We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Blue Boar Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 100*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 100*
USD 100*
USD 100*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Blue Boar Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 237: English reviews
Start your review of The Blue Boar Hotel
 Click to rate
Florence, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were walking through Witney and decided to try this pub/restaurant. Cocktails very well made! Pasta Bolognese was very tasty, pizza with burrata was just amazing!! Great flavours, pleasant atmosphere... Very kind and helpful staff. Will definitely be back!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaeFire
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi GaeFire Thanks for the great review - we really appreciate it. We're particularly proud of our new pizza oven and it's fab to hear you tried and enjoyed one of our favourites with Burrata. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Giancarlo and The Blue Boar Team

MDZ
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent a few days in the Blue Boar with some colleagues, and we liked the style of the hotel. It´s cute and enjoyable, and the staff are helpful and nice. The location is great, it is possible to take the bus to Oxford or a taxi at the hotel door. Regarding the rooms, there are different types, including one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sivis
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sivis We're pleased to hear you think The Blue Boar is in a great location and our menu is good with its gluten free options. We agree with you that we think the breakfast is great! Thanks for your review and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Giancarlo and The Blue...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I passed a week in the Blue Boar, and i think that your experience may change, depends on the room assigned. My room, for example, has bad wifi and the bath water was a little cold. But other colleages had a better room, with good wifi and hot water. But I have something good to say about the Blue Boar,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garridito
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Garridito Thank you for leaving us a review regarding your first stay at The Blue Boar. We're sorry to hear you feel the water was a little cold in your room. If you had bought this to our attention at the time we would have tried our utmost to rectify this for you. We are very pleased to hear,...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have been to the Blue Boar a few times before and love it but when we arrived this time we noticed the management had changed. Sadly they have rearranged the dining room and the food was very average. My pasta dish was tasteless. Really disappointing meal. Wouldn't visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 867AnnaS867
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 867AnnaS867 You are quite right both the restaurant and hotel at The Blue Boar have undergone a renovation including the introduction of a Pizza Oven which we're very proud of. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your meals and understand that we can't always appeal to everyone's tastes. We do hope you will consider returning and...

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Celebrated my daughters 21st birthday here with a lovely meal in their restaurant the service was very good along with the food which was cooked to order and was very generous in portion sizes.The staff were very attentive and very polite the place was very busy and at times a bit too loud so at times it was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngelaandRichard47
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi AngelaandRichard47 We're so pleased to hear that your daughter's birthday celebrations went well with us. All we want is for our guests to leave us feeling happy, replete and wanting to return! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Giancarlo and The Blue Boar Team

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017

irstly, and not particularly apparent from the website, is that parking is a good 5-10 minute walk away. Not a problem on a dry evening, but not great if it's raining or cold. You can park closer if you don't mind nipping to the car at 6am to buy a ticket for 2 hours. Secondly, we weren't particularly welcomed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaraCorner
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi SaraCorner We would like to thank you for taking the time to inform us of your recent stay at The Blue Boar. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain, and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service we provide to our valued guests. Did you bring any of your concerns about your...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Visited with a friend for a 2 night stay booked via Laterooms. The bad: Room not as advertised. Very basic. No decor, really full for a "4 star" hotel Stated in the room on a sign that there is a Roberts radio, coffee machine, blankets and retro phone but none of this was there. Claimed to be complimentary water in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Conniekendall
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Conniekendall, We would like to apologise for your disappointment, you are correct our website does state all of those things; which we are currently introducing as we refurbish all the bedrooms. What has happened is you have stayed in one of the rooms that has yet to be done. We are working our way around the hotel doing a...

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2017

This was my wife's birthday and the stay was part of the treat. We were hoping for good things looking on the info on their website but very sadly this hope was misplaced. Ignored on arrival. Worse the bar only had Hobgoblin and London Pride so where were all the craft ales promised? Run out apparently. Room was Ok but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zbig2017
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

It is always sad to receive comments like these as the guests didn't say anything until they complained about the dinner with the bill on the table. (when the waitress had checked on the food they didn’t complain) Immediately our duty manager went to the table and tried to manage the situation (He gave his personal apologies and gave the...

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2017

My husband booked this for our wedding anniversary. The room we had was lovely - comfy bed, air con, and all the usual things you'd expect from a decent hotel. However, there's no car park - parking is behind the church approx. 10 min walk away (not a problem for us). The main problem is that this is an active...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeborahO504
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Deborah I hope you had a safe journey home following your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's super to hear you thought the team was "lovely". But of course, we are sorry to hear your night was disturbed due to noise. Being a town centre location there are a few urban sounds,...

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

So I booked the Blue Boar for Saturday night with my partner and 2 other friends. Firstly we were sat down by the kitchen and it was too hot so I asked if we could be moved which they did quickly. So we sat down at 7pm and ordered some drinks, about 10 minutes later we ordered our food still...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lgibb2014
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lgibb2014 We are grateful for your feedback and please accept our most humble apologies for the slow drinks service. We can completely relate to why you got a bit grumpy; my goodness if anyone gets in the way of our G&T.... I hope you don't mind us saying but we do feel you saying you would not recommend us...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Witney hotels
1.2 km away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#3 of 7 in Witney
808 reviews
0.2 km away
The Fleece
The Fleece
#5 of 7 in Witney
370 reviews
4.1 km away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Witney Hotel
4.8 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,203 reviews
0.8 km away
Old Court Hotel
Old Court Hotel
#7 of 7 in Witney
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Blue Boar
The Blue Boar
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Blue Boar in Witney is a stylish restaurant, bar and rooms, combining historic character with modern comfort and design. Open all day every day for food and drink, the Blue Boar is at the heart of the town, providing the ideal place to eat, drink, and relax. Featuring a modern Mediterranean-inspired restaurant menu, an extensive range of drinks, wines, local real ales and cocktails, as well as a cafe area overlooking the courtyard, the Blue Boar also offers complimentary wi-fi throughout. With 20 luxury en-suite bedrooms, complete with iPod docking stations, flatscreen televisions and designer toiletries, the rooms also feature locally-made Witney blankets. Available for private hire is the Bosworth Suite, an elegant function room ideal for weddings, conferences, business meetings or events, with a completely tailored package to suit individual requirements. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Blue Boar Hotel

Address: 28 Market Square, Witney OX28 6BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Price Range: $131 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Boar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Blue Boar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Boar Witney Hotel Witney
Marlborough Hotel Witney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Blue Boar Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Blue Boar Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you look for a quite room, it is better to stay in the garden rooms. But if you need WIFI, I recommend the rooms at the first floor”
Sivis, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Back rooms more quiet.”
AngelaandRichard47, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
treva55, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Talk to someone at the hotel before you visit if the access is an issue for you”
fredith7, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure your room has plenty of hangers and storage space.”
VioletG660, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 100* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 100
TravelocityUSD 100
TripAdvisorUSD 100
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates