We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

King Island Breaks

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in King Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
King Island Breaks
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 70: English reviews
Start your review of King Island Breaks
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Wow .. we were delighted with our stay at Porky. A very comfortable, clean and well fitted-out home which was perfect for our coupes golf trip. Alexandra did an amazing job to ensure all our needs were taken care of - she even added to the well-stocked pantry during the course of our visit. The delicious dinner cooked at home...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank normanas
KingIslandBreaks, Manager at King Island Breaks, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Wave Retreat and Porky Beach House. May I suggest also leaving Alexandra a personal review on her "Porky Beach House" tripadvsor page as she is now managing that property independently. :)

Forth, Tasmania
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We have just returned from our first visit to King Island. We were a group of six friends (3couples) and Turnstone House suited us well. From the moment of my first contact with Ayra to the email from her checking that our trip home and stay on the island had been alright. The house was beautiful, the setting in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline7310
KingIslandBreaks, Manager at King Island Breaks, responded to this review

Thank you Pauline. :) It was a pleasure having you. I'm glad to hear you made the most of your holiday on King Island and at Turnstone Beach House. We look forward to having you back hopefully one day soon. Thank you for keeping the place wonderful and tidy. A joy for the cleaners! :)

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 30 November 2016

A group of 7 stayed two nights at Porky's Beach House. The house was able to be set up with twin beds in each bedroom. It was a perfect place to stay - large and spacious, modern, very well equiped kitchen, excellent wood stove and comfortable beds. Alexandra the host greeted us with beers and hot snacks after a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RippedOffAussie
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Three couples shared this incredible house (Turnstone) for four nights, in a mixture or windy, rainy, sunny weather. At times we just chilled out soaking up the features of the very roomy, luxurious, state of the art residence or the changing moods of Porky's Beach and other times it was a convenient base for touring to Cape Wickham, Cowper Point,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike924
Alexandra Q, General Manager at King Island Breaks, responded to this review

Thank you, so much Michael, for your review on Turnstone Beach House, King Island Breaks. It was an absolute pleasure to meet such a delightful group. It's most satisfying to hear you enjoyed all the luxuries that Turnstone offers and whether wind, rain or sunshine, this beach house covers all that you would need. I'm thrilled, you appreciated the effort...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Back in January this year we decided to take our family across to King Island to experience what my wife and I had discovered only a couple of years earlier. Something that had become our own little hidden secret. Though only a quick 45 minutes by light plane from Moorabbin airport it might as well be a thousand miles away....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
Alexandra Q, General Manager at King Island Breaks, responded to this review

Thank you, Stephen T, for the taking the time to write about your recent stay at King Island Breaks, Porky Beach House. I'm delighted with the compliments given to the wonderful views and all the little touches that make a stay so important. It makes all the effort, so pleasurable when you receive a review like this. I take great...

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Our family of 7 visited the Porky Beach House for my 50th birthday escape! On arrival Alexandra greeted us with a lovely birthday surprise and we were made welcome into our temporary 'home away from home' for six days. The beach house (wow It is some beach house:) and is far more luxurious than you can imagine from the design...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jelstone
Alexandra Q, General Manager at King Island Breaks, responded to this review

Dear Jelstone, Thank you, Jelstone, for taking the time to write about your experience and recent stay at Porky Beach House, King Island Breaks. I cannot express how wonderful it was to be able to host you on such a special occasion, your birthday. It's comments like this, that encourage me to ensure that I will never stop working hard...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

From the moment we arrived it was perfect! Alex met us as we drove in and welcomed us full of cheer. She spent time showing us around and helping plan our sightseeing for our all too brief visit of 3 days. The house was beautiful, fully supplied with everything we needed and more. Alex kindly arranged a cooked crayfish to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
Alexandra Q, General Manager at King Island Breaks, responded to this review

Thank you Veronica W, for taking the time to write such lovely comments about your stay recently at Turnstone Beach House, King Island Breaks. We had been corresponding for so long with you in London, it was most exciting to finally meet you both. I'm so thrilled you left relaxed, as it was much needed for you both. The sunsets...

Bungendore, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2016

From the moment we arrived we were overwhelmed by Alex's hospitality. We were greeted with a welcome Champagne and Beer and given a tour of the immaculate accommodation. Alex has thought of everything and has every possible appliance is in the kitchen. Us girls particularly enjoyed the Aesop hand balm in all the bathrooms. The view from the front deck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TanyaN87
Alexandra Q, General Manager at King Island Breaks, responded to this review

Dear TanyaN87, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Porky Beach House, King Island Breaks. As a small (but passionate) business, it means so much to me to hear that guests enjoy their visit as much as I enjoy hosting them (even if that means the Aesop did it!!) It would truly...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

The only negative thing I can say about staying at Porky Beach House is that the standard has now been set so high, we will be unable to stay anywhere else when we return to King Island. Alex's hospitality is amazing, her attention to detail is mind blowing and while we anticipated the quality of the amenities to be high,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngeEichler
Alexandra Q, General Manager at King Island Breaks, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write about your stay at Porky Beach House, King Island Breaks. Certainly humbling praise indeed although I am just happy that you enjoyed your visit as much as I enjoyed hosting you. I have to say when you started off with "the only negative thing" I skipped a breath :)...

Reviewed 17 September 2016

My husband and I recently were lucky enough to experience the luxury that is Porky Beach House. Being a typical mum I barely ever have time to myself;. So the few days we spent on a romantic getaway at Porky Beach House was like heaven on earth! Situated close to Currie yet secluded and private and overlooking the spectacular ocean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelbuggin4eva
Alexandra Q, General Manager at King Island Breaks, responded to this review

Dear travelbuggin4eva, Thank you for commenting on your recent visit at Porky Beach House, King Island Breaks. Certainly, I feel fortunate to meet so many amazing people, and I am so glad that your stay was a memorable one. Your comments about the property and its standing is very heartening indeed. I am passionate providing the best and about showing...

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these King Island hotels
24.5 km away
King Island Rocky Glen Retreat by the Beach
7.2 km away
Island Breeze Motel
Island Breeze Motel
#1 of 3 in Currie
62 reviews
23.1 km away
King Island's Naracoopa Accommodation Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 km away
King Island Scenic Retreat
King Island Scenic Retreat
#1 of 1 in Naracoopa
4 reviews
29.0 km away
Portside Links
Portside Links
#6 of 11 in King Island
11 reviews
23.5 km away
Baudins - King Island
Baudins - King Island
#1 of 2 in Naracoopa
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sitting directly on the beach 10 minutes from Currie, 2 stunning architecturally designed retreats. Designed with privacy in mind, these 5 star houses can cater for couples, families or a golfing/holiday group. The location of the houses, allow visitors to enjoy spectacular and remote coastal scenery. The Beach Houses are named after a King Island bird "Turnstone" and the love of the ocean "Wave". Leave with unique memories, that only these unique beach retreats can deliver. ... more   less 

Additional Information about King Island Breaks

Address: Barnes Road | Loorana, King Island, Tasmania 7256, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > King Island
Price Range: $350 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
King Island Breaks Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from King Island Breaks staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One room has an ensuite and the other two share a very large bathroom. Everything is state of the art.”
 of 5 bubbles Mike924, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed at Turnstone, but both the other properties are equally as beautiful, and located nearby.”
 of 5 bubbles veronicaw458, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best views are probably from Porky Beach House or Wave Retreat, however any of the three houses would be a fabulous choice.”
 of 5 bubbles jennym440, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“ A great place to stay if you want a bit of peace, great view, great furnishings. ”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewW416, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All are good”
 of 5 bubbles warrabillawines, 20 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5