our group. I really liked dining room. Very nice and comfortable. Easy location to find as well. I recommend this hotel.!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence and thank you for your review, your feedback is very important to us. . We really appreciate your comments. Thank you again for staying with us and please let us know next time you will be visiting, we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another great...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 24 July 2016

we stayed here for a couple nights for our anniversary. we always stay in independence because its close to everything for us. hotel is up on a hill which is nice , so there is no traffic noise, rooms are good, bed was actually really comfy. the thing it didnt have was a fridge or microwave, the bar and restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank babya71
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence and thank you for your review, your feedback is very important to us. Customer service is paramount to us; we are pleased to learn you found our staff friendly and accommodating. Thank you again for staying with us and please let us know next time you will be visiting, we...

Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed 21 July 2016

This hotel is in the midst of several others South of downtown Cleveland. It is a mid size hotel of five floors, with rooms of comfortable spacing in each room for each guest with a feeling of royalty. Plenty of room to put away belongings, Large screen TV with extra cable offerings available for relaxation. For those who wish to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DocMd613
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel: the Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us! As a property we strive to provide the very best experiences possible for all of our guests. Again, thank you for your feedback, time and patronage. We hope you will join us again! JoeIsernia General...

Rodney, Canada
Reviewed 19 July 2016

The Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence is a nice clean modern hotel with updated rooms and comfortable beds and good quality linens. It is conveniently located near a good selection of resatuarnts

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheBugGuy
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Joe Isernia General Manager

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our two night stay here. My family used the pool as well as the lounge. Pool was clean with lots of towels and chairs. The Lounge was very friendly and a nice end to our day. Front desk was helpful with anything we needed. Location was perfect. Would definitely return to the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather L
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence as your hotel of choice during your last visit to Cleveland. We were truly humbled by your gracious comments regarding our hotel service team. We can’t wait to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Cleveland South when your travels next bring you to Cleveland. Joe Isernia General Manager

Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel on the way to a destination. It's a little dated for but well-maintained. Got a special rate online so felt it was well worth it. The hotel is convenient to the highway and restaurants. It is across the street from Cleveland Clinic as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. Joe Isernia General Manager

Virginia
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Overall, surprised with this stay. King size room was very large and had well stocked toiletries, including a relaxation kit. Staff upon check in was helpful but staff later in evening was mixed bag, but did get questions answered. The pool was decent temperature given how warm it was outside but the pool looked like it could use some vacuuming....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelinT_N
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. We try to make everyone’s visit a “Home away from Home” by providing the best comfort, the friendliest service and...

Reviewed 6 July 2016

This is a very nice hotel, I stayed on the 8th floor and the rooms were very clean and well quipped. I can't comment on the location as I didn't have time to explore the local area. The Gym was well equipped and well used, there is also a swimming pool which looked fine. All the staff were friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam V
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. We try to make everyone’s visit a “Home away from Home” by providing the best comfort, the friendliest service and...

Sugar Hill, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We booked this because the price was fair and it was close enough to Downtown that we could Uber inexpensively. We came in town for the Cavaliers Championship Parade. We stayed 2 nights. Booked at the last minute, so our options were limited. The staff was very nice when we checked in. We locked ourselves out of our room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amie H
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community. I am deeply disappointed to hear of your displeasure with the hotel. I do hope that you would consider staying with us once again. Joe Isernia General Manager

Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

They will charge you for nights you are not there and refuse to refund your money and you will have to contact your financial institution to dispute it... Be prepared to have the police called on you to be escorted out if you disagree with them It took the general manager a month to return my call and now it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J R
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We charged you credit card due to the fact your room was smoked in . Our hotel is 100% smoke free and we ensure all our guest are notified upon check in. You came back to our hotel and became verbally abusive...

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.8 km away
Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland Independence
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside
0.8 km away
Courtyard Cleveland Independence
Courtyard Cleveland Independence
#8 of 14 in Independence
72 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
*Recognized by The Knot as a 2013 pick for Best of Weddings!*Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence. The only 4 Star full service property in Independence Ohio. Located on Rockside Road and I-77. The Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence is the perfect location for all your corporate and leisure events. We are 10 minutes from downtown Cleveland and in the heart of Independence Business District. The Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence is steps away from many corporate offices and office parks; including the Cleveland Clinic Independence Campus, IBM, Alcoa, Microsoft, and many more. For those wanting to get out and experience our great city of Cleveland, we are a short drive to the Great Lakes Science Center, Cleveland Browns Stadium, Progressive Stadium, Cleveland Cavaliers Quicken Loans Arena, Playhouse Square Theaters and the famous Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. You can find shopping in all directions. We are loaded with comforts and amenities, including 100% smoke free, complimentary airport shuttle and local shuttle, valet parking for registered guest, and fine dining experiences in Aura Bistro and Lounge. We have over 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space along with 178 guest rooms. Our unique indoor pool is sure to please all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence

Address: 5300 Rockside Rd, Independence, OH 44131-2118
Region: United States > Ohio > Independence
Price Range: $124 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence Ohio
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Independence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Alliance, Ohio
7 months ago
Alliance, Ohio
7 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room on the first floor, but had no problem with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles kathiswann, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Executive continental breakfast only ran M-F, and was not good value for money.”
 of 5 bubbles dnalosh74, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is a little freeway noise, although it's not too bad. You might ask for earplugs if you're sensitive to it.”
 of 5 bubbles professordoctormom, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“As high up as possible and on the front side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles WesleyL642, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All Rooms are Good - Executive Floor rooms may be more spaceous and has added food available (see above)”
 of 5 bubbles DocMd613, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay