We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bear Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bear Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 174: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Kept reading on all these reviews that every room has its own issues. One place is over the kitchen so too loud. The other over the smoking area so it smells and drunk people who sit and have cigs there get very loud and obnoxious.. that the staff is rude and mean... COULDN'T BE FURTHER FROM THE TRUTH.. I found...

2Thank Meroujan O
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Was taken to the Bear for a surprise birthday party in my honour to find nearly 90 relatives and friends from the last 40 years. Keith and his staff really did us proud with probably the best buffet I have enjoyed. Both hot and cold food were available to suit all guests tastes and preferences. All present commented on a...

Thank Allen F
bearwantage, Owner at Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we hope to see you soon.

Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Wow what a hotel, stayed on a Friday night in the delightful room 39, not sure if the highlight was the smokers immediately outside the window, or the nighttime collection of refuse from the courtyard, or maybe the very early morning empty bottle collection. A night in the local park would have been more peaceful

Thank Andy P
bearwantage, Owner at Bear Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry your stay didn't live up to your expectations. We don't have a garden so customers who smoke tend to use the only outside area. You were not kept awake by refuse collection/bottle collections from the Bear as we don't allow any deliveries until at least 8 am but as a town centre hotel we do not have...

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Amazing! From the start and the arrangement discussions with the manager Keith to the evening itself everything was fabulous. The chef excelled with all the courses and the waiting staff were all very attentive. Fabulous and thank you all for making my night great. A number of us stayed the night at the hotel and we were not disappointed with...

1Thank Sue T
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the bear for an uncles funeral and even though we don't live far away we both wanted to have a drink. The staff looked after us in such a way it made the whole family feel at ease and made the day more bearable. The food was exactly what we asked for with plenty to go round. The...

1Thank JoshuaWP
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Quite possibly the most unsuitable person working behind the bar I have witnessed. Keeps telling everyone she is having a nightmare. Throws all the empty bottles into the bottle bin from such a distance one is going to smash. Her voice is 90 db above everyone else. Shouts at the locals she knows and references to her "knickers" are not...

1Thank tizzzer
bearwantage, Owner at Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very personal review...this really upset our most popular and friendly member of staff who was reduced to tears after reading this. Yes she can be a little noisy often using her 'outside voice' instead of inside and the conversation you mentioned was started by a customer and part of her job is to interact...

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

I'm lying awake now writing this and it is 4am. The town clock chimes every 30 minutes. If that doesn't wake you up there are delivery trucks and bin collections every hour too it seems. This is with all of the windows shut - I'd hate to be here in summer. The rest of the hotel is ok, if a...

Thank stolengrapefruit
bearwantage, Owner at Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Our deliveries are all after 8 am but as a town centre hotel there will always be noise beyond our control.

Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

We had a two night stay for a friends 50th party in the area. Room was cosy, bed was really comfortable, bathroom a little tight but all worked. The ladies kept the rooms clean and replaced with fresh towels, always had a warm smile and friendly chat in the mornings. Breakfast was plentiful and no problem getting good poached eggs,...

2Thank Richard c
Wantage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Receptionist was offhand when we arrived as we hadn't booked. We were eventually offered a table by the door even though there were much nicer tables that weren't used during our meal. Food average, the fish pie was soupy though and had to be eaten with a spoon. Brandy arrived full of ice! Was charged for a bottle of wine...

Thank 504091Anne
bearwantage, Owner at Bear Hotel, responded to this review

When customers arrive we always ask them if they have booked in order to control our bookings. Guests are always seated at the best 'not booked' table available...we are almost always fully booked. Many of our dishes...including pies...are always set up with a spoon as most customers like to enjoy all of the sauce. Sorry that your Cognac arrived with...

ebbw vale
Reviewed 27 August 2016

called in here on sat night for drinks was very busy had few real ales on and tried them all was all ok but nothing write home about dont know what it is about oxfordshire but relly strugle to find ideal pint

Thank EbbwValeTessie

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (24)
Bathroom (1)
Room/Suite (7)
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (3)
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wantage
5.1 km away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
144 reviews
0.3 km away
The Crab & Boar
The Crab & Boar
#1 of 2 in Chieveley
666 reviews
8.0 km away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
13.0 km away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
276 reviews
12.7 km away
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Bear Hotel

Address: Market Place, Wantage OX12 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wantage
Price Range: $120 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Wantage, Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bear Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Miami Beach, Florida
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bear Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room was on a quiet side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 389suet, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 31 was small but adequate. Rather dated and a little tired but ok. No problem with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Bspeaks49, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you book a room in the Hotel Main Block.As they also have rooms close the bar area”
 of 5 bubbles davidatkinson37, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“there must be some good rooms but we didn't have one”
 of 5 bubbles fabmanrambo, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
“as mentioned above sleep quality affected by function noise on both nights.Not sure where best room would be.”
 of 5 bubbles taffg2015, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay