We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bel & The Dragon

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bel & The Dragon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 296: English reviews
Start your review of Bel & The Dragon
 Click to rate
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEW

I would definitely recommend the Bel and The Dragon - Churt to anyone. The customer service, food and accommodation were outstanding. They made me feel at home straight away and I would not hesitate to stay there again. Absolutely brilliant!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rowanpriestman
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived and were led right to the back of the restaurant to a tiny room with two other tables. We ordered a portion of crispy whitebait which were inedible. The whitebait had been deep fried in batter to within an inch of their lives and when you bit into it the whitebait were chewy and hard so we sent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scattie
James H, Marketing at Bel & The Dragon, responded to this review

Dear Scattie, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit, it was disappointing to read the food & service did not live up to the standards you or I expect. The management team in Churt have been made aware of your feedback and would like to offer their apologies. They will be investigating further &...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked out a section of the restaurant here for my husbands birthday. The roasts are legendary and charismatic GM Mike Procopakis sources the wines himself - do go on his recommendations as he knows his stuff. If you are making a weekend of it, there are smart contemporary bedrooms available complete with decanters of Sloe Gin and crystal glasses....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Claire S
James H, Marketing at Bel & The Dragon, responded to this review

Dear Claire S, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your birthday celebrations & Mike was able to recommed a suitable wine for the ocassion. He & the rest of the Churt team loook forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards James

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last 4 weeks for business and have not been disappointed! A warm and friendly welcome awaits you and this continues throughout the stay. The food is excellent and the rooms are lovely and clean and tidy. Nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff, I look forward to returning very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hannah D
James H, Marketing at Bel & The Dragon, responded to this review

Dear Hannah D, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay. I was pleased to read you have enjoyed staying with us when away for business & the team look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards James

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Bel and the Dragon in Churt is not a place you would find easily but it is well worth looking for.... We were lucky enough to spend three nights here while guests at a wedding and it was fabulous. The attention to detail is excellent. The rooms are beautifully furnished and the bathrooms wonderful. We were in Crawford and loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andream0402
James H, Marketing at Bel & The Dragon, responded to this review

Dear andream0402, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your visit, particualrly the Crawford room in which you stayed. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards James Hood

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an excellent place to stay just like other Bel and The Dragon hotels. A warm friendly welcome which continues throughout the stay. Rooms are compact but very well finished particularly for within this price bracket

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steven W
James H, Marketing at Bel & The Dragon, responded to this review

Dear Steven W, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay & we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards James

Tiverton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this for one night as we were going to a wedding nearby and it was the ideal place to stay. We dashed in having rushed from Bristol airport and had a very quick pint and some chips which were brought to our room. Complimentary sloe gin was available but didn't want to peak too soon. Some 12 year...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndyDS76
James H, Marketing at Bel & The Dragon, responded to this review

Dear AndyDS76, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay & the wedding celebrations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards James Hood

London, England
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night with colleagues after a business meeting.Not sure how many rooms there are but it is not many and they are all individually named. Decorated beautifully and with almost a Scandinavian feeling to the room. Really cozy! Each room also comes with a complimentary bottle of damson gin (or similar).The bar downstairs is charming and you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dansker
James H, Marketing at Bel & The Dragon, responded to this review

Dear Dansker, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit, I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay so much & we look forward to welcoming you back to Bel & The Dragon Churt soon. Kind Regards James Hood

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As with most other reviewers we find it hard to fault the staff, the room (lovely comfortable and enormous bed), the food and the ambience. We used a deal advertised in the Waitrose magazine and it was enjoyable from start to finish. Some prices seemed to differ depending on which list you looked at but we didn't feel the need...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susieandles
James H, Marketing at Bel & The Dragon, responded to this review

Dear susieandles, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the "Gourmet Getaway" so much. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards James

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A beautiful place to stay. Great nights sleep and the staff are lovely. Complimentary malt whiskey what more could you want. Excellent all round. The rooms are beautifully decorated each with its own individual character and the bed was so comfortable i didnt want to get out of it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robrun911

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churt
3.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
9.2 km away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
8.2 km away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#2 of 6 in Farnham
107 reviews
8.2 km away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#5 of 6 in Farnham
101 reviews
8.5 km away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Farnham
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the picturesque Surrey Hills, Bel & The Dragon Churt is a beautifully restored country inn nestled between the historic town of Farnham and the well-known Devil’s Punch Bowl, which is located in an area of outstanding natural beauty. Following extensive renovation by renowned interior designer Nicola Harding, Bel & The Dragon Churt will offer 13 stylish bedrooms alongside an all new bar & restaurant. The bar, complete with cosy seating and stunning French windows onto our new terrace, is the perfect place to enjoy a warming cappuccino or a delicious glass of wine. The restaurant with its new open kitchen allows you to view the very best local ingredients being transformed into mouth-watering dishes – adding a touch of culinary theatre to your dining. experience! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bel & The Dragon

Address: Bel & Dragon Jumps Road, Churt, Farnham GU10 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham > Churt
Price Range: $151 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel & The Dragon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Bel & The Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bel & The Dragon staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bel & The Dragon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If travelling with a family, the Wentworth room is absolutely perfect.”
rowanpriestman, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are free tea & coffee facilities on the 1st floor (and more free brandy & gin!)”
Dansker, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from road must be quieter”
brexitsoldier, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“the room Thorpe is great for just one night....but not more as in the middle of the car park.”
mog43, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No covered link to the cottage can be inconvenient if it rains. No mirrors placed anywhere near decent lighting or a socket for hair drying.”
DartMarina, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5