We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Oxford Belfry

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Oxford Belfry
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,522: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I booked my 50th birthday celebration in the Oxford Belfry last year. My friends and I were looked after so well by the hotel staff that we decided to celebrate my sister and sister-in-law's 50th in the same hotel this year. We booked 12 rooms for the spa break, every member of the group thoroughly enjoyed themselves and everything went... More 

Helpful?
Thank FranksLondon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We attended a wedding here. We had a wonderful day. The wedding went smoothly thanks to the Belfry staff who were very attentive. The sit down meal was lovely, everything was cooked to perfection and full of flavour. The buffet in the evening was plentiful, in fact we didn't eat very much in the evening because the meal left us... More 

Helpful?
Thank lousalo
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We booked an executive room this visit. The room was very good but a route march from the main areas through cold corridors. I asked if all exec rooms were so far away but they are dotted all over. But I recommend requesting one nearer facilities especially if you have limited mobility. We had dinner included both nights. Food was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review; I'm delighted that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed your tour of Silverstone! Kind regards, Julian White More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Recently returned from one night at the hotel. All the staff that I had dealings with were very professional and pleasant. The hotel was fine with a good sized room and a powerful shower. I also found the beds very comfortable and slept very well. The breakfast in the morning was very good with an excellent buffet selection. In fact... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review

Dear Martin W, Thank you for your comments; I'm pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us and found that our location was ideal for visiting the city of Oxford and its surrounds. Kind regards, Julian White More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We attended an annual dinner dance here again recently, this time staying in the Belfry itself (last year we were too late to get a room and had to drive to a nearby one). We checked in mid-afternoon and went to the gym, steam room and pool area. The gym is rather small and the equipment packed together but there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Designs_JoanK
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review

Dear Designs_JoanK, Thank you for your review; I'm pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed the dinner dance and overnight stay. Thank you also for the suggestions for improvement which will be shared with the team. Kind regards, Julian White More 

Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good parking. Efficient check-in. Decent sized rooms, but very cold in room, had to ask for a fan heater. Also the toilet didn't flush properly. We were attending a function there and whilst the food was efficiently served the quality wasn't great. Overall not one of the worst hotels we've stayed at, but not one of the best either.

Helpful?
Thank Racingjohn789
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review

Dear Racingjohn789, Thank you for your review. I hope that you found time to report the maintenance issue in your room; if not, please do let us know what room you stayed in so that our maintenance team can remedy this. Kind regards, Julian White More 

Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Prior to our stay, we had called to ask about an earlier check in and about using the spa faciltities to change in before going to a wedding on the day of check in. The lady was friendly and said she would put a note on the booking, however on arrival we were abruptly told check in is at 3... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review

Dear Natalie B, Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you had a nice break, but apologies for the shortcomings, which I would like to assure you have been discussed with the appropriate department managers. Kind regards, Julian White More 

Devon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The venue is central to a lot of places in Oxfordshire. We stayed there for a bridge holiday 75 people attended on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. We all had to eat at the same time the hotel accommodated this with precision timing. The breakfast was amazing, full english, porride made with either milk or water, continental breakfast, cereals,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Golfingbirdie
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review

Dear Golfingbirdie, Thank you so much for your 5 star recommendation of The Oxford Belfry following the Excel Bridge weekend here. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again next time. Kind regards, Julian White More 

Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
479 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As members of Q Hotels’ Breakaway Club we’ve taken advantage of quite a few club deals over the years and on this latest trip we stayed for 2 nights DB&B with VIQ (formerly Q Star) room upgrade. We had a friendly welcome at reception but Q Hotels never gives any special recognition you’re members of their Breakaway Club, and if... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MandH-eurotrippers
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review

Dear MandH-eurotrippers, Thank you for your 4 star recommendation of the hotel and for your suggestions for improvement in your bedroom. I've passed on your comments to our Maintenance Manager. I'm pleased to hear you'd happily return and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Julian White More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had been invited by hosts to a dinner, room paid for by our hosts. Upon arrival I had £185 taken from my credit card as reception had no record of the room being paid for. Our room was reasonable, until it came to sleeping, awoken at 5.30 on a Sunday morning by the floor boards in the room above,... More 

Helpful?
Thank David M
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review

Dear David M, Thank you for your review; I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed. I have discussed the points you make with the appropriate heads of department and if you would like to discuss this, please do contact me at the hotel. Kind regards, Julian White More 

371 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (182)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (71)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (175)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Q-Style Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Room (29)
Viewed
Superior Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
11.8 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
De Vere Oxford Thames
#5 of 44 in Oxford
943 reviews
2.6 km away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
14.3 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
13.4 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
1,532 reviews
14.4 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in 17 acres of beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, yet within minutes of the M40, The Oxford Belfry, with 154 luxury bedrooms, is the perfect venue from which to explore Oxford and the surrounding area. The hotel offers bright, modern public areas including Terrace Bar, Restaurant and Lounges, Leisure Club and Spa with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, 7 spa treatment rooms, tennis courts, and outstanding conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Oxford Belfry

Address: London Road, Milton Common OX9 2JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Price Range: $171 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Oxford Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Oxford Belfry staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Oxford Belfry staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is a long way to walk to some of the rooms if mobility issues ask for the ground flour. Room 240 had a lovely view.”
 of 5 bubbles Golfingbirdie, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with decent sound proofing. I'm pretty sure I'd have had a poor night's sleep if next door had had a TV on.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelaQ8424QI, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room near reception, otherwise you will spend a lot of time walking around corners in search of your room.”
 of 5 bubbles Luke8888, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own ground coffee and bodem.”
 of 5 bubbles mikerC789BG, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Suite was fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles BSJones28, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay