We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Washington

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Washington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

707 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Washington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 703: English reviews
wales
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Stayed for 2 nights. Rooms are clean and have all you need for a short stay. Very quiet at night so got a good night's sleep. Breakfast was very good. Staff very friendly and approachable, free wife for IHG members. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaynor p
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks for a fair and balanced review .

Verwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Generally this hotel lives up to expections and is value for money. Adequate bedrooms and a reasonable breakfast, but don't try to connect your tablet in your room, the charge is£19.95 per day. Only afterwards do you realise that Wi-Fi is free if you ask at the check in desk. One can only wonder why?

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank andrewsimpson2
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks we do try to be more than just value for money. WI-FI is free for IHG members and you could have requested a free sign up . Thank you .

Yateley
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Walking through the doors I was quite pleased as the foyer was isle decorated, the staff were locals and check in was efficient. Our room was OK, double bed, sofa bed and good sized TV. Bathroom had just been refurbished, and like many places these days, out goes the bath and in comes the shower. The decor was really nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aitchraz
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks your comments are correct ,we are still awaiting a back order of bathroom fittings and the door is to be replaced as the room is fully refitted and all paint work will be redone . But thanks for your feed back .

Bucks
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Chose this hotel for a few days visiting family in the north east and for three nights, this hotel worked out only a few pounds more expensive than a Premier Inn, so decided to give it a try. In some respects, with hindsight, I wish we'd just stuck with the Premier Inn that we've been to before. Location is good...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Oldbrookie
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Delighted you were upgraded to a executive room. Generally we get let noise from the motorway , thanks for the comments regards Ruth they will be passed on , reception are all new so a little bit more training is on the way . Thanks for a informative read .

Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms for 3 nights. Parking was good and easy to find. Welcome was poor service no eye contact or good information. Had to lift large cases up 6 stairs to get to lift. There was a small lift on the stairs but locked up and clearly not used guests manage! Our executive double was set up for one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Camille J
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks for your constructive comments we will try to learn from them . Hotel is often busy but we never treat guests as second class . Do come back when we are all fitted out .

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2015

The hotel in conveniently located just off the A1. The staff are great here. Very friendly and helpful. The room I had was a bit tired and outdated but the hotel is in the middle of being renovated. This hotel gets a lot of coach parties so it can be very busy (and noisy) in the reception and bar areas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou856
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks ,we do offer very rates all year round and part of this is to coach parties. All bedrooms are to receive new bathrooms and upgrades to the bedrooms . Do come back and have a look .

cleethorpes
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

The new bathrooms which Kew green are installing in their hotels are fatally flawed.i recently stayed at haydock and the bathroom is the same there.having no toilet roll holder and leaving the toilet rolls by the sink is inconvenient not to say unhygienic.having nowhere to put soap and spectacles in the shower is idiotic. Breakfast was fine in spite of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments . The bathroom furniture is at the moment held up at the suppliers . Please be assured this is to be replaced . Many Thanks .

London
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Great location for the A1 we stayed on a Friday night when they were several coach parties in also, we didn't eat our dinner at the hotel but found choice of Toby carvery and a restaurant within 3 mins walk. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was good with lots of options will return next time I'm staying in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonBusinesslady
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Look forward to seeing you again soon .

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2015

This is the worst Holiday Inn I have ever stayed. The condition of the hotel is depressing and desperately needs renovating. The corridors stink literally of sewege with filthy carpets. The breakfast was very poor with not many vegetarian options. On the morning I checked out, there was hardly any food left by 8am apart form some fried, oily eggs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Yenal3
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Firstly let me say how sorry i am to receive your comments . Boilers fail and trip out ! the hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment and breakfast was being refreshed after the 120 other people had just left . Thanks for your constructive comments it will help us improve .

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We had read some reviews about the rooms at this hotel being tired and in need of refurbishment so our hopes were not high but we were extremely satisfied with the room (503). The shower was over the bath so maybe it hasn't been refurbished yet, but it was absolutely fine. Spotless, a good size room, bathroom maybe a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kath-Howard
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your comments positive overall, breakfast was as you noted very busy that morning . Sorry but some has to show willing and clean and sweep the car park . If i knew the difference between a flower and a weed would help ! But thanks for your advise .

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
0.1 km away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
315 reviews
4.2 km away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
8.6 km away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
411 reviews
7.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Washington is an ideally located hotel, just off the A1M junction 64. Centrally located between, Historic Durham, Sunderland and Newcastle City The hotel offers a 'Go Green' Environmental Room in association with Tree Appealplanting trees on site and across the UK. This is a well established, comfortable hotel, with free car parking, noted for its friendly staff. The Hotel has a Traders Restaurant a newly refurbished lounge and bar area.Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The hotel has 136 fully air conditioned bedrooms, including family and accessible rooms. Only a short drive from Europes largest Shopping Centre - the Metrocentre, Newcastle City Centre, the award winning Beamish Open Air Museum, Sunderland Glass Centre and Durham County Cricket Ground. The North East coastline and Angel of the North are also within close driving distance.*Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington

Address: Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Price Range: $71 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington Hotel Washington
Washington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Washington Tyne And Wear, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Washington staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Ely, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Washington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms were well appointed”
 of 5 bubbles 825kathrynw, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Exec rooms were great and worth the upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles lisaandant, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Perhaps ask to inspect the room first”
 of 5 bubbles Review_guys, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Add for a ground floor room near the reception area.”
 of 5 bubbles 853TonyM, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“check your room is one of the refurbished ones(don't know if they are all finished)”
 of 5 bubbles DerbyshireSaddler, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5