We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Russ Hill Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Russ Hill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,070 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Russ Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,044: English reviews
Swindon
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Good Points - (i) Parking was easy in front of the hotel. NB In the dark, don't move forward too far! We parked next to a car which was bogged down in the soft ground just off the parking. (ii) Staff where friendly and helpful, our car was booked into an Air Parks car park rather than their on-site car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Splodge_8
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay at the Russ Hill recently. We value all comments received from our guests and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you travel via Gatwick.

London
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Russ Hill. Both times we have been pleased with our room, as were another couple we were travelling with. Our rooms and bathrooms were clean and nicely furnished and the beds were comfortable. Last time we parked at the airport, this time we left our car at the hotel. The bus...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ordinary-folk
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay at the Russ Hill recently. We value all comments received from our guests and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you travel via Gatwick.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Positives: 1. Customer service is good. They would listen to you and make you feel listened. They try to accommodate your needs. I am not sure if this could be the same with everyone, but for me it was good as I think I had booked the hotel for 4 days. One of the managers (Sam) I would like to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sbsdrive
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay at the Russ Hill recently. We value all comments received from our guests and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you travel via Gatwick.

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2013

we used this hotel when flying from gatwick, we bokked with holiday extras and it was great value for money, however we had problems finding it (with sat nav) as it is out in the country lanes, when we went out for food at night it was a long drive through country lanes. the hotel however is good valu with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave O
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay at the Russ Hill recently. We value all comments received from our guests and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you travel via Gatwick.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2013

No complaints at all. This hotel is ideal if you wish to leave your car at the same hotel. Staff were friendly and efficient and explained everything to us both and the shuttle bus was fine. We had a nice large room on the ground floor for disabled and we also had windows. On the whole good value for money...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia C
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback posted in Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Reviewed 14 February 2013

My husband and I have stayed here a few times over the last 6 months. The reason we return is the location, free overnight parking and the room rate. I wouldn't feel very safe here on my own as the rooms can be very far from reception and the windows aren't very secure. The rooms are small with basic amenities...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chriztine3c
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to read you were disappointed with the hotel and our services on this occasion. All feedback is discussed at our weekly management meeting in an effort to iron out the highlighted issues wherever possible.

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Having read a lot of bad reviews our expectation was low and we were a little worried about our choice of airport hotel before flying out of gatwick for a romantic valentine break to tallinn. The hotel is located in the countryside. On arriving the hotel looked like a classic manor house. We were checked in in no time and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kayleigh_M_Williams
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay at the Russ Hill recently. We value all comments received from our guests and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you travel via Gatwick.

Mid Glam South Wales
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed night before flying, pleasant staff on reception booked us in quickly and explained parking and bus transfer procedures. Lovely old building in the middle of nowhere so a captive clientele for food and drinks. Room very pleasant, tea/coffee making facilities, and provided more milk cartons when I asked at reception with no fuss. Bathroom clean as was room, bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BluebirdFACup08
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay at the Russ Hill recently. We value all comments received from our guests and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you travel via Gatwick.

Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a trip with Diamond holidays it was terrible, it was like staying at a youth hostel only worse. The restaurant was like a works canteen you were told where to sit which is around tables with 4/5 strangers, the mattress was so bad we had to place the spare blanket under the sheet to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frankstretton
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to read you were disappointed with the hotel and our services on this occasion. All feedback is discussed at our weekly management meeting in an effort to iron out the highlighted issues wherever possible

South Petherton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2013

It was such a welcome relief. Arriving in the lobby of this large, country house-style hotel high above Gatwick, and the usual stresses of getting to the airport, parking and checking in, fell away. Here was a hotel which knew its business.Friendly, helpful staff so that within a few minutes we parked in the grounds, unpacked in our room (good,functional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 576davidjames
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback posted in Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

406 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (396)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (214)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
5.2 km away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
5.2 km away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
1,074 reviews
2.3 km away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
5.3 km away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Russ Hill Hotel is based in a 19th century manor house and set in nine acres of countryside within the charming village of Charlwood. This Gatwick hotel offers great value, comfortable accommodation and is conveniently placed just 4 miles from Gatwick Airport making it the perfect stopover either before or after flying. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Russ Hill Hotel

Address: Russ Hill, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Price Range: $53 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Russ Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Russ Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russ Hill Charlwood
Hotel Russ Hill
Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Russ Hill Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
essex
over a year ago
Greater London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Russ Hill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Arrive early”
 of 5 bubbles peterdowling222, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Online booking for Windsor and Westminster abbey and make sure there is nothing going on when you visit like Coronations and Weddings”
  • Private Gardens Windsor
 of 5 bubbles theleveller, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Close to Gatwick airport so expect some noise but for plane spotters pick at view over the airfield”
 of 5 bubbles Graham1Kent, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All ok as far as we were aware”
 of 5 bubbles clioOxford, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose on at another Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles S9887TLmikew, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay