We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scamander Beach Hotel Motel

Orbitz.comUSD 79*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 79*
USD 79*
USD 79*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 133: English reviews
Start your review of Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Plenty of parking. Standard motel layout. The rooms are nice size. Comfortable bed. Decor is very 70s which I found to be quirky but others will see as dated. No wifi which is hard to imagine these days. Superb location just across from the beach. On the main road up the east coast but it's not noisy at night. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2muchmusic
Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

One star for the poor but attentive restaurant staff who have to deal with complaints about the food coming out of the kitchen. Firstly there is no service, no table water, no menu bought to you. Friendly greeting pointed in direction of the menu and invited to take a seat and oder at bar when ready. No excuse for lack...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mmia47
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Once and still, a very large motel with rooms giving ocean views to the East, rooms tired and at first glance we thought it was a bit of a lemon - but it grew on us and we had a very comfortable stay. No WiFi tho. Good restaurant with club style meals but ok. Given it's size it would cost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sonofhector
Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Reviews prewarned us that this hotel was clean but tired. They are in the process of modernising the Hotel and we took a refurbished room ( at additional cost). It was tastefully done with everything fresh and modern including new bedding. Bathroom was upgraded and had a great shower. It was limited to a small shower cubicle by the old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn L
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We were on the way to Hobart.And it was almost night,so need to rest before we continue.We already check other hotels but this one was most suit for us.So There was not so many staff work in here.We were surprised to meet the same person in 3 different venue.In the reception,in the room (to bring us the extra bed) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nenycute
sbrh, Owner at Scamander Beach Hotel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your post. Pleased you had an enjoyable stay on your way to Hobart.

Hamilton, Australia
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I wouldn't say it would be my first choice again. Got a budget room,so what that means we don't get clean bathrooms. I could see dirt on the grout in the shower, cant say I have seen many shower curtains in motels in this day and age, don't want to see again either. A room where you have to go...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 384jack
Blackheath
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

A disappointing venue with mixed conditions. While the public venues on the ground floor are fine, it was a different situation on the top floor where we were located. While clean, our room clearly needed maintenance, as did the corridor. Dissapointingly at breakfast we were entertained by a staff member vacuuming the breakfast area. No wifi is available on site...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank johnkeithpettit
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Hotel in a great location, the room was clean and had everything we needed and the staff were good. In need of renovation, but it's a work in progress and some rooms more modern. Limited places to eat in the area so we choose to eat in the hotel, big mistake, on the coast we expected fresh seafood, the fish...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Olliebar2014
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Do not stay here! As soon as we arrived in our room we knew we made a mistake. Unfortunately we had already paid. The first room on the ground floor was so old, dated and small we were shocked. The bed was too short for my 6ft 3 husband so we had to 'upgrade'. The second 'honeymoon suite' was not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leah P
sbrh, Owner at Scamander Beach Hotel Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't have a pleasant stay with us. A couple of points we'd like to raise though: * the room you were booked into is exactly the same size as all our other rooms-that type of room is sold as having a double bed and has a garden view as it is on the ground floor; *...

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Don't even think about staying here. Make the effort to drive to the next accommodation. I had 9 workers staying here (myself included) under the workers package! Meals were pathetic! Dry meat and veg! Not one happy man amongst us! Two didn't eat dinner because a filled in voucher needed to be handed over at the time of ordering the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirk P
sbrh, Owner at Scamander Beach Hotel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond. Why not mention about the many complaints that we had (and brought to your attention) whilst you were in the Bistro about the fowl language & loud noise by some of your workers? Those complaints continued from other guests after your group went to the rooms. As you have stayed here before...

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scamander
0.5 km away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
88 reviews
15.6 km away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
388 reviews
0.5 km away
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
#2 of 3 in Scamander
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
341 reviews
14.4 km away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
15.6 km away
Hillcrest Tourist Park
Hillcrest Tourist Park
#9 of 10 in St Helens
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel motel is positioned on Tasmania's mild, sunny east coast within easy access of beautiful sandy beaches. Relax on your own balcony or enjoy a swim in our pool; sit in our gardens with a good book or discover native wildlife in close-by nature reserves. Daily meals of lunch and dinner are available from our family bistro and bar. Our Ocean View and River View rooms provide spectacular panoramic views from private balconies of the ocean and Scamander River. Our garden rooms open onto a secure children's play area and gardens, ideal for relaxing while watching the children play. Off-street parking and a guest laundry are also on site. We have a well stocked bottle-shop, Keno & UBET, available in both the Beach Bistro and Sand Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scamander Beach Hotel Motel

Address: 158 - 164 Scamander Avenue, Scamander, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Scamander
Price Range: $103 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scamander Beach Hotel Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scamander Beach Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scamander Beach Hotel Scamander
Best Western Scamander
Scamander Best Western
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Scamander Beach Hotel Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have ocean views, the higher floors are better”
Jan_n_Glenn, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“pick somewhere else”
384jack, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had room 50 which was good”
B8436SPjohng, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms face the ocean.”
W9891TPkevint, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The River View rooms have been modernised and nice. Dont go the ocean view rooms. Terrible queen bed. Very dated.”
YClayton, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
USD 79* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 79
TripAdvisorUSD 79
TravelocityUSD 80
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates