BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park

2 Penelope St, St Helens, Break O'Day, Tasmania 7216 Australia
Powered site
Traveller (147)
The view of the valley from our Cabin
Room & Suite (56)
Camp Kitchen with adjoining TV Room
Dining (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 3 campsites in St Helens
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park is located close to the beautiful Bay of Fires on Tasmania's north-east coast. Our immaculately maintained holiday park offers 20 private cabins set in a picturesque setting, along with multiple powered and unpowered camp sites. Park facilities include fully-equipped modern camp kitchen, free BBQ area, modern amenities block, coin-operated laundry and helpful and informative staff. Families are sure to have fun with all our park activities including a giant inflatable jumping pillow, an indoor children's games room, including a toddler play area and movie area, outdoor playground and lovely maintained grounds. Pets are welcome on our caravan and camping sites. We are the perfect location to explore the local area, from the Bay of Fires to St Columba Falls. Don't miss unique attractions such as the Pub in the Paddock and Pyengana Dairy. BIG4 St Helens a truly welcoming park for families and grey nomads alike, come and visit us soon!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Bicycle rental
Game room
Books, DVDs, music for children
Indoor play area for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Fishing
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
450Reviews0Q+A53Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 275
  • 106
  • 26
  • 14
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Roscoe R wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Tassie is as close to lockdown as you’d want, activity attractions shut, free-camps chained up and all tourists told to leave by the Premier
Full of admiration for the owners and staff of this park who have not only been totally willing to help us tourers, but have given us a discounted rate of $25 per night, power, water and amenities that are spotless. So here we sit for 5 days awaiting our time to board the Spirit of Tasmania.
This park is beautifully set out and detention here is no hardship.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from kartarrow33, Manager at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Responded 1 Apr 2020
roscoer2018 Thank you for your lovely review. It is definitely trying times for everyone at the moment & we are very happy that we able to help make the remainder of your stay in St Helens a little easier.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex U wrote a review Mar 2020
Canberra, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A great caravan park with heaps of space and heaps to do for the kids. We were lucky enough to secure the last powered spot available for a Saturday night which was directly next to the toilet block and jumping pillow but it was fine. Still very quiet and enough privacy. There is heaps for the kids with the jumping pillow, a park and an indoor games room. The games room also became a cinema at night. We didn’t eat here but saw they offered pancakes on Sunday mornings for a gold coin donation and have a pizza oven available for use. Very nice maintained grounds and decent showers and toilets too. There was also dump points for our caravan waste. It’s just out of the main part of town but you can still see the water and it’s only a short stroll away. It was our favorite caravan park of our trip on the east coast!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BIG4StHelens, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Thanks alexu2013, our team really appreciate your great feedback and love that we were your favourite caravan park. We wish you happy and safe onward travels and hope to welcome you back again one day in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dee333 wrote a review Aug 2020
Caloundra, Australia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have visited this holiday park twice since our arrival in Tassie in March 2020. Our earlier stay was a short break in one of the parks well appointed cabins and (as we enjoyed the park and area so much), we visited again in our RV for a longer period. This holiday park is very well maintained with excellent facilities and is located within an easy walk to the village centre. The camp kitchen is the best we have encountered in our travels, offering both an indoor fireplace and outdoor fire pit. There’s a wood fired pizza oven for guests to use and ‘make your own’ pizza packs are available for purchase from reception. The park is also located close to the local Mountain Bike Trails and provides bunk style accommodation for these travellers. There’s so much more in offer in this park, free shuttle bus into the wharf/ village, regular Friday night Happy Hours and Sunday morning pancake breakfasts. It’s clear the owners and staff take a lot of pride in their park, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it as a base to explore the beautiful NE coast of Tassie.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Velcrodots wrote a review Mar 2020
Hobart, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
A lot of the unpowered camping spots are in gravel, close to a road, on a hill and are far from amenities. No shelter from wind either, which is a consideration for those in tents.
The MTB toilets and showers were circled on our map by staff on arrival but all the doors locked so I think maybe they are only open to people staying in the bunks? It was hard to know.
The park seemed nice enough, kids were enjoying themselves and the pizza packs looked good.
I would say this park is best suited to caravans and camper vans.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BIG4StHelens, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Thanks for taking the time to share your valued feedback with us velcrodots. To clarify for next time, we circle the indoor & outdoor camp kitchen areas which is where the Bunkhouse amenities are. The toilets in the camp kitchen are are open to everyone but the locked ensuites are just for the Bunkhouse guests. We do take a lot of pride in our lovely park and do have a lot family friendly facilities. We do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back again sometime soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Semjack wrote a review Apr 2021
Adelaide, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights in an unpowered site in a campervan. Each time we went out for the day we came back with someone else set up in our site - this was even with us leaving our belongings on the site.

Whilst travelling around Tasmania we stayed at other caravan parks in an unpowered site and we were always given an allocated site so you could go out during the day without having to leave anything to mark your spot.

We could understand if we were staying at a free caravan site however Big4 charge for these unpowered sites which are in a big vacant spot at the back of their property. If you are going to charge the same as other caravan parks then you need to have a system in place for these sites. They did have a person directing you however he was the one that then put someone else in our site.

On the positive side the bbq, kitchen and outdoor fire pit were great.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Robinson, General Manager at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Responded 16 Apr 2021
Thank you for your response Semjack. Our unpowered camp grounds are a big open area and people are not allocated a site as there are no numbered sites in this area. At busy times, it is "first in best option" as you will not aways be able to pick your spot. We do advise that people leave a seat or table or something to mark their spot if they are travelling in a motor home, RV or van, so that their spot is not taken once they go out for a day trip. The prices for this area of camping are indicative for this region and can not be compared to smaller coastal areas that don't support the infrastructure that the St Helens township provides, hence, the price covers facilities in the park which are used by all campers. Free camping can not be compared to unpowered camping in a "Holiday Park" which provides, hot showers, clean toilets, power and gas in the camp kitchen areas, free wood for the open fire pit in the communal area an open reception and grounds maintenance which all help contribute to an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your feed back and take it on board as any suggestions for improvement are helpful. We also advise that pre booking for busy times is essential if you want to secure your own personal powered site as the unpowered camp grounds option is usually the last to book out. Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen E wrote a review Jan 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Of the sites we stayed in, this was the most expensive and the worst. We were on an unpowered site for 1 night - we just needed the bathrooms. The camp was very busy and there are limited showers (I think there are more washing machines than female showers). By the morning - 2 of the toilets weren’t working. Not worth the money. Maybe if you have children, the other facilities make this campsite attractive.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BIG4StHelens, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Responded 21 Jan 2020
We are sorry to see that your stay did not meet with your expectations. As your stay was during our busiest time of the year we do expect for our park to have a busy feeling and are sorry you did not enjoy this time as many of our Christmas and New Year guests do. We always to our best to provide our guests with adequate and fully functioning facilities and are sorry that 2 of our toilets were briefly out-of-order. Our team are available at the office and around the park during the day and via the after-hours number provided at night and always appreciate the opportunity to rectify any situation that concerns you. We are sad you were unable to enjoy any of our onsite activities or facilities during your stay, but hope that you had a safe and enjoyable onward journey.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FamilyGuy-Gal wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We splurged on a Luxury Cabin (# 23). Cabin was comfortable & what you would expect, when paying over $250 a night. Rest of experience was disappointing.

Problem was the Big4 Perk of WiFi. It's not a 3rd world issue but given today's day and age, reliable internet is expected. Couldn't even sit on our balcony & get WiFi. Best was 1 Mbps. Arriving late Wed 08/1 we went to office Thurs & Fri 2-3 times complaining about WiFi. On first complaint they advised, Booster near our cabin was down, but they would call IT guy. Up to us to follow up each time on progress

Very frustrating! Made worse by fact if I walked to the play centre (cheaper cabins/camp area), I would get readings of 39-70 Mbps, where I sat outside to do my Internet stuff. On going to office again late Fri, the young lady implied she would speak to Mngt about price discount on our stay. Great! but as I was checking out Sat we could fix up then. Well on check out, I was advised "STRICTLY NO PRICE DISCOUNTS", and no follow up with Mngt had been done. So why was I told this was a possibility? Bad luck/timing? Yes it was, but really when we paid over $750 for a 3 night stay, Big 4 had chance to do right by the customer, yet chose not to. Poor form! I strongly advise the Luxury cabins are not worth it, for an "overall" good experience.

Why also when you search for Big 4 parks with a basketball ring, that St Helens comes up? They do not have a basketball ring, so unfortunately our teenage boys missed out here. Fail.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Luxury cabins not worth the cost. Stay closer in centre of park for better WiFi.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BIG4StHelens, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Responded 29 Jan 2020
We are always disappointed when our valued guests leave with a less than positive experience, so first and foremost we sincerely apologise that this is how you felt. While we are glad you enjoyed your Valley View cabin, we will be following up with our team to discuss your feedback further, including a investigation into the Wi-Fi speeds and how we can improve upon this free service. We will also be addressing the communication from our team, which we were also sorry to learn, was lacking on this occasion. With regards to the basketball ring, we have contacted BIG4 and they have now removed our park from this list with apologies for the disappointment caused.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard R wrote a review Jan 2021
Brisbane, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our booking was for a twin room with a private bathroom and we had to pay in full in advance. The photo on the internet showed two freestanding King Single beds. At ~$115/night in rural Australia we reasonably expected a motel style room. What was provided was a tiny bunk room with two fixed bunk beds, a shared bathroom ~30 metres away across the garden and no facilities. The walls were so paper thin that you could hear everything being said and done in the adjoining rooms and vice versa.

When we explained that the accommodation was not as booked they said that it was as described and if it wasn't then that was not their problem. We didn't stay and they have refused to provide a refund.

I would strongly caution anyone against booking at this place as they permit their accommodation to be misrepresented and have no interest in the requirements of their customers.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Robinson, General Manager at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Responded 19 Jan 2021
Thank you for your feedback. The photos you refer to show 2 fixed (not freestanding) King single beds with storage drawers, wardrobes, dressing table area plus TV & reverse-cycle airconditioning. The style & price point of our bunkhouses suits many travellers & provides ensuite amenities, parking, a communal firepit & 2 camp kitchens in close proximity. For $115 per night in regional not "rural" Australia, it is clear that your inflated expectations were not met. Basic economics indicates that it would be rare that an operator could afford to offer a fully self-contained room at $115 per night, especially during peak periods. Your accommodation was as described & advertised but if you had any concerns you could have contacted us directly to clarify what you had booked. I would strongly caution anyone against making assumptions about what they have booked particularly if they take no responsibility for checking directly with the accommodation provider, and then blame the provider for "misrepresentation"!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fred W wrote a review Mar 2020
Adelaide, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very clean park with excellent facilities. Friendly staff. A bus was available to take us to local restaurant and then came to pick us up when we were ready. They also provided a drinks voucher for that specific restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from kartarrow33, Manager at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Responded 1 Apr 2020
FredW1241 we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the shuttle to & from The Wharf Bar & Kitchen. A free drink always goes down well. Hope to see you gain when you are next this way. 😍
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Georgie wrote a review Mar 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Camped one night on a powered site in our tent. The site ground was covered in Astro Turf which made for a comfortable sleep. Even though our site was adjacent to a public road on the edge of the holiday park, we slept soundly without any noise from traffic or neighbours. Camp toilets were well maintained and clean. Camp kitchen looked good though we didn’t need to use it.

Booked last minute via phone - the woman who answered the phone was warm, helpful and answered all my questions patiently.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Robinson, General Manager at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Responded 16 Apr 2021
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased that our new astro turf sites are working out well for people to stay on. The people who clean our service areas in the park, work really hard and take pride in their work, so it is really wonderful to read what you have written. We hope you stay again some time : )
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Anna C wrote a tip July 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Open plan family cabins are VERY small and best suited to a maximum of 4 people. "
Read full review
Barry C wrote a tip Apr 2023
Perth, Australia79 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Large park and plenty of sites."
Read full review
jetsetterjj wrote a tip Oct 2022
New York28 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early - you don't want to miss this great spot in the Bay of Fires area!"
Read full review
Ian R wrote a tip Mar 2022
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you book ahead as it is very well known"
Read full review
tt_cc wrote a tip Jan 2022
Sydney34 contributions43 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid booking the shipping container family budget rooms"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St Helens area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$105 - AU$115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaBreak O'DaySt Helens
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BIG4 ST HELENS HOLIDAY PARK (AU$105): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Campground - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Mainly Maritime Museum (Warship & Marine Corps Museum) (1.1 km), St Helens War Memorial (1.1 km), and Mainly Maritime (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Furneaux Restaurant & Comptoir, Skippers Fish Shop, and St Helens Bakery.
Are pets allowed at BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All St Helens HotelsSt Helens Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St HelensHotels near BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars