We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hills of Gold Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nundle
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hills of Gold Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 20: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016

I have given this review 5 stars primarily because of the hospitality shown by the owner, the rooms are not 5 star but are of a good standard. It is right in the hart of town, across the road from the Peel Inn, Woolen Mill, and short walk to all other shops. The room was a bit larger than most... More 

Helpful?
Thank NSWSTEAMPOWER1
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in no 2 unit for the Chinese go for gold festival. Being centrally located in town everything was at our door step. The unit was spacious and clean, Marie was such a delightful host with good advice on where to go for a great meal. We had such a great time at nundle, the locals... More 

Helpful?
Thank steponafish
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2016

At $350.00 for a one night stay you would expect basic cleanliness. Our family of five stayed in the residence. The upstairs bathroom was not cleaned. The floor had a lot of hair and dirty footprints on the floor from previous guests. The shower had not been cleaned, a protective cap from a razor was still in the shower on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn P
Jim_A_222, Owner at Hills of Gold Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Lynne for your review. It is always our intent to present our property in the best possible way and to look after guests in a positive, caring manner. I am sorry that if on this occasion we disappointed you, however, your family was part of a group booking for a wedding being held on the Saturday afternoon. The... More 

Coonabarabran
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2016

My husband and I stayed here on Wednesday night. Hot day outside, but lovely and cool inside. The air conditioner wasn't on, but the lovely big room was the perfect temperature. Marie is an excellent hostess, and her room was spotless. The room had both a front and back door, and a bench out the back was just right for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maree D
Jim_A_222, Owner at Hills of Gold Motel, responded to this review

Hi Maree, Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our facilities met your needs so well. We hope to see you again. More 

Singleton, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

A baaic motel in a small county town. Clean , neat and tidy. Service was great and organised. The grounds of the motel was very well kept. Rooms are very basic. I agree with another Trip Advisor person....fly spray prob been in the room since 1980 and doesn't spray properly. Good cetral location but I do think for $140 per... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donna D
Jim_A_222, Owner at Hills of Gold Motel, responded to this review

Hi Donna, Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Nundle and would stay with us again. We always try to look after our guests in a friendly, professional way. Our Saturday rate is $140.00 as our costs are greater at the weekend due to penalty rates. Our insect spray is not from 1980... More 

O'Connell, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Front office greeting typically country friendly. Rooms are tired but basically clean. Mozzie spray dated from the dark ages and is the most basic no frills....get some mortein!! Bed and linen comfy and clean. Local pub is very good, OK wine selection and truly superb local trout dish, very , very good. Nundle is a gorgeous stopover. Some locals just... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey P
Jim_A_222, Owner at Hills of Gold Motel, responded to this review

Hi Geoffrey, Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed Nundle and its friendly hospitality – sorry that some of the locals did not say hello to you. Our insect spray is not from the dark ages, it is an Australian made and owned product similar to Mortein and sourced from a local supplier in Tamworth as... More 

Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Rooms were ok, no hot water when we arrived mid afternoon is really unacceptable, we were offered to use the facilities in the B&B next door however we paid for a motel room with a bathroom and that's what we expected. No offer of a discount of any sort and not what I would call friendly service. Chances of using... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael R
Jim_A_222, Owner at Hills of Gold Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we were pleased you were happy with the room and we do understand your feelings about the hot water situation. As we explained to you and your partner we had been having difficulties with our system that day and the hot water was starting to reheat just after your arrival. We apologise that you were... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Right in the centre of town and across the road from the Pub, but sooo quiet! This little town is delightful, and the country around it beautiful. Rooms are fine, no kitchen available when we visited, but there were alternatives nearby. An easy going and pleasant stop.

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry O
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2015

With delightful hosts, we enjoyed visiting the interesting sights around Nundle - the Woollen Mills, Hanging Rock Lookout, the Trout farm - as well as enjoying delightful meals each evening - Cafe Nundle and Mt Misery Gold mine Cafe. Well rugged up at night, we had a fantastic time looking at the stars. Wonderful weekend.

Helpful?
Thank Anne H
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2014 via mobile

Marie was a wonderful host to myself & 14 other weary bikers on the 29th November. Everything was perfect and bikes were even put under cover in the carport. Rooms were clean, roomy & beds were comfy. With the Peel Inn across the road for drinks & dinner an the Cafe Nundle just down the road for breakfast, it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris M

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nundle hotels
0.2 km away
Gold Mine Guesthouse
Gold Mine Guesthouse
#2 of 3 in Nundle
25 reviews
0.0 km away
Peel Inn
Peel Inn
#1 of 3 in Nundle
71 reviews
0.4 km away
Fossickers Tourist Park Nundle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hills of Gold Motel

Address: Corner of Jenkins and Oakenville Streets, Nundle, New South Wales, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Nundle
Price Range: $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hills Of Gold Motel Nundle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hills of Gold Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hills of Gold Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are basically the same”
 of 5 bubbles NSWSTEAMPOWER1, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you must stay there confirm the water will be hot!”
 of 5 bubbles michaelrZ6150LN, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Book early.”
 of 5 bubbles J3572JEanneh, 8 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Ask about motel as well as B&B options for comparisons.”
 of 5 bubbles 750barbarar, 6 Jun 2014 | Read review
“The queen rooms have great beds, but any of the rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles BS1105, 23 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5