We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 357: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great atmosphere with plots surrounded by bush making them private and adding to the wilderness atmosphere. Camp kitchen well appointed and a good place to socialise with other travellers. 2 min walk to visitor centre which was great for an early start hike into the national park before crowds arrived.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're glad that you enjoyed socialising with other guests, the location, and the endless possibilities for adventure around our park! Thank you for sharing your review, Adam.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location is great as it is very near to the Visitor Centre where we can catch the shuttle bus to commence our walks. What we love most is the heat blanket that keeps us warm during the night. Very thoughtful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're glad that you appreciated the location and the toasty heat blanket, Lee. Thank you for sharing your review.

Edinburgh
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Me and my husband stayed here one night in one of their dorm rooms (2 bunks) but had it to ourselves which was great!! A bit pricey but it included sheets and blankets and worth it for it's excellent location (and escape from the rain!) as it's almost as close as you can stay for access to the park. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieOEdinburgh
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

It's wonderful to hear that you had a pleasant stay, Julie! Thank you for your feedback.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed in a powered site. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We arrived after hours and we had clear instructions on where to locate our access code and how to locate our site. The camp kitchen is huge and clean - the best part is the open fire which made for a lovely cozy camping experience. They have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UrshNSW
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the site, our customer service, and our location. Thank you for your review and we do hope you have the opportunity to return!

Goomeri, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great base to stay..eco friendly and a wildlife sanctuary. Loved Dove lake walks ..something for every level. Quiet and basic supplies and wifi available at the store but pick up groceries in Sheffield on your way. We stayed (4adults) in a cabin which would've been more suited to a young family as the toilet and shower were right beside the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn497
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're glad that our park was a great base for your stay and that you enjoyed the surrounding walks, Robyn. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the closest place to camp (with your car) to cradle mountain. Great location and the amenities are good too. Camp kitchen with fire places is wonderful. Our site was small but very private compared to most caravan parks. Although it's expensive, it probably can't be beat for price and convenience in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

It's lovely to hear you enjoyed our location, site, and value. Thank you for taking the time to share your review, Maria.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Quite a nice little park. Love the camp kitchen but think the price per night for a powered site is a little bit expensive for what get/what we used given the only thing we really needed was the amenities.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brooke G
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with our price, but happy that you otherwise enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your feedback, Brooke.

Adelaide
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We had one night on the Wednesday 19th October in Cabin 7. We were a bit surprised at the price when we booked, but it is worth the money. The drive from Strahan was really pretty and once to the turnoff , there was soft fluffy fresh snow everywhere, magic. Into our cabin hours early (thank you), excellent cleaning, everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouthOztraveller
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're pleased to hear you had such a comfortable stay! Thank you for sharing your feedback on our facilities and location.

Ballarat, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We had planned to camp out in our tent for 4 nights at Cradle Mountain, but upon reading the forecast of snow, that quickly changed to a Superior Cabin at the Discovery Parks. Lucky for us we did so because the weather closed in and 2 inches of snow was what greeted us the next morning. Absolutely amazing and magnificent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ballarattraveller309
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're glad you were well accommodated in our cabin and enjoyed the winter wonderland. Thank you for your review!

Devonport, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I am not mad on camping but like to take my kids to National Parks so I opt to find a cabin nearby. Cradle Mtn has a whole range of accommodation from luxury to basic. We stayed in a cabin with Discovery Parks as we have done in the past, we found our standard cabin had been renovated in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel7310
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed staying in a cabin and would return. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, Rachel.

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (175)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
0.8 km away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
871 reviews
0.8 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
641 reviews
0.5 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,935 reviews
66.1 km away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
314 reviews
67.4 km away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain

Address: Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $97 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Geelong, Australia
5 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All cabins are in good locations.”
 of 5 bubbles jchbuz, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Double check room request.”
 of 5 bubbles 7557wendy, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Spa cabin great,”
 of 5 bubbles SandraH268, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a standard cabin with included bath/toilet for greater comfort”
 of 5 bubbles Muthu21, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“wombats and wallabies at your cabin door”
 of 5 bubbles mum3561, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay