We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The King's Head Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The King\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 310: English reviews
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location for a quiet break, great room we stayed in a courtyard room on a free upgrade (very acceptable!) - food was good although a rather limited menu, disappointed no food was available when we returned at 14.15 from one of the great walks around the area had to settle for packet of crisps and peanuts expected a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christopher C
west midlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

Breakfast was the highlight and was really enjoyable. The room was comfortable and the Nespresso machine was a nice touch. From what I'd read I'd expected more of a foodie experience at dinner. It was fine but not the gastro experience I'd hoped for (I've had some really excellent meals at 'gastro' pubs). We had the choice of eating in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank strolling8
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for seven days whilst visiting family and searching the area for a new house. All of the food we had at breakfast, lunch or dinner was very tasty and well presented. The staff are very helpful, friendly and attentive even when the bar got busy. Good selection of beer and wine on offer. The room we stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewmorris2108
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 16 December 2016

A lovely old country pub, great beers, very good food (yes, it is a gastro-pub). There are bedrooms in the main building but I stayed in one in the annex buidling in the back yard/terrace. Very pretty, very cosy, very quiet. An extremely pleasant environment. The terrace in the back must be very nice in the summer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank virchow
wrexham
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Just had a weekend break at this lovely inn. Quirky rooms, its a very old building, fantastic food, great ales, log fire, friendly locals, excellent staff, thanks Abbie ! We will be back.Great base to see the Cotswolds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephen h
kingshead100, General Manager at The King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Stephen h I am so pleased we manage to tick all the boxes on your visit to the Kings Head, and Abbie is particularly chuffed for a personal mention! We work hard to keep our ales in top conditions, and have a great brigade in the kitchen who have read your review and send their thanks for your kind...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We were looking for a proper country pub, with great food, beer and service. We weren't disappointed. The Courtyard rooms are essentially a modern barn conversion, however they have been sympathetically done. As a result the rooms are spacious, comfortable and warm, with wonderful baths and fantastic beds. I gather that the rooms in the pub itself are smaller, however...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Caspar D
kingshead100, General Manager at The King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Caspar D What a great review! - Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your wonderful feedback. We work very hard to ensure all that you have mentioned above is achieved as consistently as possible so your comments have given the whole team a real boost! Hope to see you again soon - Rob, GM

Oxfordshire
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We had Sunday carvery with friends recently and though the food was very well prepared and served (we all had beef). Drinks were good (wine and gin&tonics). Popular place so you might need to book. There is a pretty garden with seating and a water feature. Parking appeared not to be a problem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank parson156
kingshead100, General Manager at The King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Parson156, Many thanks for your great comments - our Sunday roasts are incredibly popular so as you say, definitely worth booking a table! We hope to see you again soon warmest reagrds - Rob, GM

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We had booked to dine in the restaurant but upon arrival they tried to seat us in the bar area adjacent to the door! This was corrected and we were shown to a table in the restaurant. The chargrilled sirloin was delicious and came cooked to my specification. Service was pleasant but a little slow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeadingLadyGB
kingshead100, Manager at The King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear LeadingLadyGB, Thank you so much for taking time out to leave your great comments - Our locally sourced Herefordshire breed beef always receives great feedback. Apologies for the mix up with seating - we do serve the same menu throughout the bar and restaurant (with most people preferring the ambiance in the bar area), but I am glad we...

London
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We had a limited time to eat here as we had to get my son to Kingham station to catch a train. I chose this pub because it is a short drive from the station and also as it seemed to have the best reviews in the area. I wasn't disappointed, the food was very good and the staff went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emnjnee
kingshead100, General Manager at The King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear emnjnee, I am so pleased we were able to go the extra mile, and that you enjoyed the food and service. Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments, and we hope to see you soon. warmest regards - Rob, GM

Reviewed 21 August 2016

Dinner for 2. Venison very good. Risotto a bit average. Wine by the carafe just ok. Service very good. A pleasant and reasonable inexpensive (given the time of year and location) country pub. Worth a visit if you are considering meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
kingshead100, General Manager at The King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Greg R, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and recommending others to come for a meal here at The Kings Head. Great to hear that you enjoyed our delicious locally shot venison, excellent service and value for money. We believe our risotto and wine by the carafe also to be of the same standard, but appreciate...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bledington
5.9 km away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
127 reviews
5.6 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
928 reviews
12.2 km away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,333 reviews
7.9 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,036 reviews
8.8 km away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Originally a 16 th Century Cider House this is the classic Cotswold Inn on the village green that warms the soul as soon as you see it .Excellent food ,well kept Ales and twelve delightful bedrooms combined with a priceless atmosphere give you the complete Cotswold Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The King's Head Inn

Address: The Green, Bledington OX7 6XQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Bledington
Price Range: $145 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The King's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Head Hotel Bledington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The King's Head Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I thought my room in the yard was very nice, views onto the yard and out on the street (ground level room).”
 of 5 bubbles virchow, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Courtyard rooms are very comfortable and luxurious, the rooms in the pub themselves have more character.”
 of 5 bubbles 33caspard, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We did not use the hotel, only the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles parson156, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Meals at a reasonable cost given the location”
 of 5 bubbles 691gregr, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Court Yard rooms are good if you need ground floor make sure of this when booking see above”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisF101, 12 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5