We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

South Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,430 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,416: English reviews
Tillsonburg, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As promised in September of 2015 in my review I did come back again to South Lodge this September, 2016 - "wheelchair and all" with my daughter. South Lodge is so well situated to visit many of the South Coast towns and Villages by car. For many years in my career I owned a company in Canada that worked with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mravin3
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spent a few lovely days at this splendid hotel to celebrate our friend's 60th birthday. Really good rooms one of which led out on to the grounds that was suitable for a small lively dog. All the meals were fine and they set up an area in the lounge for us to have a celebratory afternoon tea for our friend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colin_sussexme
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

What a beautiful setting. My son bought my husband and I an overnight stay and ten course taster meal. We had a room called Stable which was on the ground floor in the old part of the building. The room is big and has a very deep bath in the room. The tea and filter coffee are in the wardrobe...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julie h
Management response:

Dear Julie, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Lodge. We really value your feedback and appreciate your comments. I am delighted to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us, However I am disappointed to see that there were a couple of aspects that did not meet your expectations. May I...

West Sussex
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Beautiful rooms. Staff lovely and work extremely hard including the staff in The Pass -but - The Pass 8 course tasting menu if over engineered; portions tiny and some tastes very odd. Our recommendation is to eat in the Camellia.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TheScribelers
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Lodge. We really value your feedback and appreciate your comments. I am delighted to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us, however I am very disappointed to see that your experience in the Pass did not meet your expectations. Please be assured your feedback...

Guadiaro, Spain
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel and grounds are superb with large rooms and all amenities. The views from both front and rear of hotel are very pleasing and relaxing. The service in the bars and restaurants could not be faulted and this made the visit very enjoyable. The rooms are expensive and the communal areas were kept at a very hot temperature but apart...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pavakeal
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Lodge. We really value your feedback and appreciate your comments. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards Kerra Byrne Guest Relations

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms TV/Bose radio combined system took some figuring out, also the TV in bathroom had a bad reception, otherwise a very comfortable room,.. great bed and breakfast the following morning. The grounds are beautiful, the bar was expensive and understaffed, but hey we were the common folk in these surroundings. So my high expectations were met with mixed impressions...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim A
Management response:

Dear Jim, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Lodge. I am delighted to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. We really value your feedback and appreciate your comments. Please be assured the points you raised have been passed onto the relevant Managers to address. We very much...

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Luckily got to stay for a few nights with business. Great hotel, but unsurprisingly expensive. If you're there on business like myself, the Michelin star restaurant might be a little more than your expenses allow, but luckily there is a pub over the road that will come in on budget! All the rooms are different, some better than others (from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Munkeh102
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Lodge. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards Kerra Byrne Guest Relations

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ventured quite a distance from the North East of England after being given a voucher for this hotel as a wedding gift and were a little apprehensive after traveling so far, but can safely say it was well worth it! Fantastic historic hotel with amazing rooms; some far bigger than a typical flat ! Great walk in showers and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
Management response:

Dear David, Thank you for such a lovely review of your recent visit to South Lodge. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, especially as you travelled so far to get to us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future, maybe when the Spa is in place. Best...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in November. I agree with other reviews that the path from carpark to hotel was not well lit and also signs not very clear in the dark. So beware! We had a lovely welcome by the reception staff and first impressions were good. Our room was well appointed and comfortable - just what you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crane75
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Lodge. I am delighted to read that were many aspects of your stay that meet your expectations, however I am very disappointed to see that you encountered a few service issues during your stay. Please be assured I have passed on your feedback to the relevant Managers...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from a cosy weekend at South Lodge We arrived late and were given a superb suite to stay in ( a free upgrade) The room was huge with a really fabulous bathroom with underfloor heating, which in November is a real boon The staff were friendly and helpful and recommended various places to visit near the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmteeth
Management response:

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of your recent stay at South Lodge Hotel. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable visit to us. We really value your feedback and appreciate your comments. I have passed on your feedback regarding the lighting to the car park to our Maintenance Manager to address. Also...

913 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (564)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (90)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (206)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (308)
Viewed
Cosy Room (47)
Viewed
Plus Junior Suite (44)
Viewed
Plus Junior Suite (With A View) (51)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (114)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Beeding
17.2 km away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
16.7 km away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
8.4 km away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.3 km away
Park House Hotel & Spa
1.8 km away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
315 reviews
32.6 km away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winner of the Gold Award for 'Large Hotel of the Year' at the Beautiful South Awards 2015, South Lodge is less than an hour from Central London and nestles amongst 93 acres of stunning woodland and parkland. A magnificent, former family country house - it's the perfect place to relax and unwind whilst indulging yourself with fine wine, gourmet food and unbeatable horizons. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Lodge Hotel

Address: South Lodge Hotel Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham > Lower Beeding
Price Range: $321 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your South Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Lower Beeding
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from South Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from South Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In general, I imagine they're all pretty good!”
 of 5 bubbles jima48, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beautiful views”
 of 5 bubbles jesser576, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Suite facing garden”
 of 5 bubbles LindylouBN, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms used for weddings are superb just a shame it took til 5.30pm to see it”
 of 5 bubbles hayleyjames343, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Junior suite have more privacy”
 of 5 bubbles tayibahk, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay