We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

384 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 382: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here just for one night and found the staff to be attentive, the rooms pleasant and the morning breakfast a treat. Set right near the beach and parks, the hotel commands an ideal place to visit the coast, then retire to a comfortable room and meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tripreviewerdb
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

1) The shower has mixer taps that don't work properly. I see other people have complained about this. I thought they were illegal these days. As others have observed, the water is either hot or cold but not warm, which most want. 2) They don't wash the mugs in the bedroom. 3) The kitchen can't do anything about the strength...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tino436
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tino436 Firstly many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sure you do not want to mislead other travellers, so I must assure you that bath mixer taps are not illegal, they are readily available from all good plumbing stores, however I am sorry to read that you had difficulty in operating them. I wish...

South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We originally looked at an alternative venue in South Shields, but due to bureaucracy and inability to provide sample menus we picked the Conservatory at The Sea Hotel. This proved to be a Brilliant Choice, from our first inquiry to the end of our function everything was efficiently handled by committed friendly and efficient staff, who were happy to meet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travellingman2150
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went here as a family for my daughters birthday who is at Uni in Newcastle. We wanted somewhere nice but also that would be dog friendly. I rang in advance, couldn't book, but a friendly receptionist told me that we were welcome in the bar area with the dog and that we would have full access to all 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanetAB123
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review. I will pass your comments onto my colleagues. Regards Alan

Playa Blanca, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My parents held a party at the Sea hotel on Saturday night. From the moment my sister and I dropped a cake off before the party to the very end of the party everything was perfect. The meal was exceptional. Large choice and delicious all served by a great team. The biggest compliment my parents received was another guest was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janelanza
Buckie
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in the hotel this week, everything is good about it. The staff are very nice polite & helpful. the food is excellent & the rooms are very clean .Beds are very comfortable. Will definitely return if ever in the area again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review.

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

For fine dining with a huge menu, reasonable prices, excellent service and a superb culinary experience this is the best Sunday lunch in South Tyneside. A choice of 10 starters, 13 mains and 8 desserts makes the menu extensive. There are Sunday sittings at 12.00 and 2.30. The restaurant is very comfortably appointed. A winner. Also right on the sea-front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
UK
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

I like the main restaurant - very relaxing, proper tablecloths and napkins, nice people quiet and a proper lunch service.the food was good but not outstanding.I had potato skins my husband only had a main course of liver and onions and I had pasta. There was a lot of food which is nice and actually we managed it all. Desert...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Life-on-mars342
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We have been to this hotel twice in the last 2 years for private functions in the small dining room. Both occasions the food and service have been exemplary!! The whole place on the ground floor is so nice and professionally fitted out. The main restaurant looks lovely. If I am honest it looks poor from outside but is so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lewis B
Hebburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Well, called in on spec with our Bedlington terrier as we were told it was dog friendly, wow! It was brilliant. We were actually too late for lunch as it was after 2pm, but the staff couldn't be more helpful and told my wife and I it wouldn't be a problem to order sandwiches from the menu, the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian520678

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
0.8 km away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 6 in South Shields
659 reviews
3.6 km away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
1.6 km away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in South Shields
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
629 reviews
5.2 km away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#3 of 11 in Whitley Bay
106 reviews
2.8 km away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Flat screen television. Freeview and terrestrial channels. Free High Speed Wi-Fi Internet connection. Direct dial telephone. Hairdryer. Trouser press. Tea & coffee making facilities. All come as standard in Best Western - The Sea Hotel bedrooms. Our hotel annex provides five extra bedrooms for disabled customers. Secured private car park. Friendly Pub. Private restaurant. Bar. Conference & Event rooms. We have everything you need for a relaxing enjoyable stay at the Sea Hotel in South Shields. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel

Address: Sea Road, South Shields NE33 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Price Range: $87 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Shields
South Shields Best Western
Best Western Newcastle Upon Tyne
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel South Shields, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago
South Shields
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't know about the heating in the rest of the hotel but room 213 doesn't have any heating!”
 of 5 bubbles 93dol, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask if an annexe room is available.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidL254, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“make sure you get confirmation of your confirmation”
 of 5 bubbles 895keith, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the doors clash shut along the corridors - not sure if a quiet room exists.”
 of 5 bubbles ceb346, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms on the second floor are good .”
 of 5 bubbles 142adelea, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5