We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gordon Gateway

Hotwire.comUSD 64*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Gordon Gateway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
Start your review of Gordon Gateway
 Click to rate
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I adored this place. The huge window overlooks the harbour and is just the most beautiful sight. I was lucky enough to watch a full on storm in the night, thunder and lightning lighting up the sea. The accommodation is really nice, the room is large with comfy beds, bunk beds are tucked away slightly for children. The kitchen and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tara108n
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We had the spa suite. Very comfortable. Bed cosy and soft. Two balconies with wonderful views. One private, one shared.. Just as we checked in, the reception was abandoned and we never saw a staff member for the whole time we were there. We stayed for two nights. Being Optus customers, we had no phone coverage, so the very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sammi B
gordongatewaychalet, Front Office Manager at Gordon Gateway, responded to this review

Thanks for your Review and we're glad you enjoyed the gorgeous views on offer from your room. Unfortunately being a small business we are unable to have reception open 24/7. We understand that the wifi signal is not great, as it isn't in most accommodation places in Strahan. However we feel that having some wifi signal in certain hotspots around...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Spacious room with a view over harbour, clean and tidy, out of town no noise, shower toilet separate room, ample seating.Only stayed one night. Bed comfortable removed bedspread bit warm, replaced with blanket..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dudley T
gordongatewaychalet, Front Office Manager at Gordon Gateway, responded to this review

THankyou for your positive review. We hope to hgave you stay with us again in the future.

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

On the plus side with the view from the motel room over the river was very nice, the bed comfortable, and we loved our river cruise the next morning. We were however, a little disappointed that we were greeted (along with three later guests) by closed reception at 430pm on a weekday , and a simple sealed envelope with our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick W
gordongatewaychalet, Front Office Manager at Gordon Gateway, responded to this review

Thanks for your Review and we're glad you enjoyed the gorgeous views on offer from your room. Unfortunately being a small business we are unable to have reception open 24/7. As stated on your instructions you received along with your room key, if you needed any assistance to call, and we were happy to come back at any time.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 night in a chalet which would have been nice 30 years ago Needs up dating and bed room up stairs and bathroom down stairs As I book it on line and paid on line was met with a that's how it is when I said was not over happy with the accomodation At least it was quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phill B
gordongatewaychalet, Front Office Manager at Gordon Gateway, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed how peaceful and quiet our property is. As you booked on line you would have seen the many up to date photographs and information on the room type you were booking. We are always striving to make small improvements to the rooms all the time, being a small business I hope...

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Room was nice and clean but pretty old and tired. There was Limited hot water and no wifi in the room. Reception is only open for part of the day. Bed was comfortable and had extra pillows in the cupboard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick W
Reviewed 17 January 2017

This place gave us a delightful view across the bay to the lights of Strahan. It was clean and tidy, with friendly and helpful staff. A great way to enjoy a sunset! We didn't use the spa, but the bathroom was clean and modern.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trish G
gordongatewaychalet, Front Office Manager at Gordon Gateway, responded to this review

Thankyou for your positive review. We hope you come again on your next trip to Tasmania.

Reviewed 15 January 2017

Comfortable accommodation for the price. We enjoyed our stay, it was a good quiet place to rest at night. Pros: Great view, large room, free laundry, warm shower and kitchenette Cons: Dated decor and free wifi is not that great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Em B
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

This place is situated beautifully on top of the hill overlooking the main hub of Strahan. Our room was very big and had a great big window overlooking the view. The TV was tiny and the linen/pillows really need updating. The place is a bit out of date.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kellie-Anne F
Reviewed 23 November 2016

the room was very spacious. I had a heater which worked really well. the room had a kitchenette in it. Which was supplied with appliances and cooking utensils. The bed was Comfortable and the bathroom was a bit dated but nothing to complain about. The view was fantastic and its centrally located to the town. I will stay there again...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victor G

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.6 km away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
885 reviews
0.6 km away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
285 reviews
1.3 km away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
221 reviews
1.2 km away
Strahan Holiday Retreat
Strahan Holiday Retreat
#8 of 20 in Strahan
308 reviews
0.9 km away
Ormiston House
Ormiston House
#2 of 6 in Strahan
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Gordon Gateway

Address: Grining St | off The Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Price Range: $76 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gordon Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gordon Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon Gateway Strahan, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gordon Gateway staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gordon Gateway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“first floor with sea views and a spa”
trishg115, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ring to confirm booking.”
, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best Views”
820victorg, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't book”
Eagles93, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs if you are elderly or have mobility issues but you will miss out on the best of the views.”
Austin-Powers63, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
USD 64* /night
View Deal
ElvolineUSD 74
getaroom.comUSD 67
TripAdvisorUSD 64
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates