We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Hog's Head Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Hog\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Hog's Head Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 465: English reviews
Thornbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Joined a large family gathering to celebrate a wedding at a nearby venue. Location of hotel on a trading estate adjacent to A1 was a little cncern but hotel looked good, well maintained and welcoming. Rooms were surprisingly large, in very good decorative order, clean and well appointed for a three star establishment. Sound proofing effective as A1 was unobtrusive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David E
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave this review. So sorry to hear this, we always appreciate feedback and please be assured your comments about our food will be passed on. Hope to see you again and give us another try!

Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Several members of our immediate & extended family plus friends stayed here whilst visiting Alnwick to celebrate a special family wedding at Alnwick Gardens Treehouse. Excellent location & high standard of service from the Hogs Inn. Friendly staff who were prepared to make this a special stay. Excellent rooms & good food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your kind words about us. Hope you come back and enjoy your stay again.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Just spent 3 nights here for a wedding. Rooms clean and comfortable but it was the staff who made it. They were so friendly and accommodating would recommend anyone wanting to visit the beautiful Northumberland coast to consider the Hog's Head Inn as a base.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jomaro1425
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

We do aim to achieve the best customer service to the highest standard, so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Please do come back and stay again!

NORTHEAST ENGLAND
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Having been before and enjoyed our meal we decided to go again WE were a party of nine and booked over table for five pm had to wait one hour for the meal to be served then having ordered a large gammon meal a small one was served in fairness they did say that it could be changed,we asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PERCYWOOD
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear this, we always appreciate feedback and please be assured your comments about our service and food will be passed on.

Uk
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We have stayed here several times , this time it was a bargain , dinner, bed and breakfast. We were given a room on the ground floor and the only niggle is that the shower was slightly feeble whereas the stand in shower is more powerful upstairs. The evening meals were varied and absolutely brilliant. All staff were polite and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 13den
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for the 5* rating! Really appreciate the comments, we do take great pride in our services and aim for the highest standard in every area. Be sure to book back in with us before the 31st of March and get a brilliant deal! Dinner, bed & breakfast starting at only 49.95 pppn! Hope to...

UK
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Stayed with my wife recently for a family wedding. Booking in was very easy, we phoned ahead as we had travelled quite a distance and we're going to arrive a little earlier than planned, when we arrived they had managed to accommodate our request and we went to our room. We were on the side of the hotel near the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickeybUK
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your kind words. Really appreciate the 5 stars, we do take great pride in our services and aim for the highest standard in every area. Hope to see you again in the near future!

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights last weekend whilst attending a friends wedding. Our double room was very spacious and comfortable. The standard of cleanliness was also very high. Unfortunately we did experience trouble with our electricity cutting out. However the man at reception, possibly called Jamie or James?, was extremely helpful and moved us to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret-Mary R
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

So sorry about the electricity problems and I'm glad Jamie got it resolved pronto for you, I hope you enjoyed the wedding. Thank you for you review, hope to see you again soon.

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

In Alnwick for one night only and had a family room at the Hog's Head. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Beds are really comfortable. However, the breakfast was awful and had I not paid the bill on arrival I would not have paid for it. As previous posts have indicated the hot food is clearly placed on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gcousins2016
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to leave this. We always appreciate feedback and please be assured your comments about our food will be passed on.

Reviewed 7 October 2016

In a good location but a bit noisy next to the traffic. Lovely breakfast a range of food from cold buffet and hot. "...........Comfy rooms and beds good shower room . The TVs was to small really in with the size of the room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ellie G
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and feedback which is always valued by us. The A1 noise - some people say they hear nothing, others say much quieter than city or town centre pubs - tip from us if you are worried about noise from the A1 - ask for one of our courtyard rooms when booking - we...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We have stopped here a number of times before, this time taking the In-Laws with us to celebrate a birthday. From the moment of arriving to the moment of leaving the staff were as friendly and helpful as always. We eat both nights here and had different things each night and the food was excellent. Breakfast was also excellent. Have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank s70rmp
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Delighted to hear that! It's lovely of you to name our wonderful Daniel too - he is fantastic - along with our really great team of staff. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.9 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
926 reviews
12.7 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,095 reviews
11.6 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
102 reviews
7.5 km away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
301 reviews
23.4 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hogs Head Inn
Hogs Head Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Hog's Head Inn

Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hog's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
The Hog's Head Inn Alnwick, Northumberland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hog's Head Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Hog's Head Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Downstairs rooms have baths, upstairs room shower only. Hotel is right next to A1, so could be a little noisy if window open.”
 of 5 bubbles 86kayl, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms at the back as the A1 is next to it and very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Kimmi1234, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Very little to choose as all rooms were of similar standard with no banging doors, noisy air conditioning, traffic noise or cooking odours.”
 of 5 bubbles davideQ4792YJ, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Have a room on the traffic side because if there is a party u can sometimes hear that.”
 of 5 bubbles ellieg25, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the front of the hotel over looking the carpark/Bar as it will be quieter and away from the A1”
 of 5 bubbles s70rmp, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5