We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ross Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ross Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 62: English reviews
Start your review of Ross Motel
 Click to rate
Mulwala, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was on holiday in Tassie and the forecast indicated 40mm of rain. Accommodation on the coast was $270 a night. Got on google and found the Ross Motel. What a great find. The owners wers friendly and inviting, the cottages were top notch and the rate half of the cost of a room on the coast. The rooms were beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANDREW M
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Andrew, we think we are well priced in a terrific historic town but it is really nice to be appreciated. Enjoy the rest of your holiday. Kind regards Peter and Helen

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Uncomplicated and straight forward. This is a motel and a good one as well. Clean rooms, all the basics you will need. Friendly staff. I will recommend this motel for an overnight or two without hesitating!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glam B
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time in your holiday to comment on our motel. Travel well, Peter and Helen

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I had an overnight stay at the Ross Motel. Helen and Peter were so welcoming and so helpful with things to see and do in Ross. Our room was so clean, roomy, comfortable and quiet. We will be telling family and friends about this great motel. Thank you for a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snowowl110
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

We enjoyed having you both and are pleased you found Ross interesting as we do. Hope the remaining holiday was enjoyable.

Mudgee, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely spot to spend a few restful days soaking up the atmosphere of this beautiful, quaint little village and surrounding countryside. The motel was superb ... plenty of room, easy access and pleasant location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

It was nice to have you visit and we appreciate your taking the time to comment. We hope your visit in Tasmania was memorable.

Jervis Bay, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The owners are most welcoming and helpful. Our room was immaculately clean with all the facilities we could hope for. We were traveling from Launceston to Hobart and found this the ideal motel to base yourself and explore the lovely village of Ross.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank flathead1950
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Nice to have had you stay and hope to see you both again. We are pleased that you enjoyed our village. Kind regards Helen & Peter

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The check in was very quick and friendly. We had booked a 2 bedroom unit. It was spacious. Good white fluffy towels and toileteries were a relief after the lack of it in other stays in Tasmania. We stayed only for a single night unfortunately. Breakfast was included.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vnjyr
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we hope had time to see the village of Ross. Best wishes for 2017.

Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We used Ross as a stopover point travelling up from Hobart to Launceston and decided to book into the Ross Motel. Ross is a tiny town with a bit of heritage to it. Firstly, the motel was well signed and easy to find. We booked for myself and my wife, her parents and brother. We stayed in apartments 6 (a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QLDpom
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Only too happy to help. Nice to have you and your family stay and great to have our efforts noted and appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to comment and all the very best for 2017. Kind regards Peter and Helen.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 January 2017

We stayed overnight on the way from Hobart to Launceston. Such a delightful village, it was the highlight of our holiday. The motel is clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. It is well located and everything in town is within walking distance. Car parking in front of motel rooms for convenience. Would definitely recommend the Ross Motel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianalloyd6
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

We enjoyed having you both and are pleased you found Ross interesting as we do. The town does have some great history. Travel well and we hope all of your holiday is memorable. Kind regards Peter and Helen.

Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

When we entered this detached 2 bedroom apartment we felt a delicious wave of nostalgia. Scrupulously clean and perfectly maintained with pride this motel sits well within the atmosphere of this delightful town. Very clever layout provides great space for a family of 4. Single beds in the second bedroom as well as their own TV were welcomed by my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heather4660
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

It is terrific that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay in our motel and Ross. Thank you for taking the time to comment. We hope your holiday has been memorable.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 January 2017

A very comfortable and clean motel in a great location. You can walk to the town and pub for a meal. Tiny TV set with poor reception but otherwise it was fine. Helpful and friendly desk staff. He recommended a couple of places to eat as well as gave me useful info on roads.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolina G
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the town of Ross. If you could give us a call and let us know which room you had so we can test the TV as we have not had any complaints regarding poor reception. Thank you for taking the time to comment.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ross
0.1 km away
Man O' Ross Hotel
Man O' Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ross
75 reviews
0.4 km away
Colonial Cottages of Ross
11.9 km away
Ivy on Glenelg
Ivy on Glenelg
#1 of 5 in Campbell Town
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 km away
Lake Leake Inn
Lake Leake Inn
#2 of 5 in Campbell Town
42 reviews
0.0 km away
Somercotes
Somercotes
#3 of 3 in Ross
9 reviews
31.8 km away
Oatlands Retreat
Oatlands Retreat
#2 of 3 in Oatlands
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 2005, deluxe 4 star riverfront Georgian style motel. All non-smoking ground floor rooms which are regularly upgraded. Walk to all the facilities in the historic village of Ross, Tasmania which includes Ross Riverside Antiques which regularly imports antiques from the UK. Continental breakfast provisions, Austar (cable TV) included in the room rate together with WIFI internet. All rooms have heating, ceiling fans, electric blankets, en-suite bathrooms with walk-in showers, microwave, fridge, electric kettle, crockery & cutlery. Car parking outside door and Guest laundry available. Ross is centrally located 1 hour from Launceston, 1 1/2 hrs from Hobart, 1 hr from East Coast and a great place to base yourself if touring Tasmania - you always come back to a comfortable bed. Walking distance to the famous Ross Bridge (1836) and other historic attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ross Motel

Address: 2 High St, Ross, Tasmania 7209, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Ross
Price Range: $114 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ross Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ross Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ross Motel Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ross Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all ground level rooms with lovely gardens.”
 of 5 bubbles rscrepis, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I can image that all rooms would be good.”
 of 5 bubbles 613keithj, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed great”
 of 5 bubbles gkwylie, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles Hall_10, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms would be excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 901kathleen, 17 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5