We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Smugglers Rest

56 Station Rd, Dover, Tasmania 7117 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 motel in Dover
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Smugglers Rest is the perfect base for the Huon Valley and all of its activities. We offer spacious, clean & affordable self-contained holiday apartments overlooking the three islands, bays and pristine beaches of Dover Tasmania. Each apartment is fully equipped with kitchen and facilities, heating & electric blankets, TV & DVD player with movies, communal laundry. Bikes, fishing rods all FREE TO USE!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beach
Bicycle rental
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Wifi
Hiking
Fishing
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Seating area
Separate dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
112Reviews0Q+A28Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 77
  • 31
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Leanne M wrote a review Feb 2023
5 contributions
Absolutely fabulous accommodation. Very friendly owner who goes above and beyond to help out travellers with any questions they might have. Making phone calls where necessary to get the information. A lovely, bright airy room with a scented candle burning on our arrival. Close to the towns Wharf where there were abundant fish being caught. Comfortable and clean.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gypsy wrote a review Nov 2022
37 contributions3 helpful votes
Excellent accomodation . Very comfortable bed in quiet location with lovely views through the windows. Sparkling clean with all modern comforts . Good local supermarket and bottle shop . RSL is within walking distance and has a good varied menu . We have really enjoyed our stay .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Clare wrote a review July 2022
Hobart, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
Loved our stay. Cute little fully contained unit. Very clean with everything you need. Gorgeous views great fishing. Great location to visit Hastings caves. The hosts went to great lengths to make us feel comfortable. Close to Hastings caves, the airwalk near Geeveston and Southport. We will return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
katrina m wrote a review June 2022
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
Great 2 bedroom apartment. Very clean and comfortable. Great beds and bedding and perfect for the family. Walk across the road to the beach and short walk to shops and places to eat. Only downfall was bad wifi connection and poor lighting out the front at night.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
John M wrote a review Feb 2022
Sydney, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed 5 days at Smugglers. Our room was so clean, the beds were so comfortable, the suite was very spacious, and very well appointed - a home away from home. The owners were so friendly and obliging - we used the BBQ area, and the laundry where all your needs were met. Fabulous stay - will be back - highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Patricia1209 wrote a review Sept 2021
Perth, Australia239 contributions88 helpful votes
We booked Smugglers' Rest at the last minute after previous accommodation fell through. What a delight and total surprise. Right from our arrival, the owner was friendly and helpful. We were also given an upgrade which added to our delight. The views from our apartment were stunning, looking out across the bay. It was the perfect place to stay. It was comfortable and had all the facilities we needed. It was clean and tidy. The owner also provided us with great tips on where to eat. Am already planning on returning again! Would recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for a delightful, quiet place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: For views, ask for apartment no. 1 or 2.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
DunksDog wrote a review Jan 2021
26 contributions6 helpful votes
This was a great surprise. Whilst prebooked. Sometimes you never know. The complimentary upgrade was so beautiful. Ans all rooms overlook the bay. Stunning. Rooms are clean. Plenty of stuff to prepare on meals. We ate wood fire pizza from up the road. Used this as a base to explore the South Cape. Would recommend this for a couple or families. Excellent value.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
HonestViewsTas wrote a review Aug 2020
Hobart, Australia238 contributions54 helpful votes
Great place, great hosts. Our unit had 2 rooms. One room had a queen and the 2nd had two single beds overlooking the water. Room very comfy and clean, couldn't fault. There is a beautiful garden and BBQ area out the back, bikes to ride and close to all services within Dover. I will certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
CK wrote a review Sept 2019
Spain13 contributions
Stayed here for 2 nights in September. Enjoyed the nice and quiet surrounding and big apartment. Owner put on heater for us before we checked in. Pros: clean, quiet and big apartment. Free parking in front of house. Cons: far from the ville. Requires driving to access the place. Overall a good place to stay if you are driving in Tasmania.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine Z, Manager at Smugglers Rest
Responded 27 Sept 2019
Thank you for the kind review We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
joanneh59 wrote a review May 2019
Mackay6 contributions
We stayed in a water view room for 5 nights in late April. Chris was kind enough to put the heater on before we arrived so the room was toasty warm. The unit was immaculate and included a fridge, stove, microwave and all the necessities to cook on the nights we didn't go out. We appreciated the free laundry and DVD'S; Zac also told us about the free BBQ, bikes and fishing gear, unfortunately we didn't get time to use any. We enjoyed great meals out at the RSL & a dinner at the Post Office Restaurant was one of the best I've had. I highly recommend Dover and wouldn't stay anywhere else but Smugglers Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine Z, Manager at Smugglers Rest
Responded 29 May 2019
Thankyou for the kind review We are glad we made your stay in Dover enjoyable
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dover area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$200 - AU$231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaDover
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SMUGGLERS REST (AU$200) - 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Smugglers Rest
Which popular attractions are close to Smugglers Rest?
Nearby attractions include Duck Hole Lake Walk (7.9 km), Memorial Park And Information Bay (0.9 km), and Adamsons Falls (7.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Smugglers Rest?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Smugglers Rest?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Smugglers Rest?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Smugglers Rest?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Smugglers Rest?
Conveniently located restaurants include Post Office 6985, Dover RSL Club, and Top Shop Cafe & Seafood.
Is Smugglers Rest located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Dover.
Are any cleaning services offered at Smugglers Rest?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Is Smugglers Rest accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.