We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cobbled Yard Hotel

PricelineUSD 128*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Cobbled Yard Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 68: English reviews
Start your review of The Cobbled Yard Hotel
 Click to rate
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

At the start of a Scottish touring holiday we decided to stay one night and were pleased to find a hotel that allowed dogs and wasn't too expensive . The room was clean but very dated in decor and colour. The shower was un-usable as it went from boiling hot to freezing cold constantly and I wasn't prepared to risk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
Great Ayton
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to visit the Cobbled Yard as one or two friends had recommended it, as our usual restaurant, The Castle Hotel was booked up. On entering the place was quite spacious but very quiet. Only four other people in. The waitress seemed disinterested, but the food was served up quite quickly, and was nice but the portions were on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
sunderland
Reviewed 24 February 2017

The hotel has a very personal feel and is very centrally located. Came here for one night away and although the room was clean, the hotel is in dyer need of a spruce up. The coving/plaster had actually come away and there were no duvets, just scratchy old blankets. Customer service however was top notch. This hotel has such potential...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amz3001
Lancashire
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

A well run, very clean, very well priced hotel! Family room was super, for the four of us, simple but plenty of information, family games, breakfast simple but absolutely spot on and the staff couldn't have been nicer. No it's not the ritz but for yha prices we had a smashing couple of days exploring the area. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EtakLancashire
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017

This is an old hotel needing some minor repairs inside and outside.The owners are hard working and the know what the public want Rooms clean tidy Prices about right.Food excellent.Just back after two days.Very relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amclaren213
Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

When In Berwick Upon Tweed, about 3 times a year, We always eat here of an evening, and sometimes at lunchtime, we are never Disappointed and always get an excellent meal, they are very accommadating, and will adapt the menus slightly to suit likes and dislikes. The waiter/manager has been there a while and is always smart and friendly. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

There was no wi fi but they claimed there was when there wasn't. The shower would go hot then cold. The television wouldn't switch on and my mum felt a bit hard but I enjoyed the stay on the other hand though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed E
Yorkshire
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel charges similar rates to south coast hotels yet is not very good. It's on a back road in Berwick. It is not staffed at night- you let yourself in and out. Parking space for 3 vehicles only. No hot meal available on the night we arrived- they weren't cooking at all ( yet the web site advertises evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rabbitmomma
Scotland, uk
Reviewed 9 September 2016

I was with a coach party of 19. We stopped here for a pre-booked lunch. Food was very nice but half of us had soup but no BREAD ! We asked the waitress for bread+ butter and we were told we would be charged extra - we were. One waitress was very rude and tried to imply that one party...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lulu_04Scotland_uk
Alicelyn, Manager at The Cobbled Yard Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you didnt enjoy your visit, but can I just point out that due to the cheap cost of the daily special bread and butter is not included in the price. I doubt anywhere would not have charged in the same circumstance. The lady was asked about her tea - Cup of Tea ! - which incidentally hasnt...

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

My parents and I have just stayed at the cobbled yard and have had a wonderful time. The hotel is small and cosy the staff are all very friendly. Lynda and Fred have a team of staff whom cannot do enough for you. We were staying as a member of my family had a christening to attend on the Sunday....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berwick-upon-Tweed hotels
4.0 km away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
444 reviews
0.2 km away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
191 reviews
1.7 km away
Caroline House
Caroline House
#2 of 4 in Spittal
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#23 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
236 reviews
0.4 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#12 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
140 reviews
0.4 km away
YHA Berwick
YHA Berwick
#3 of 10 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Cobbled Yard Hotel

Address: 40 Walkergate, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range: $128 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Cobbled Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cobbled Yard Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Cobbled Yard Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms all on first floor I think”
amclaren213, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms with wi fi”
ethane2014, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in 5 and it was lovely, bright and airy, clean and comfortable.”
464emmao, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
“spacious corner suite”
706willy, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“As mentioned in the review, please request a bigger room as the room I stayed in (corner room) is extremely small and crammed up.”
Farhan93, 2 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 128* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates