Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park

57 Water St, Ulverstone, Tasmania 7315 Australia
Traveller (47)
Deluxe Cottage
Room & Suite (38)
Camp kitchen facilities for campers at BIG4 Ulverstone
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 2 campsites in Ulverstone
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
We are a BIG4 Holiday Park located right across from the beach in Ulverstone Tasmania. We offer a range of self-contained cabin & unit accommodation options along with powered and unpowered camping sites. All of our accommodation has bedding supplied and includes many of the comforts of home. We cater for singles, couples and families with a jumping pillow, playground, TV room, fully-equipped camp kitchen & direct access to the beach. Pets are welcome by application on our caravan and camping sites only. We are in close proximity to the Ulverstone CBD which includes supermarkets, clothing shops, banks and a post office along with a variety of eateries: cafes, bakeries, restaurants, pubs and bottle shops. We also have many local & regional tourist attractions nearby. Our park is a great place to stay as a base for exploring all that the Central Coast has to offer especially for mainland travellers arriving & departing on the Spirit of Tasmania.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Fishing
Tennis court offsite
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Water park offsite
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.5 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
145Reviews0Q+A23Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 83
  • 47
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dee333 wrote a review Aug 2020
Caloundra, Australia16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We began our 12 month visit to Tassie in early March 2020, arriving just as the island went into lockdown due to the COVID 19 pandemic. The owners and staff in this holiday park exceeded all expectations in providing a welcome and safe haven for us and other travellers during this time. This park is very well maintained, the facilities are exceptionally clean and the camp kitchen is very well appointed. The beach is situated across the road and for those who enjoy a walk, it’s an easy stroll into the city centre. An added bonus is the easy access to bicycle tracks to explore local attractions. We really enjoyed our stay in this park and highly recommend it as a base to explore this region of Tassie!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rachael Griffin, General Manager at BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park
Responded 7 Nov 2023
It's heartening to hear about your extended stay experience at this holiday park in Tassie during the challenging time of the COVID-19 pandemic. The fact that the owners and staff exceeded your expectations by providing a safe and welcoming environment is truly commendable. Your positive comments about the park's maintenance, exceptionally clean facilities, and well-appointed camp kitchen are great to know. The proximity to the beach, easy access to the city center, and the availability of bicycle tracks for local exploration are added bonuses. Thank you for sharing your feedback and recommending this park as a fantastic base for exploring the region. It's stories like yours that highlight the importance of exceptional customer service and care during difficult times.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
donnaharford wrote a review Jan 2020
Aspendale, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My Son and I camped there straight from disembarking off the Spirit of Tasmania and we were allowed to come in very early to pitch our tent. Facilities great and locals very friendly. Being a woman camping with her Son, I felt very safe. Loved too that you could take pets there.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: I camped in tent ⛺️
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BIG4_Ulverstone, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park
Responded 20 Jan 2020
We really appreciate your feedback and would like to thank you for the thought you put into this review. We wish you safe and happy camping for your onward journey and our team look forward to seeing you back again next time your travels bring you back our way.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nojmik1 wrote a review Jan 2022
Launceston, Australia74 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked 3 nights with a camper trailer on an unpowered site and enjoyed our time so much we extended our stay, reluctant to leave, mainly because:
Ammenities were kept very clean by Sharon and staff, (who continually checked they were perfect, even on New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day) and they were also very friendly and great to talk to.
Gary who we met was such a friendly, chatty and locally knowledgeable chap….his sense of humour and manner made us feel welcome to the park….we would definitely return here just knowing how much work and care goes into this park by Sharon, Gary and staff. Thanks for having us!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rachael Griffin, General Manager at BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park
Responded 7 Nov 2023
It's clear from your review that you had a truly enjoyable and memorable stay at the campground with your camper trailer. The decision to extend your stay is a testament to how much you loved your time there. It's wonderful to hear that the amenities were kept exceptionally clean by Sharon and the staff, even on New Year's Eve and New Year's Day. The friendly and helpful nature of the staff, particularly Gary, who made you feel welcome and shared his local knowledge, greatly enhanced your experience. Their dedication and care for the park left a lasting positive impression on you. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and it's great to know that you would consider returning to this campground in the future. Your review highlights the importance of dedicated staff and a welcoming atmosphere in making a stay truly special.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Redoxreaction wrote a review Jan 2021
11 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly great park for families. Units a bit old but ok. Would have been nice to be warned bedroom was right next to train. Bed comfortable in bunk other main one a bit hard. Take photos before you leave as evidence as manager is threatening me with $50 cleaning fee as a plate was apparently wet in cupboard.

Management had issues with booking.com and told me I should not have booked through them. They happily processed my booking but then refused to process my cancellation stating I would have to pay full ammount of 5 night stay when on booking site it said i would only be required to pay 1 night of accommodation for cancellation. My mother had a stroke that is why I wanted to cancel the trip. I stayed 2 out of the 5 nights one night on my own and one night with my 2 and 4 year old. They stated how filthy the unit was which with black carpet anything shows up on the floor especially sand being by a beach providing a vacumn for guests might help everyone as the last thing I want to do is leave crumbs on the floor but a 2 and a 4 year old drop thing's as much as I sat them at the table to eat. The place is great but the manager was a very rude woman according to friends that also stayed she's been rude to multiple people so it wasn't just my single experience. I'd reccommend St Helens big 4 over Ulverstone, the staff there are really lovely and helpful and amenities are a bit more modern but it's a good place for families and if you book direct.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rachael Griffin, General Manager at BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park
Responded 7 Nov 2023
It's clear that you had a mixed experience during your stay at the park, and I'm sorry to hear about the issues you encountered. It's important to provide feedback to help others make informed decisions, and it's also good to know about potential challenges when booking through third-party platforms. The issues you mentioned regarding the older units, train noise, and the attitude of the manager are all significant considerations for future guests. Taking photos before leaving as evidence and booking directly with the venue are practical tips, as it can help protect against any disputes. Your recommendation of the St Helens Big 4 as an alternative is valuable for those seeking a family-friendly park with a more positive experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback, and I hope your future travels are more enjoyable.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelingypsyi_11 wrote a review Jan 2021
Hobart, Australia18 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I can’t complain about the customer service whilst on site as there was absolutely none. Management does not take accountability for errors, blames the customer. If you must stay there get any requests in writing and don’t bother complaining if anything goes wrong. Better yet stay at the West Ulverstone caravan park, the penguins are adorable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rachael Griffin, General Manager at BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park
Responded 7 Nov 2023
I'm sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with the customer service and management during your stay. It's essential for guests to feel valued and have their concerns addressed, and it seems like this was not the case in your situation. Your advice to get any requests in writing and your recommendation of the West Ulverstone caravan park are valuable for future travelers looking for a better experience in the area. Thank you for sharing your feedback, and I hope your future accommodations are more satisfying.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole R wrote a review Jan 2020
Wollongong, Australia6 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed three nights at the Button Creek Campground over New Year. The location was amazing! Literally a stone’s throw from the beach. However, it is also a stone’s throw from a freight train line which comes through at random times. Kids loved watching it in the day however it’s not so good at 2am!!! When we arrived someone else was hooked into our power as theirs wasn’t working. The water taps also had to be shared and we had to see reception to get a connector which was a bit annoying having to jump in the car and drive to the office every time there was an issue. The sites feel a bit like they’re on top of each other and there’s not much space for cars especially considering how small the road is in there. Even though our car was parked completely on our site, we had an overgrown bush on the opposite side of the road which made it difficult for other vehicles to pass. We also had to move our car so our neighbours could back in their van. Amenities were okay, but with only one key it is difficult to share among a family of four, however they do have a couple of toilets out the front that don’t require a key.

Overall, considering the cost, it is a pretty good campsite for what you pay. Very basic, but I don’t particularly mind that. I do feel however they need to spread the sites out a little instead of cramming everyone in.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BIG4_Ulverstone, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Thanks for taking the time to share your valued feedback with us. We really appreciate you choosing to stay with us here in Ulverstone. The Button Creek Campground area is council-owned and maintained and we lease it during our peak periods so that we can offer as many guests as possible a chance to enjoy fabulous location and all our park has to offer at a slightly discounted rate. Your feedback will be passed on for their consideration. We do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back again and maybe you can try the main park next time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
iain e wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The accommodation was OK for what we needed for a one night stay. Quick and easy upon arrival as it was pre booked many months in advance. The rooms were adequate for our short stay and reception was very accommodating
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BIG4_Ulverstone, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Thanks ianie33
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon S wrote a review Feb 2021
Victoria, Australia11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well positioned across from the beach. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin for three nights using it as a base for driving around the very historic and scenic area.
The cabins and grounds were very well presented and the staff informative and very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rachael Griffin, General Manager at BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park
Responded 7 Nov 2023
It's wonderful to hear about your positive experience at the park. A clean environment and necessary amenities are essential for a comfortable stay, and it's great that you found these aspects in order. The welcoming staff and the family-friendly atmosphere contributed to making your stay even more enjoyable. The proximity to town and the availability of great coffee shops and restaurants is an added bonus, allowing you to explore and enjoy the local area easily. The fact that you've already booked to return is a clear indicator of your satisfaction with the park. Thank you for sharing your review, and we hope you have another fantastic stay on your next visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
michael t wrote a review Nov 2023
8 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Big4 Ulverstone for 4 nights in Nov 23. We had an excellent time. The park staff were simply outstanding - arranging lots of activities for the kids including a guest appearance by 'Bluey', ice cream trucks, loads of kids activities, concerts and much more. Heaps of amenities, including a pump track next door for the MTB heads. Their is a genuine family friendly and laid back vibe that takes you back to your childhood. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rachael Griffin, General Manager at BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park
Responded 7 Nov 2023
I'm glad to hear that you had such a wonderful experience during your stay at BIG 4 Ulverstone in November 2023! It's clear that the park and its staff made a significant effort to ensure your visit was enjoyable, especially for the kids with all the activities and special appearances like 'Bluey.' The presence of amenities and the nearby pump track for mountain biking enthusiasts adds even more value to the experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback, and your recommendation is greatly appreciated. It's reviews like yours that can be incredibly helpful for others looking for a fantastic place to stay in Ulverstone. We hope to see you back at Big4 Ulverstone for another memorable visit in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
George wrote a review Mar 2020
Launceston, Australia8 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very friendly staff with good clean facilities. Caravan sites were plenty big enough with a good grass covering. Camp kitchen was excellent. Park is situated close to town with plenty of eating places and grocery stores. A large plaground adjacent to the park is great for the kids.
All in all a great place for a family holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BIG4_Ulverstone, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback with us Janene73. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time here with us and we hope to see you all back again one day in the very near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Us-Two-Aussies wrote a tip Feb 2024
Airlie Beach, Australia246 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Washing machines $5, dryers $5 per load "
Read full review
Curiosity789223 wrote a tip Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The cabin was well appointed and wonderful."
Read full review
elmers11 wrote a tip Mar 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom25 contributions54 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Had powered motorhome pitch. Handy for facilities which were clean etc. Quite a big if road noise from close by highway."
Read full review
Christine S wrote a tip Mar 2020
Broadbeach, Australia9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Quite spacious, clean and well equipped with everything you needed for a short or long stay."
Read full review
Kerry K wrote a tip Mar 2020
Wollongong40 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Caravan park, not hotel"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ulverstone area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$196 - AU$239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaUlverstone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BIG4 ULVERSTONE HOLIDAY PARK (AU$196): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Campground - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Under The Oak, handmade gallery and gifts (0.8 km), Leven Antique Centre & Fern Oasis (0.7 km), and Hive (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thirty three Cups, River Arms Ulverstone, and Indian Corner.
Is BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Ulverstone.
Are pets allowed at BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Home Hill (14.6 km).
Is BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Ulverstone HotelsUlverstone Hotel DealsHotels near BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars