We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Woolmers Estate

658 Woolmers Lane, Longford, Tasmania 7301, Australia
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Woolmers Estate
    0.7 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviewed 5 days ago
Coachman's Cottage
Our family stayed at the Coachman's Cottage at Woolmers Estate... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 61: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our family stayed at the Coachman's Cottage at Woolmers Estate for 3 nights and we have mixed reviews. This was built in 1847 so you need to be aware of that before you stay, don't be thinking luxury, modern facilities. We had 3 large bedrooms up steep, creaky stairs where 6 could sleep. Downstairs was a huge kitchen, toilet, bath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 71Kellie
Woolmers E, Front Office Manager at Woolmers Estate, responded to this review

I appreciate your comments and we will continue to work hard to maintain the buildings upkeep. Some young people appreciate old Heritage buildings but as you are aware not all young people are the same. Even though your daughter wasn't that keen at least she has had the experience. Thank you for staying with us and glad you gave us...

Ulverstone, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We drove here especially to see the rose garden as it is the National rose garden and the estate is a world heritage listed site. I could not have been more disappointed. The gardens were in a shocking state, full of weeds, dead plants and roses that hadn't had a good prune for a few years. Having visited rose gardens...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
South West Rocks, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having lived at Coachmans 23 years ago and raising my sons (Single dad) there up till 1994 I had decided to book Woolmers as a treat for my boys and as a surprise for my youngest sons (birthday 24th Dec) My idea was to have quality time with my wife (of 8 years) for the first 2 days and to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AussieDaveDavis
Woolmers E, General Manager at Woolmers Estate, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are sorry to hear your recent visit to Woolmers Estate did not meet your expectations. We have an onsite Caretaker, with a dedicated telephone number, to attend to such issues promptly when they arise. The phone number is in the compendium located in each self-contained cottage. You have been contacted directly by the General Manager and your...

Russell, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 November 2016

You simply must take the guided house tour as the grounds and gardens are so unloved and uncared for...they are such a disappointment, esp. The poor condition of the roses in the heritage garden and this is NOV. when they should look amazing! The house however, is another storey altogether...much loved and so authentic. Our guide was just so knowledgeable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hopeave
Woolmers E, Front Office Manager at Woolmers Estate, responded to this review

Its nice to hear you enjoyed your guided house tour of the main house and disappointed you didn't enjoy the gardens. Unfortunately we have had so much rain through winter and spring. All the rain has affected the blooming of the roses this year. The gardens are very much loved by one particular volunteer. Through lots of hard work and...

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Norma was our very informative guide for the homestead and even on a cold wet day we had a delightful time and learnt a lot about the history behind Woolmers Estate. The homestead is full of amazing furniture and everyday items and hearing the history behind various pieces and the story of the 6 generations of the family was fabulous....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madmeg2016
Woolmers E, Front Office Manager at Woolmers Estate, responded to this review

We are very lucky to have such passionate and very well trained guides here at Woolmers. The guides spend countless hours researching the history of the Family, the homestead and of the Estate. We are so glad you appreciate the rich history we have here at Woolmers and happy you enjoyed your visit. Maybe you could come and stay with...

Reviewed 23 August 2016

The best place to stay near Launceston! We stayed at Coppers cottage and it is such a beautiful cottage. Almost 200 years old estate and very well maintained. An experience indeed! There is so much history associated with this place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Srinivas R
Woolmers E, Front Office Manager at Woolmers Estate, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in "Coopers" cottage. The history at Woolmers is one of the most historically significant heritage properties in Australia so we do try to keep it maintained for all to enjoy. Thank you for your wonderful review.

Kendall, Australia
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

We were surprised by how well preserved this place is.We had a guided tour of the main house with a very knowledgeable lady.The out buildings we did on our own with a map provided.This is without a doubt the best existing example of what life would have been like during that era.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clive w
Woolmers E, Front Office Manager at Woolmers Estate, responded to this review

We work very hard with a small team to keep everything well preserved so this positive feedback makes it all worthwhile. Thank you for your appreciation and we value your comments. Kind regards Woolmers Reception

Cairns
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Woolmers provides an excellent opportunity for families to experience a very interesting place. We stayed in the historic Coachmans Cottage, which provides 3 ample bedrooms and all the necessary facilities for a warm and comfortable stay. The well-conducted tour of this outstanding facility was greatly enjoyed by our 8 and 9 year old grandchildren and gave them a real sense...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn R
Woolmers E, Front Office Manager at Woolmers Estate, responded to this review

It is wonderful to hear your family enjoyed your stay in "Coachmans" cottage. It is great for the children to experience heritage accommodation and learn about the past and view the convict built out-buildings. We look forward to your return visit. Kind regards Woolmers Reception

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 June 2016

We thought we were very luck in that we arrived as a tour was starting. We paid our $20.00 each (we think was for entering the entire property and not for the tour) and joined the tour party. The lady conducting the tour was very nice but she provided way too much information. The other couple in the tour looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Beautiful grounds and interesting peep into the past. Looked through the rooms which were steeped in history, still furnished and decorated with original decor. Wonderful outlook over acres of land once belonging to the estate. Great little gift shop. A stroll through the gated rose garden is a must.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abigail2567

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
20.9 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
16.3 km away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 29 in Launceston
697 reviews
3.6 km away
Brickendon Estate
Brickendon Estate
#3 of 5 in Longford
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
The Racecourse Inn
The Racecourse Inn
#1 of 5 in Longford
36 reviews
4.5 km away
Longford Boutique Accommodation
4.8 km away
Aggie's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Woolmers Estate is a World Heritage listed convict property. We have fully-self contained Heritage accommodation on site. To view the main Historical Homestead we offer guided homestead tours at special scheduled tour times. Self guided tours of the outbuildings, grounds and gardens are also on offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Woolmers Estate

Address: 658 Woolmers Lane, Longford, Tasmania 7301, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Longford
Price Range: $94 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woolmers Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Woolmers Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolmers Estate Longford, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Woolmers Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We didn't stay here, just visited for the afternoon”
 of 5 bubbles Hopeave, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Coopers cottage is beautiful!”
  • Coopers Cottage!
 of 5 bubbles srinivasr43, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask what work is going on at the site before booking a room.”
 of 5 bubbles Q55VXpaulw, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Check to see if all are 2 storey - not good for people who can't climb the staircase.”
 of 5 bubbles Evie2011, 18 Mar 2015 | Read review
“I would expect all the cottages to be equally quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles allanalderson, 4 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5