We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Woodbridge on the Derwent

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Woodbridge on the Derwent
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
Start your review of Woodbridge on the Derwent
 Click to rate
Reviewed 28 March 2017

1825 renovated mansion, only eight rooms, on the river, with all rooms enjoying a view. Stayed three nights for my 60th birthday and it was a truly wonderful few days, Tim looked after us magnificently and even organised the local Platypus to gambol in the river below us as we breakfasted. Lucky to have had the place to ourselves for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

Dear Paul G If only we could get the platypus to perform on cue! Unfortunately they are not on the payroll, so are not as reliable as our wonderful staff. I will pass on your comments to Tim, Chefs Celia and Michelle, and I also the lovely Alona - 'spoiling you rotten' is our aim. Delighted that you enjoyed your...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We stayed at Woodbrige for one night as we had been in Hobart for 4 days since this was our 40th Anniversary,it was the highlight of the trip but to our disapointment was not up to expectation the breakfast was very poor considereing we had come from a B.B in Hobart that was outstanding no bathroom amenities ,the history of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ciantar2017
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

Dear ciantar2017 We are delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful location and the lovely views from your room as well as Woodbridge's amazing history. We were also delighted to read your glowing comment in our Guest Book which says how much you had enjoyed your stay. We were therefore surprised to read this review and your email of complaint yesterday....

Paris, France
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Woodbridge for a couple of nights around New Year's Eve. The hotel is very welcoming per se with a wonderful garden and an incredible staff, very kind and accomodating. However given the price you pay you expect more. This both in terms of room quality (a refurbishment is required), cleanliness (spidernets outside the windows and dust)...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ele A
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

Thank you, Ele A for you kind words, and we will pass on your compliments to our 'incredible' staff. It is that personal care and attention that makes a place special, don't you agree? I understand that you slept in and missed breakfast, and that a small platter was prepared and sent to your room. We are glad that you...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Well, what can I say about our experience at Woodbridge...? Delightful? Magical? Warm and inviting? Each year my son (13) and I go on a Mother/son trip and this year we decided that Woodbridge would be our base. We were so delighted with our choice. The mansion itself is beautiful. Our room, lovely. Location, perfect. But what made our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kymberlie D
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

Dear Kymberlie D We are delighted that you both had such a wonderful time at Woodbridge, and we all very much enjoyed watching mother and son having such fun together, from wooden puzzles in the Ballroom (thank you for road testing the new ones for us) to bocce beside the river and the final big plunge! My only regret is...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 December 2016

The staff were very nice and welcoming and the room was clean. I was disappointed because I had booked there based on their website, which is very misleading.The photo they don't show you is that of the busy bridge just 1/2 block west of the property. You can walk out of the property to the east for about 1/2 kilometer...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gs396
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

Thank you, gs396, for taking the time to review our 'Lovely' hotel and our welcoming staff. How disappointing that you did not have a full picture of what you were booking. Thank you for the opportunity to address several matters: - Your room is described on the website as opening onto the 'garden terrace overlooking the river'. As several web...

Healesville, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Woodbridge on the Derwent was a wonderful experience, from the moment we booked we were made to feel extremely welcome . We were greeted warmly by Laurelle and Tim with a welcoming drink in the Pavilion and then settled in our wonderful spacious room. The Derwent River flowed quietly past our double glazed windows creating a great sense of quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaye H
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, Gaye H. We are delighted that you enjoyed Woodbridge so much. You know, it gives us all great pleasure to see our guests enjoying Woodbridge's very special and unique character: sipping wine in front of the fire in The Ballroom, deciphering the 'secret messages' in the art works, absorbed reading the history in the...

Reviewed 30 May 2016

With great expectations we booked The Woodbridge on the Derwent for our honeymoon. We were thrilled. From the warm welcome of our Hosts John and Laurelle, the quietly unstated charm and elegance of the Mansion and friendly, warm staff who cared for us. We enjoyed our evenings in their beautiful dining room. Delighting in a personalised menu devised and cuisine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lachimea
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

We will definitely look forward to those visits, Lachimea, many of which we hope will be to celebrate lots of anniversaries to come. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay - Woodbridge does have a way of embracing its guests, doesn't it? Thank you for the great feedback. We will pass on your kind words to Chef and to...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 29 May 2016

We travelled to Tassie for a cool Autumn escape and found Woodbridge and New Norfolk. We spent a wonderful four nights in the Academy Queen Room. Breakfast and dinner were always a treat and the hosts were friendly and helpful. The rooms are well appointed in this grand old building from the early 1800s. There are many common rooms with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zzrbell
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

We are delighted that breakfasts and dinners were always 'a treat', zzrbell - I will pass on your comments to chef Celia and our wait staff, and especially our young 'staff in training' who were on during your stay. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again on your many trips to Tassie...

Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

Mum and I stayed a week at Woodbridge and had a glorious time. Staying at Woodbridge makes you feel like royalty. Every need was catered for, the food was amazing and the house is impeccably maintained and furnished. John was a gracious and relaxed host, allowing us to feel like visitors at a friend's house. The little touches like snacks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Naomi H
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Naomi H. I think that an extended stay such as that enjoyed by your mother and yourself, is the best way to make the most of Woodbridge. It enables one to settle in and feel 'at home', and it allows plenty of time for sight-seeing and participating in the many activities on offer nearby, while...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

We went into the hotel and loved from that minute . Met by John with a great cup of yes in gorgeous tea cups which I want ! The house is really gorgeous with room after room of interesting History and great art . Loved the Molten Brown toiletries and stunning bed linen . Being able to have dinner in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary Paula W
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

I am so glad that you loved those tea cups that I purchased in Sri Lanka, Mary Paula W, but no doubt you also recognised the flaw in the design, in that the teaspoon does not sit happily on the saucer - one of the few times that I let my heart rule my head, as I am usually pedantic...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Norfolk
25.4 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
24.6 km away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#3 of 47 in Hobart
428 reviews
17.1 km away
Mona Pavilions
Mona Pavilions
#1 of 1 in Berriedale
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 km away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
370 reviews
25.2 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 km away
Rosie's Inn
Rosie's Inn
#2 of 12 in New Norfolk
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Woodbridge on the Derwent is a spectacular Heritage listed Small Luxury Hotel, on the banks of the Derwent River. Woodbridge has only nine luxury suites and rooms, and a maximum of 18 guests. Amenities include the Reading Boom, the Ballroom, riverfront Pavilion, sauna, hot-tub, complimentary bicycles and kayaks.The valley and the river provide walks, cycling, kayaking,fly fishing, wineries, cooking schools. Woodbridge offers personalised service, wonderful food and wine, and rich and luxurious rest and relaxation in one of Australia's oldest Grand Homes. Woodbridge is the only Five Star hotel in Tasmania ... more   less 

Additional Information about Woodbridge on the Derwent

Address: 6 Bridge St | New Norfolk, Hobart, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Price Range: $471 - $653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Woodbridge on the Derwent 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Woodbridge on the Derwent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbridge On The Derwent New Norfolk, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Woodbridge on the Derwent staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Woodbridge on the Derwent staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“make sure you book the breakfast and dinner package, Woodbridge provide a small dinner or an option of 4 courses. Both are brilliant.”
D9905WHpaulg, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Very Disappointed!!!!”
ciantar2017, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The 3 bridges suite is the furthest from the road and offers the quietest experience”
MissTassie, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are good”
906rowanr, 12 Mar 2015 | Read review
“This hotel has only eight rooms, all are good.”
evastinag, 23 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Agoda.com
* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates