We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Jones on Wilson

154 Wilson St, Burnie, Tasmania 7320 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (4)
Bathroom (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 3 B&Bs in Burnie
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Jones on Wilson is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Burnie, offering a romantic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, a kitchenette, and air conditioning, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the bed and breakfast.

Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

While in Burnie, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Jones on Wilson, including Rialto Gallery Restaurant (0.5 mi), Top of the Town Hotel Motel (0.9 mi), and Mallee Grill (0.7 mi).

Should time allow, Makers Workshop, Burnie Park, and Burnie Regional Art Gallery are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

Enjoy your stay in Burnie!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Seating area
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
37Reviews1Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Hannah wrote a review May 2022
Bellerive, Australia3 contributions2 helpful votes
Heather and Harvey went out of their way to make sure I would be able to have a celiac friendly breakfast every day. The Marilyn Monroe themed Hollywood room was absolutely luxurious and comfortable, the bed was like sleeping on a cloud and the Regency Hollywood touches was perfect
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There’s parking on-site, bathroom supplies and tea, coffee and condiments on site
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather N Harvey Jones, Owner at Jones on Wilson
Responded 5 May 2022
Thank you for your beautiful review. We appreciate it very much. Please come again. 😊 Regards Harvey and Heather
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lee m wrote a review May 2022
13 contributions5 helpful votes
Stayed 2 nights at this lovely b&b it was one of the best accommodation we have stayed at.spotless clean and bed was amazing great night sleep.breakfast provisions was excellent with little extras touches like chocolates and port. loved the mural of cradle Mountain painted on wall. Highly recommend this lovely b&b .. 10/10 for everything
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather N Harvey Jones, Owner at Jones on Wilson
Responded 3 May 2022
Thank you - this is so beautiful of you to recommend our B&B so highly. We all appreciate your review. Kindest Regards Jones on Wilson Boutique B&B Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carolyn T wrote a review Apr 2022
Forster, Australia22 contributions4 helpful votes
Very comfortable large , light & airy studio. Ample continental breakfast with a variety of cereals, fruit, bread, condiments & plunge coffee. Sweet sherry & even surprise chocolate sweets made the stay even more relaxing. Heather (owner) very friendly. The only setback would be the poor Wifi service.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Judy W wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We were not happy with this accommodation no milk when we arrived no selection of teas .only white bread for toast .seamed that the host was skimping on her included items Also the outlook and area leaves a lot to desire not 4 star only 2 star Would not recommend Jones on wilson
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather N Harvey Jones, Owner at Jones on Wilson
Responded 21 Mar 2022
Thank you for your review, Judy. We have been in business a long time and we have won many awards for excellence because we take our reviews seriously. We have survived through COVID, and people have been so supportive and understand what a financial hit we have taken and how we have kept our prices low and flexible, which is why Judy, we were so surprised at your review. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay, but for reason I will now explain, we do not take any responsibility, because you turned up very early before we had finished setting up the room, and yes, it had no milk, but it was less than 5 minutes, and it was in the room. Then you rang and said you didn’t like that milk, you preferred skim or light milk, so I came back down, and then you rang again because you didn’t like the sourdough, you wanted grain bread, and where was our green tea; you complained the coffee was old and stale because it was dark, to which I explained to you, it was indeed fresh, just a number 8 Moccona Coffee which is dark. Even though we had ample supplies of everything, I got in my car and went to the supermarket to fulfil all your requests. I explained to you that we provide anything guests want with prior notice for the reason that as we are a small Boutique B&B, we cannot simply provide and cater for everyone’s differing dietary requirements unless prearranged. I then was mortified to read that as the host I was skimping on our breakfast supplies, and yet other people commend us for our ample provisions of bread, milk, tea, and different coffee including fresh plunger coffee, fruit, juice several cereal selections, butter and spreads, port and chocolates. I knew you were unhappy as you portrayed that the minute you walked onto our lovely property, so I asked you why you were unhappy, and you stated you thought we were on the beach. There in laid the problem beneath all your unhappiness, you had not researched our property details which clearly state we are 900 metres form the beach, situated right off the highway, in the main street and close to shops, cafes and the centre of town. Yet it seems we are paying for your lack of research because you were unhappy – hardly our fault and hardly worth rating us down for. We were unimpressed finding you waking around our private back yard which you gained entry through our private gate – signed private entry. Again, Judy I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your experience with us, but frankly short of hiring a band, I don’t’ think there would be anything we could have done that you would have approved of.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Leanne J wrote a review Aug 2021
Castle Forbes Bay, Australia18 contributions3 helpful votes
We visited Burnie for 2 nights and stayed at the lovely Jones on Wilson accommodation. We had the studio apartment which was immaculate and stylishly decorated. It is within walking distance of the main town, which has some lovely restaurants. Continental breakfast is included but we didnt need it as we had had our own supplies. Would highly recommend this accommodation and hope to return to north west of tassie soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather N Harvey Jones, Owner at Jones on Wilson
Responded 5 Sept 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope you return again and perhaps try our Marilyn suite or Hollywood House. Stay safe 😊
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Catherine D wrote a review July 2021
1 contribution
We recently stayed in Hollywood House, WOW what a great choice. Everything we needed was there. Tastefully furnished & decorated, amazing beds, so clean & comfortable especially if you are staying for a couple of days. Off street parking for more than one vehicle, easy check in & minutes from the shopping centre. Congratulations Heather & Harvey your attention to detail was amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ali M wrote a review June 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
My experience with the host of this property when Victoria went into the unexpected lockdown last week was appalling. It’s a long story but effectively I was blamed for lack of action taken by her booking agency. Eventually it got sorted however the most disturbing part was the appalling and unprofessional attitude of the property owner. I never received an apology, just an angry text at 11 pm one night threatening to cancel my refund when it was already approved. I have never been treated so poorly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather N Harvey Jones, Owner at Jones on Wilson
Responded 5 June 2021
As you state Ali Martin it is a long story one of which you have embellished quite considerably leaving out important truthful facts. When you first contacted us you were due to arrive in a few days on the Monday, we said we fully refund accommodation expenses due to COVID which we have done all through COVID. We have a 14 day free cancellation but as stated COVID is the exception but we asked you to cancel immediately which you did not even though you were not coming. We explained that if you cancel it helps us to get another booking and recoup monies lost. You didn’t cancel until I requested Booking.com to do so, which you apparently didn’t approve. Why not? You gave us no communication back for 3 days when we asked you to cancel. Eventually on the Sunday we got this vitriol from you that we should have known you hadn’t checked your phone because you were on shift work. Your first text began angrily at 11pm whilst we were asleep. We tried to politely explain you need to approve the cancellation. You kept sending angry texts which we couldn’t understand why when we said we have refunded you, which again I point out, we didn’t have to. You kept texting 10 times, and the phone kept going off with disturbing text so we ignored and blocked your number. I am not sure how we are meant to stop our business and respond to your constant harassing text messages that were nonsensical when we had already told you it had been refunded. How are we meant to see inside your head and your intentions when we are trying to be polite and do the right thing. At no stage were we rude or impolite had we been the type of people you suggest would we have refunded you? Your review on us stands out as the odd one out. Our service and politeness to everyone is well known. We only wish you peace and happiness. 😊
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lovetravelling57 wrote a review Jan 2020
Karratha, Australia928 contributions96 helpful votes
+1
We loved the Marilyn Monroe room. It was very cosy and the bed was so comfortable. Close to town and easy to find. All the little touches like port, divine toiletries, breakfast were much appreciated. One small suggestion is a bigger fridge would be good.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rita S wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions
Received e mail from Harvey & Heather advising we were staying in the Marilyn Monroe King Deluxe suite and providing room access information. Couldn't have been better directed. Key box with supplied access code and we were in. Room was superbly decorated, was great and had everything we could possibly need, including plentiful breakfast supplies for the following morning. On hosts recommendation in the guest info folder, we headed up to the local Indian restaurant for dinner, which was just a short walk away. Food was excellent and worth the visit. We stayed for 2 nights but can highly recommend this accommodation for cleanliness, amenities, style and comfort. Would happily stay here again when next in Burnie and happy to recommend to others.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
geoff wrote a review Sept 2019
Melbourne, Australia44 contributions21 helpful votes
Have never stayed in Burnie before and will do again ( especially in summer ) All the comforts you need and done at such a small cost. Nice touch was the heating was on upon arrival. Ditch the motels and come to this B and B next time you’re thinking of staying in Burnie. Now off to restaurant precinct only a short stroll from here. Enjoy !!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Burnie area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$123 - AU$153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaBurnie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

JONES ON WILSON (AU$123): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Burnie) - Photos of B&B - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Jones on Wilson
Which popular attractions are close to Jones on Wilson?
Nearby attractions include Burnie Regional Museum (0.7 km), Burnie Regional Art Gallery (0.8 km), and Games On Board (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Jones on Wilson?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Jones on Wilson?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Jones on Wilson?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Jones on Wilson?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bayviews Restaurant & Lounge Bar, The Chapel, and Indian Corner at Wilson.
Is Jones on Wilson located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Burnie.