We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park

Save
Share
2 Penelope St, St Helens, Break O'Day, Tasmania 7216 Australia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (20)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 04/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Updated 04/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 13 Speciality lodging in St Helens
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park is located close to the beautiful Bay of Fires on Tasmania's north-east coast. Our immaculately maintained holiday park offers 20 private cabins set in a picturesque setting, along with multiple powered and unpowered camp sites. Park facilities include fully-equipped modern camp kitchen, free BBQ area, modern amenities block, coin-operated laundry and helpful and informative staff. Families are sure to have fun with all our park activities including a giant inflatable jumping pillow, an indoor children's games room, including a toddler play area and movie area, outdoor playground and lovely maintained grounds. Pets are welcome on our caravan and camping sites. We are the perfect location to explore the local area, from the Bay of Fires to St Columba Falls. Don't miss unique attractions such as the Pub in the Paddock and Pyengana Dairy. BIG4 St Helens a truly welcoming park for families and grey nomads alike, come and visit us soon!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Bicycle rental
Game room
Books, DVDs, music for children
Indoor play area for children
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Fishing
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
431Reviews0Q+A49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 263
  • 102
  • 25
  • 14
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Chris K wrote a review 14 Jan
49 contributions28 helpful votes
The staff are unbelievably rude and short. They have COVID safe procedures in place to protect themselves- not allowing visitors in reception, but not to protect visitors. The amenities are filthy. There was clearly a few guests with upset bellies and the mess remained in the mens bathrooms for at least two days. The kids play room has never been cleaned, let alone having enhanced cleaning during a pandemic and I am shocked the jumping pillow can still inflate it is so threadbare. There are bandaids stuck to it’s surface in places. This park has serious potential but falls short on all aspects of customer experience. Perhaps if the current employees enjoyed their roles, it may be different for everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Ann G wrote a review 5 Jan
Wollongong, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
Dreadful. We booked the only accommodation left that looked like it had a bathroom in the pictures. It was a shipping container without windows and on the day it was pouring rain and we were given only one key which did not open the shared unisex bathroom which did not have a covered walkway to the bathroom or the dining areas. When we went back to reception to notify them they said they forgot to give us the key. By this time we were soaking wet. We have worked in mining camps where the accommodation was far better. I am pretty sure it is illegal to have windowless rooms with only one exit door, it is a fire trap. We quickly hopped online and called several other places before securing beautiful accommodation at Scamanda Bay from a very obliging host who made sure we received the services and accommodation we were expecting. Something that certainly wasn’t provided at Big 4 St Helen’s. No refund was given or offered. Expensive lesson well learnt. Read reviews always first.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
tt_cc wrote a review 4 Jan
Sydney34 contributions29 helpful votes
I wish I’d read the reviews here first & booked the NRMA Tasman holiday park around the corner… we paid for 2 rooms for 2 nights ($440 for our family of 3), and it was a shipping container, with no windows & a fluro light. The rooms stink of foot odour, there was no way to air them out, the walls are very thin so you can hear the other guests snoring & their tv sounds like it’s in your own room. The toilets are shared. There is a fire pit right outside the door with drunken guests carrying on all night. We cut our losses (the park refused to refund our second unused night), and booked the nrma Tasman holiday park around the corner, which was amazing- for a similar price. At nrma we had our own brand new apartment free standing cabin, windows in all sides, verandah, kitchen, dishwasher, beds for 6 people etc etc , along with air conditioned games room, on site restaurant, jumping pillow etc. if you are booking rooms, don’t book them here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid booking the shipping container family budget rooms
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Pearce Robinson, General Manager at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hey Tanya Lake from Sydney you booked our budget level container development bunkhouse rooms online with booking.com and they clearly state that they have communal showers and toilets and are a $110 dollars a night .The choice was yours when you booked, if it said bunkhouse and $110 a night I would expect bunkhouse Style accommodation!. Our fully self contained 4.5 star accommodation is priced over $200 per night but you being price conscious booked our budget level. The office staff did give you a credit note for your second night also which you failed to mention. Similar price you got to be joking nothing under $250 last week .
Read more
Mike wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
This place is not in the same league as the NRMA Park, which is superior & cheaper. This place is desperate for patrons. They advertised that they are giving 33 sites & 2 Cabins away free for each night in November. They advertised the winners each day on Facebook, but guess what they didn't show which people got a Cabin & sites. They was all mixed together. The last few days they only drew 17 names instead of 35. Any day they only drew 33 names. On enquiry to the Park they slammed the phone in my ear & refused to answer why the full 35 wasn t drawn or which one's got a Cabin. I certainly woundn't stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Pearce Robinson, General Manager at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Responded 3 weeks ago
R U OK Listen here you faceless keyboard warrior if this is a true review or a competitor I would suggest you look back at which park has been included into the hall of fame for Caravan Parks in Tasmania and also who has won the most State tourism awards for excellence.Over priced you got to be kidding, we GAVE AWAY OVER 900 NIGHTS FREE OF CHARGE YES FREE OF CHARGE who in there right mind would do that .We believed in a cause and supported that cause R U OK and I thank ABC Tasmania for their help promoting this inactive .Also thank you to the patrons that donated to our cause as we all know someone affected by mental health .
Read more
Susan H wrote a review Oct 2021
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia17 contributions17 helpful votes
We physically booked the site at reception and discussed needing a level site reassurance was given it was flat with artificial grass flat it was with 4 steep steps to the water and power connections slippery and wet as it was raining. We arrived the day after and only for a fellow camper seeing our serious problem and helped us out .it is hard enough being disabled don’t need to be embarrassed by the lack of thought of the staff and the cost $74 the dearest we have ever paid for 1 night
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Pearce Robinson, General Manager at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Mr & Mrs Susan Hardy just for your information guys I noticed you mention veteran we raised over $5000 for Soldier On last year which was one of our many charities which we raised money for . Our new artificial site that you went too is level and easily accessible with a motor home or caravan and yes it did have a few steps to the electricity but with so many other options it only takes a call and we could change sites but there was 2 people with your booking only one disabled ! . The new disabled shower and toilet facility that you had access to and where put as close to as possible to make the journey closer is one of the best facilities for disabled people that I have seen.Not every person knows the level of disability perhaps explain that in the future and you did book it over the phone and came in after hours .We do have an after hour call assist number as well if people need assistance .Thanks Peter /Owner
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 77 - USD 122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaBreak O'DaySt Helens
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Warship & Marine Corps Museum (1.1 km), St Helens War Memorial (1.1 km), and East Coast Art Supplies & Gallery (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Furneaux Restaurant & Comptoir, Skippers Fish Shop, and Banjo's Bakery Cafe St Helens.
Is BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.