We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dovecliff Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 400: English reviews
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Stayed on a Monday night and the hotel was very quiet as perhaps would be expected. Very grand entrance into what would once be a beautiful country home. Room 5 was huge but needed more lighting. Bed was fantastic as was the bathroom. My only gripes were that it could be cleaner, previous guests kirby grips on floor and cobwebs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin989
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and although there were a few issues you were not happy with, we are pleased to hear that you would return. The issues that you did point out have been raised with the departments concerned and I apologise as this is not our usual high standard.

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Stayed 1 night on 7/11/15 but is not somewhere i would stay againlil Very tired bedrooms with a little more attention to detail needed.we stayed in room 3 where the bed sank in the middle.lining in the curtains is all ripped,went to open the bathroom window to let some of the steam out and found dead flies and black mould...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gail H
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We apologise for the points you have raised regarding the room and these have been passed on to housekeeping for immediate remedial work. This is not indicative of our usual high standards and we do hope that you would consider staying with us again.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2015

We stayed here as a wedding party..the rooms are spacious... We noticed dirty marks on the valance sheet so we checked the bed and bedding but everything else was spotless. The shower did leak but it wasn't a major problem... Because it was windy during the night the old sliding windows did tend to rattle and bang so that woke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dawn h
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us when you attended a wedding here. We have taken steps to address the small issues you raised and we do hope to see you again.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2015

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights recently. It was our 2nd stay and as good as the first had been earlier this year. Dovecliff Hall is a Georgian country house dating from the 1790s and has passed down through local families, including local beer manufacturing ones of the locality. You approach it through a drive that crosses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such an in depth review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Love this hotel, excellent service, great rooms, perfect gardens.what more can you ask for. Easy access to Motorway, Burton, and the beautiful village of Rolleston.Excellent food in great surroundings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flissyg123
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy to hear that you loved our hotel so much and hope that you will return very soon.

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

Just had an overnight break at this hotel using an amazon deal. Excellent value. Staff were lovely and took pride in their work and did the hotel proud. In particular 'radka' was so lovely and attentive. The room was lovely and clean with a beautiful view overlooking the river. It was so quiet and peaceful! We could not fault the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and in particular your praise for our staff who do work hard to ensure that all our guests receive the best service possible. Please do come and see us again.

Bournemouth
Reviewed 24 October 2015

Had a super stay at the Dovecliff Hotel. All rooms were warm and radiators easily adjusted - so able to fully relax. Beds comfortable. Large attractive well furnished rooms. (We were a party of 5 in 3 rooms). Lounges all well furnished, attractive and comfortable. Staff very friendly - especially Rusca? from Czech Republic who served us breakfast. Enjoyed good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 377Rosa
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will return and see us again.

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015

FANTASTIC DAY,Dovecliffe Hall Hotel could not have done more for us,the bride and groom looked gorgeous,the hotel,staff,food,everything they did was excellent,even the breakfast next morning was excellent,A very big THANK YOU TO ALL AT DOVECLIFFE HALL HOTEL

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacqueline P
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are delighted to hear that you were happy every element of your son's special day and we will ensure that all those concerned are thanked.

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Having an opportunity for a second visit to The Dovecliff I am please to give credit where it is due to the attentive staff serving delicious chief prepared meals. I am pleased to be able to recommend this long established hotel and look forward to our next visit. Today a team of professionals doing it right keep up the good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baileeroo
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review after your return visit to us. Our aim is to always get it right and we are delighted that you enjoyed both the lunch and the excellent service. Thank you again.

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Really enjoyed our stay at dovecliff hall hotel. We had a fantastic room overlooking the beautiful gardens and the afternoon teas in the orangery were especially nice. Would definitely come again and would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yvonne B
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review and we very much hope to see you again soon.

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
10.2 km away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
7.2 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
450 reviews
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
4.2 km away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#9 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
430 reviews
4.6 km away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dovecliff Hall Country House Hotel is a "hidden gem" nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquility. Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers. Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park. We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Address: Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Price Range: $114 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dovecliff Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dovecliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovecliff Hall Hotel Burton Upon Trent, UK - Staffordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dovecliff Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Dovecliff Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 110 which had a lovely view - but I believe other rooms do too. Also have ground floor rooms.”
278jacquiem, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take an annexe room if you want to avoid party noise”
JBPKabale, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The two suites are excellent, try to stay in the Hall rather than the modern annex.”
Pejacks, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the main hotel building - rooms 2 - 10 seem to be of a better standard.”
Elvis_McCann, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“It was the restaurant we vidited”
Vegetarian990, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5