We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,051 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,971: English reviews
Gold Coast
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 2 nights Feb 13 and 14 2017. At $400 a night the lodge is a joke. Extremely tired, apart from a minor reno of the spa cabin it is 80's vintage. The food options are minimal. Fine dining is limited choices and extremely expensive, wines included. The bistro has basic food at exhorbatent prices. Food had to be returned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goldcoasterGoldCoast
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear goldcoasterGoldCoast, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our lodge. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of your dining experience that did not meet your expectations. Firstly, please allow me to apologise for your experience...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So far our stay is very disappointing. I recommend that you don't eat in the Tavern as the food is very ordinary. I had to send back my meal as it was a $25 Vegie burger which was just an undercooked processed patti! Straight from the freezer. No-one cared anyway.. They just issued a refund without any question.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachael1970
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rachael1970, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of your dining experience you were disappointed with. It is a pleasure to announce that the head chef will...

Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a great Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge. Room: Pencil Pine Cabin / Pencil Pine Cabin. But its definitely more then a cabin. Great bedroom and shower. Nice fire place. 5 Minutes from the visitors center from where they will bring you for free with a shuttle service to your walking tracks. Great service. No wifi in the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoseVanLavieren
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JoseVanLavieren, Thank you for choosing Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, our service, as well as the proximity to the visitors centre and numerous walks. Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that...

Strahan, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The service from the staff was fantastic, especially one of the ladies on reception. The meals in the restaurant were okay but not great. I feel the overall experience was not value for the money paid.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Madeline W
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Madeline W, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you found the service from our staff to be fantastic - thank you! Unfortunately, it seems that we did not meet all your expectations. We would certainly like to learn more about that. If you would like, please...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The drive up from Launceston whilst long was beautiful from a scenery point of view On arrival a Peppers we were warmly greeted by the reception staff who were friendly and efficient We had booked a King Billy Suite and everything was as it said. On the tin Room was spacious .Lovely bathroom and easy to settle into All the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Martin D, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your King Billy Suite, the food and service provided throughout your stay, and thank you for recognising the efforts of our hardworking staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincere best wishes,...

Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

For someone used to the standard offered by Peppers (even in remote locations) this is a bitter disappointment. The main points: 1. Cabin style accommodation that is really a lower grade smallish demountable. No ambience 2. Wifi is free but only operates in central building and is very slow 3. Food in Bistro is good value and served in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CactusPicante
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear CactusPicante, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the setting and excellent walks, and your bistro dining experience. I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the standard of...

england
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm going to give this a better review than a lot of previous guests. We are quite fussy travellers and have stayed in some pretty amazing, exclusive places over the years and felt some of the reviews were a bit harsh. Yes, in parts it is tired but the staff are all hard working, helpful and friendly. The food in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EnglandPorsche
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear EnglandPorsche, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday, that you enjoyed your dining experiences and the open fires and walks throughout the property. Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast - we are currently...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been visiting Cradle Mountain for over 30 years so have seen quite a few changes. The park itself remains spectacular and Peppers is an ideal base to enjoy all it has to offer. We have stayed at the hotel several times and always enjoy the atmosphere of the lodge, the short walks surrounding the hotel and the fantastic...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexmilo1972
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Alexmilo1972, Welcome back and thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had an overall great stay, and thank you for your positive mention of several of our staff. However, please accept my apologies that the service you were provided during your stay appeared to you...

Sydney
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With children we had one of the few bedroom family cabins available (two bedrooms). Good facilities and very new but no kitchen and with a gas fire which we did use - most of the other cabins it's DIY fire with the supplied wood. We went in summer (January) and I can only imagine how different it might be with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NSWPeter
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear NSWPeter, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday. Please accept my apologies that the service you were provided during your stay was inconsistent. The issues you raised have been addressed with the respective departmental managers...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not what we expected for the price. Reminiscent of a ski chalet, but this place looks like it hasn't been looked after in a while. Some aspects are great: the breakfast offers a wide selection, and the woodburner in the lodge was helpful/essential to deal with the cold nights (in summer), the spa bath in the private accommodation was big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Laura L, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our very popular breakfast buffet, and also the fireplace and spa in your cabin. Please accept my apologies in regards to the issues you have raised regarding our restaurant. Our Head Chef will certainly address this...

1,021 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (996)
Viewed
View from Room (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (186)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (251)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (407)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
2.5 km away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
911 reviews
1.1 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
667 reviews
2.2 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
406 reviews
61.3 km away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
347 reviews
64.9 km away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is a unique wilderness experience, set right on the edge of the spectacular World Heritage-listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, just 2 hours drive from Launceston and 1.25 Hours from Devonport. At Cradle Mountain, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. This superb escape showcases the best Tasmania has to offer with warm hospitality, sensational locally produced food and wine, breathtaking scenery and magnificent wilderness surrounds. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Imagine wandering through towering forests with trees older than mankind. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish - just some of the many activities on offer. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa - the perfect place to soak away tension and time. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. Road Closures: There are a number of road closures around Tasmania at the moment that are affecting accessibility to Cradle Mountain. The Kimberley bridge in between Elizabeth town and Railton on the B13 is closed until further notice as the bridge has collapsed. The C138 from Mole Creek to Gowrie Park is inaccessible as the road has been closed due to the recent flooding. The C137 however from Mole Creek through Paradise just outside of Sheffield is open and a good way to bypass around the closures. For additional information please refer to the Tas police and Kentish council websites to get the most up to date information. As mentioned, if this could be worded “Getting to Cradle Mountain” and on the first page of the website. For more information feel free to contact us on (03) 6492 2100. Drive safe and see you soon! ** Ecotourism Australia Certification - Want to help the environment while your on holidays? The ECO Certification logo means that you are guaranteed to experience a genuine and authentic tour, attraction or accommodation that looks after the environment. The ECO certification program assures you that certified products are backed by a commitment to sustainable practices and provides high quality nature-based tourism experiences. Note: Any incidentals will be charged on check-out and a 2.0% Credit card surcharge would be applied to these incidentals ** ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $280 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring your own alcohol. Hard to get elsewhere and very expensive there.”
  • The red-bellied or Tasmanian pademelon
 of 5 bubbles NSWPeter, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the place!”
 of 5 bubbles Exotraveller, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room 48 had nice views over forest”
 of 5 bubbles craigm528, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had cabin 35, very quiet and not too far away from the Lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles MichelleH762, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“It is mainly individual cabin accomodation”
 of 5 bubbles EllenC903, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5