We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House

139 Penguin Rd, Ulverstone, Tasmania 7315 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (9)
Pool & Beach (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 3 B&Bs in Ulverstone
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Moonlight Bay Guest House is a luxurious romantic oceanfront B&B situated on the magnificent scenic coastal drive between the charming seaside towns of Ulverstone and Penguin on the beautiful North West Coast of Tasmania. It offers luxurious romantic rooms with lace canopy four-poster beds with lovely ensuites with claw bath or double spa and stunning sea views.Within a five minute drive to quality restaurants,cafe's and shopping, and close to all the major tourist attractions in the beautiful North West of Tasmania.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Beach
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
59Reviews0Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 48
  • 7
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ccoll45 wrote a review Jan 2022
Brisbane, Australia47 contributions1 helpful vote
Words to describe our visit are enjoyable, welcoming, friendly, accommodating, clean, informative, delicious brekkie, helpful, quirky, highly recommended. Do yourself a favour and stay here if you are provided the opportunity. There was a lovely view of the lake, we were close to some lovely touristy spots. Doug and Christine do a lovely job of looking after their guests. I am late in writing this review as we stayed there in June 2021 (and it is now January 2022) due to personal circumstances but would have been remiss if I hadn’t given a positive review to lovely people who go out of their way.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jeff and Heather wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Rooms are beautifully appointed. Breakfast was absolutely beautiful. Port and chocolates to top off a wonderful day out. Chrissie and Doug welcomed us as if we were old friends and it didn't stop there. Not only did they provide us with lovely accommodation and make us a beautiful breakfast they sat down and enjoyed it with us along with their other guests. Chrissie and Doug also gave us great info on attractions in the area and places to eat out. We were not disappointed. Great value for money. We are looking for to our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tintoon wrote a review June 2019
Perth, Australia30 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Moonlight Bay B&B is run by husband and wife team Chrissie and Doug who were eager to make my stay beyond comfortable and welcoming. My room was extremely comfortable with old world comfort, welcome chocolates and port nightcap. I’m not very familiar with the B&B experience however if the moonlight bay experience is what a B&B is then I’m a complete convert! The room was well presented, warm and the large private en-suite was exceptionally clean. As I was the only guest that night I had a wonderful cooked breakfast with Christie and Doug and watched the sun rise over the ocean through the large windows. A wonderful stay that I’d highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ann B wrote a review Apr 2019
1 contribution
Beautiful rooms wonderful service. Thank you Christine and Doug. Room was clean and restful. There were chocolates on arrival and port to have before bed. Breakfast went above and beyond. I would definitely visit again. It was great to meet poppa Tom too.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tom K wrote a review Mar 2019
Duluth15 contributions15 helpful votes
We stayed two nights at Moonlight Bay the last week of February 2019 and it was like staying with some very good friends. Doug and Chrissie made is feel right at home. They gave us advice on where to eat and where to spend our short time in Tasmania. The home was very warm and welcoming and our room was perfect. Not only was the breakfast delicious but having Doug and Chrissie share it with us made us feel so welcome. The view from the deck was amazing and a perfect place to share a bottle of wine. We highly recommend Moonlight Bay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Terry D wrote a review Feb 2019
3 contributions1 helpful vote
What a beautiful place to stay hosts Very welcoming nothing was too much trouble beds were excellent stayed 2 nights instead of 1 felt at home and hosts were lovely company would highly recommend this B+B very clean lots of special treats Will definitely return
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Explore35153514408, Owner at Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House
Responded 20 Feb 2019
Thank you very much for your kind words it was a pleasure to host you both. Come again soon. Kind Regards Chrissie and Doug
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David C wrote a review Jan 2019
Ortonville, Michigan35 contributions37 helpful votes
Found this great bed and breakfast at the very last minute and what a find it was. Everything was perfect and very reasonable. The front of the home faces the ocean. Hearing the lull of the ocean put me right to sleep. The room had a homey feel to it and was a very good size. You have the opportunity to have a coffee or your breakfast on the upper porch. Nice breakfast with a lot of options. A very pleasant couple are your hosts and we had a great conversation. Five stars.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Explore35153514408, Owner at Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House
Responded 31 Jan 2019
Thanks for your review it was a pleasure to host you comeback soon.Regards Chrissie and Doug
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Samantha H wrote a review Jan 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed at Moonlight Bay B&B for a week over New Year. The accommodation was presented beautifully with lovely decor. Rooms were clean and spacious, a deliious buffet breakfast was included and there was no sound carrying throughout the house when other guests were staying. The location of the B&B was perfect - right across the road from the beach and only a few kilometers from the centre of Ulverstone. Penguins were nesting on the beach across the road. Christine and Doug were fabulous hosts who were happy to share their own travel stories. They knew the area extremely well and were able to suggest day trips and activities to suit all kinds of weather and interests. Definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Explore35153514408, Owner at Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House
Responded 25 Jan 2019
Thank you Samantha for your kind review we enjoyed hosting you in our home
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kevin D wrote a review Jan 2019
Perth, Western Australia156 contributions106 helpful votes
Moonlight Bay is situated between Ulverstone and Penguin. It is a nice area but a bit isolated for our liking and Bernie would probably have been better for us. We had booked the room with the previous owners some five months before but found the room didn’t have any view to speak of, was at the top of a narrow flight of stairs and was quite small. It was quite stuffy at the end of a warm day. The new owners are doing things to enhance the property but it is decorated in a flowery, frilly style that may be more at home in the Lakes District of England. It was not our style. We think Doug and Christine are doing their best to be good hosts but we did think that their approach of joining the guests at the breakfast table while not eating themselves was a bit intrusive and would not be appreciated by all guests. The single breakfast table and this sharing of the meal was not something we had experienced before anywhere in Australia or elsewhere. It also suggested a rationing of the food, regardless of the intention. To be asked by Doug, more as a stement on day 3, “you don’t want your linen changed today do you?” was also odd and a bit presumptuous. We stayed three nights and paid full tote odds but didn’t get the linen changed and the waste paper baskets were not emptied on day 2. We also felt that for people of our age, to be at the top of the stairs without help take the bags up and down the stairs, this should be fundamental to being good hosts. This review may seem critical of the owners, but if they note these points then this B&B could get a much higher rating.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The B&B is opposite a beach where penguins can be seen, but it is cut off and would not be a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roam40654425781, Owner at Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House
Responded 11 Jan 2019
Dear Mr. Kevin Donnelly, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and we agree you probably you should have booked a hotel in a city as you obviously did not enjoy the tranquility of our B&B on the beach with hobby farms surrounding it. The fact that you booked 6 months in advance gave you ample time to peruse the photos on our website and find the décor not to your liking and as we have a generous cancellation policy you could have done so and found something more to your liking. On your arrival if you remember we did carry your bags to your room as you both looked very tired after a long drive from Strahan. On the day of your departure we were preparing yours and our other guests breakfast when you decided to take your bags to your car. We are sorry if your memory is failing you as you were asked every morning at breakfast did you need your linen changed and you replied just fresh towels. We don't like to be intrusive in our guests rooms but will do anything that is asked us within reason. I would also like to point out that this is a home not a palace and the stairs are of a normal width for a home and the room you stayed in is36 sq. metres and is considered quite large that was not including the spacious bathroom with a shower and claw foot bath and separate toilet. We enjoy the interaction with our guests at breakfast and the majority of guests also enjoy it. We did not eat with you as you were the 1st guests at the table and we had a full house and needed to be there to refill any dishes should they need it. The breakfast is free and quite extensive and we encourage guests to eat heartily. Kind Regards The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
marshfish wrote a review Feb 2018
Melbourne638 contributions205 helpful votes
We arrived very late after a daytime crossing of the Spirit of Tasmania.I had phoned Jeff beforehand to warn them. He recommended that we get a meal in Devonport which we did. Jeff and Christine were at the door welcoming us when we arrived. There was no embarrassment about the time. I appreciated the manner in which they introduced the features of the house and the Strathmore suite to us. The location is a postcard setting on a sunny day. An overnight stay was not enough for us to take advantage of what this area had on offer.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ulverstone area.
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaUlverstone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOONLIGHT BAY B&B GUEST HOUSE (AU$140): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Ulverstone) - Photos of B&B - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Leven Canyon (5.8 km), Penguin Foreshore (6.7 km), and Giant Penguin (6.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thirty three Cups, River Arms Ulverstone, and Penguin Country Bakehouse.