We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Old Rectory on the Lake

    Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (1047)
          Room & Suite (224)
          Pool & Beach (94)
          T'yn y Cornel Hotel
          274 reviews
          #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
           
          Dolffanog Fach
          205 reviews
          #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
           
          The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
          335 reviews
          #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arthog
           
          Pen-y-Bont Hotel
          62 reviews
          #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
           
          Overview
          • Excellent96%
          • Very good2%
          • Average1%
          • Poor1%
          • Terrible0%
          3 days ago
          “Perfect weekend away to celebrate our 10th anniversary.”
          5 days ago
          “THE OLD RECTORY BY THE LAKE - AMAZING”
          Free Wifi
          Free Parking
          Breakfast included
          Hot Tub
          Non-Smoking Hotel
          Restaurant
          Bar/Lounge
          Wheelchair Access
          5.0 Star Hotel
          All hotel details
          {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
          T'yn y Cornel Hotel
          274 reviews
          #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
           
          Dolffanog Fach
          205 reviews
          #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
           
          The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
          335 reviews
          #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arthog
           
          Pen-y-Bont Hotel
          62 reviews
          #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
           
          Write a Review
          Reviews (886)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language
          There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory on the Lake See the most recent reviews

          371 - 375 of 886 reviews

          Reviewed 19 May 2014

          Returned again for our first visit of the year. Stayed in our favourite room Craig Goch. Everything was just as we like it,room was spotless ,atmosphere relaxed and friendly and the food was fantastic. Ricky catered for my wife's dietary requirements with imagination and great...More

          Thank JohnnyJazz_9
          Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Public Relations Manager at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 20 May 2014

          John and Ricky have asked if I can respond to this review as you kindly mention me. We were all pleased to welcome you to The Old Rectory on the lake for a third stay and are happy to read that everything was again up...More

          A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
          Silver Spring, Maryland
          69
          Reviewed 18 May 2014

          More

          1  Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
          Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 20 May 2014

          More

          Reviewed 3 May 2014

          The Old Rectory was, for us, quite exceptional for a small guest house. The setting is wonderful - peaceful, tranquil, secluded, with super views of mountains and over Talyllyn Lake, great walks from the door or nearby, lovely drives on quiet roads, and good birdwatching,...More

          3  Thank BobandBarbara
          Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 5 May 2014

          What an amazingly detailed posting and we are just so happy Bob and Barbara that you enjoyed your time here with us so much. You came to celebrate a pivotal birthday and for Bob to drive the Talyllyn steam train and indeed we have had...More

          Reviewed 1 May 2014

          I spent three days here with my girlfriend. The setting is stunning; the lake and mountains are absolutely beautiful. The quiet was broken only by the sound of wind on the lake and the occasional bleating of lambs in the distance. We walked up Cadair...More

          2  Thank Adam C
          Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 2 May 2014

          What a descriptive review and we so happy Adam that you appreciated your three days with us so much. Well done for getting to the top of Cadair Idris but have to admit we were getting a tad concerned when you had not returned by...More

          Reviewed 28 April 2014

          We have just enjoyed a wonderful long weekend at the old rectory. A beautiful place in a stunning tranquil location. A wonderfully warm welcome from John and Ricky with superb breakfasts and evening meals and recommendations on the local area. The room (Craig Goch) had...More

          2  Thank Ruwilts
          Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 29 April 2014

          I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got up Cadair Idris from our home. I am due to run up and down the mountain from the other side next month so I know just how hard it can...More

          T'yn y Cornel Hotel
          274 reviews
          #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
           
          Dolffanog Fach
          205 reviews
          #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
           
          The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
          335 reviews
          #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arthog
           
          Pen-y-Bont Hotel
          62 reviews
          #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Travellers' Choice2017 Winner
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Breakfast included
          • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Breakfast included
          • Things to do
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Hot Tub
          Details
          • Price range
          • USD 138 - USD 168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Hotel class
          • Room types
          • Non-Smoking Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 4
          • Reservation Options
          • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
          • Location
          • United Kingdom >
          • Wales >
          • North Wales >
          • Snowdonia National Park >
          • Talyllyn
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (1047)
          Room & Suite (224)
          Pool & Beach (94)
          Dining (76)
          Hotel & Grounds (781)
          Bathroom (22)
          Family and Play Areas (1)
          Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
          Nearby
          Dolserau Hall Hotel
          154 reviews
          8.03 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Caffi'r Ceunant
          93 reviews
          4.33 km away
          Ty Te Cadair Tea Room
          25 reviews
          2.63 km away
          Railway Inn
          211 reviews
          4.33 km away
          Pen-y-Bont Hotel
          79 reviews
          .25 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Talyllyn Lake
          11 reviews
          .51 km away
          Cader Idris
          305 reviews
          3.34 km away
          Corris Mine Explorers
          163 reviews
          4.22 km away
          Castell y Bere
          44 reviews
          4.50 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          chri2jellett
          Hi its Chris here just wondering if you hold weddings up there and have a a licence to do so Also how many people can you accommodate for and how many can you seat and cater for thanks ☺
          16 June 2016|
          Answer
          Response from PompeyJonathan | Reviewed this property |
          Hi Chris - I think you need to contact the Old Rectory directly - regards Jonathan
          0
          Votes
          gixernick
          Hi , looking to visit in the next few weeks for a bit of plane spotting ! In your experience which would be the best couple of days to visit . Thanks
          25 January 2016|
          Answer Show all 3 answers
          Response from VandRcardiff | Reviewed this property |
          Look on the Machloop website for flying activity in the area round machynlleth. John at the old rectory may be able to advuse as well. Have fun!
          0
          Votes
          Anthony J
          Price for myself and dog for Xmas
          2 December 2015|
          Answer Show all 3 answers
          Response from Snowdoniatraveller | Property representative |
          Hello
          0
          Votes
          Room Tips
          "We stayed in Mynydd Rugog. The views across the lake from the bedroom were wonderful."
          Read review
          "Mynudd Rugog was beautiful but all rooms are lovely."
          Read review
          "You can't go wrong"
          Read review
          "Any room is a good room"
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing