We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fox and Hounds Inn

Expedia.comUSD 83*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 117*
USD 83*
USD 117*
USD 83*
USD 117*
USD 83*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The Fox and Hounds Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 298: English reviews
Start your review of The Fox and Hounds Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After 10 days travelling around Tassie we booked 3 rooms here on the recommendations of friends stay over a year ago. The best thing about our rooms were the water views. The reverse cycle airconditioners didn't work so we had a small wall heater as the only heat source in each room. The walls were paper thin and we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sushiwhiskers
Anne R, Manager at The Fox and Hounds Inn, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for your comments. The air-conditioners will be a great asset to the property and are presently being installed. It is a shame you didn't enjoy your meal but it is best to bring this to the attention of the restaurant staff at the time so that it can be rectified. We had two screens running with...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'll start by listing the positive points; clean and spacious room, good location as it is near Port Arthur Historic Site and price fairly relative to what you receive. The service at reception is average; not rude but not overly friendly, I got the distinct impression that we were a slight inconvenience. The entire complex could do with a renovation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JetSetPhotoTours
Anne R, Manager at The Fox and Hounds Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to do a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your room and hope you also enjoyed the beautiful oceanfront views. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your meal. It is usually best to have any problems sorted at the time the meal is served as there is not a lot I can...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed in room 6. had cobwebs and spiders. wife hated it. the view looked beautiful. we paid $200 but it is a $50 motel. maybe the other rooms might have been better but definitely not the one we were in. The restaurant had good food and friendly service..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
Anne R, Manager at The Fox and Hounds Inn, responded to this review

Good Morning Ben. Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you could enjoy the spectacular view and were looked after by our restaurant staff. We apologise for any spiders in the room and will ensure our housekeepers are vigilant in their cleaning regime. Just a small correction on the rate. As advertised across all our websites the...

Greater Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms were quite spacious and beds comfortable. Basic facilities - coffee making, toaster etc. Toilet and shower were in same room but handbasin was located in the small kitchenette across the other side of the front entrance. Most unusual. Parking right outside our front door and not far to main restaurant and reception. Very nice welcome on arrival. Apart from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
Anne R, Manager at The Fox and Hounds Inn, responded to this review

Hi Maureen Thank you for your honest review. We are pleased you enjoyed the beautiful location and we are certainly working on updating the property to make it even more comfortable.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent 2 nights here and it was comfortable enough - nothing too flash and could do with a wee spruce up. Staff friendly. Plenty of parking on site and some pleasant views from the room we had. Close to Port Arthur site a the few shops nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sonofhector
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I are here for our anniversary weekend and expected to indulge in foodie heaven because we are in Tasmania after all. Totally disappointed with this place. My husband ordered a chicken & mushroom pie that came out like an over cooked eggy frittata so he sent it back. In typical Australian hospitality fashion was told that's how...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tinambennett
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Very good restaurant with a great variety of different and yummy . All we ordered were delicious. The staff is very friendly and the atmosphere is cozy and familiar. We travel with kids and they also have kids menu. Regarding the price it is in the middle range and in my opinion it is worth what you are paying in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank areqdom
Anne R, Manager at The Fox and Hounds Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We appreciate getting a realistic review. The staff work hard to ensure all the guests have an enjoyable stay.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We stopped for lunch after our visit to Port Arthur. They were very accommodating and adjusted their meals to suit our dietary requirement. We had a lovely lunch at a reasonable price. They have free wifi as well which was great as we had no mobile service while in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laz007
Anne R, Manager at The Fox and Hounds Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your positive comments. So pleased you enjoyed your lunch.

Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Nice pub. The outside is Tudor style, unfortunately inside not so well decorated, but the atmosphere was warm and the beer was cold! There is a pub menu and and upstairs restaurant so everyone should be happy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
Anne R, Manager at The Fox and Hounds Inn, responded to this review

Not sure how to respond to this as the whole pub is decorated Tudor Style. But pleased you enjoyed a cold beer.

Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

This was an extremely comfortable and inviting place to stay. The facilities were clean and what we needed. The staff were just amazing and made you feel like you were dining at their family home for dinner. Even lit the fire in the restaurant!!! It was a great place to stay and would certainly recommend!!! Thanks so much - Danny...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennyfer R
Anne R, Manager at The Fox and Hounds Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much Danny and Jen. All the staff appreciate such great feedback. Come again soon.

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Arthur
1.6 km away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
564 reviews
2.4 km away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
353 reviews
14.3 km away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Port Arthur Villas
Port Arthur Villas
#2 of 5 in Port Arthur
236 reviews
1.2 km away
Port Arthur Holiday Park
Port Arthur Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Port Arthur
390 reviews
5.3 km away
Sea Change Safety Cove
Sea Change Safety Cove
#1 of 1 in Port Arthur
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fox & Hounds Inn is an Olde English Tudor style hotel situated only 2km from Port Arthur. We have both motel style and two bedroom self contained villa accommodation separate from the main hotel. Landscaped gardens, water views, tennis court, children's playground, native wildlife, private jetty, restaurant, bar and bottle shop make this the ideal place to stay when visiting the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fox and Hounds Inn

Address: 6789 Arthur Hwy, Port Arthur, Tasmania 7182, Australia (Formerly Chancellor Inn)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Port Arthur
Price Range: $99 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fox and Hounds Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fox and Hounds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox And Hounds Hotel Port Arthur
The Fox And Hounds Inn Port Arthur, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fox and Hounds Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“make sure you know the room you are going to stay in,.”
benr0, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Single storey with parking outside front door.”
  • This was the idyllic view from our bedroom. Very peaceful and quiet.
52maureenh, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 22 - best view, quiet and cosy”
  • Room 22, very cosy, with a view
  • Good exploring 1 minute from the room
GeoffreyMcGiraffe, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Find another property”
MurrayN17, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the deck, kangaroos clattering around all night”
catherineaC5698RV, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 83* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 83
Orbitz.comUSD 83
CancelonUSD 117
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates