We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Hog's Head Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Hog\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

473 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 471: English reviews
Start your review of The Hog's Head Inn
 Click to rate
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited my sister who is an Alnwick local, she recommended The Hogs Head for a nice evening meal. Was not disappointed, staff were friendly, food was great and at reasonable prices. The area itself is easy to get to, nicely done out with plenty of spaces to park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lillyonfleetdrive
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we had to go up to alnwick to attend a wedding at the treehouse and decided on an overnight stay and picked the hogs head inn..boy did we get that one right.this is an excellent place to stay. the staff are very friendly,polite and helpful.the food was second to none and the room was big enough for me and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trevor s
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving this lovely review, we do hope we see you again soon.

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited twice for lunch with my sons first class food and service and the Sunday carvers very good value for money three of us had heaped plates with drinks for £33 no complaints we will be back thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank val n
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review, we hope to see you again soon!

morpeth
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Three trips in a month, first on a Monday lunch, lovely pork, black pudding and haggis sandwich with chips and well dressed salad,impressed. A Sunday carvery beckoned, very tasteless, chewy meat.Bare footed kids running wild, not the best place for no shoes with glasses everywhere and if the tables are knocked drinks are expensive to replace. A final trip yesterday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ann c
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review, we are sorry to hear your comment's regarding your food. Carveries are always busy and we cannot unfortunately control every child that is in the pub, that is up to the child’s parents. We will pass on your review.

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived at the height of lunch, very busy. Found a table for 2 in the corner. Nice décor, but crowded tables with little room. Carvery meat:pork and beef were very stringy. Does not compare favourably with Bamburgh Castle inn or Lindisfarne inn, for carvery helpings. Service was fine and staff were fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddtnorthumberland
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review, we do get very busy as our Sunday carvery is very popular. Thank you for your comment's - we hope to see you again soon.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our second visit to the Hogs Head and well worth the visit, we were on a winter offer B&B and evening meal for £99. Food was lovely not at all like pub grub, rooms spotless and the staff really friendly. A short walk takes you into Alnwick and there are lots of interesting places to visit. Will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene H
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to leave this lovely review, it is a very good offer! We all hope to see you again soon!

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We went to lunch here and liked the internal layout and decoration very much. I went towards what I thought was a buffet but it turned out to be for a private party, a notice to this effect it might have helped. A large family were having a special party for their Grandmothers 90th birthday. They were enjoying a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review, please come back and give us another try.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

This was our second year the family of 14 had Christmas lunch here. This year we went for the second sitting. Service was very quick and staff were very pleasant. The turkey served was good but a few of the party were not aware they could also have beef as the chef only had turkey to cut. Only when a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James R
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I will pass your comments on to the head chef.

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

What a night brilliant as ever 8 of us stayed the night fantastic rooms comfortable beds good food smashing entertainment all in all 10 out of 10 for Gary Dan and his smashing staff booked for this new year coming

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review, so pleased you all had a great time. Hope to see you again in the future!

Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016

We have eaten here on numerous occasions and are impressed because it has a very wide-ranging menu with ample choice for vegetarians. There are 5 or 6 dishes to choose from which in our experience is unusual. It gets very busy but you can usually find a table in the large bar/dining area. Service is friendly and prompt. I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank profjoypc
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and review, we will hope to see you again in the future.

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
12.7 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,123 reviews
1.9 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
942 reviews
11.6 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
109 reviews
7.5 km away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
305 reviews
13.8 km away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hogs Head Inn
Hogs Head Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Hog's Head Inn

Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hog's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
The Hog's Head Inn Alnwick, Northumberland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hog's Head Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Hog's Head Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can ask for a dog friendly room or a pet free room”
 of 5 bubbles IreneH742, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Downstairs rooms have baths, upstairs room shower only. Hotel is right next to A1, so could be a little noisy if window open.”
 of 5 bubbles 86kayl, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms at the back as the A1 is next to it and very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Kimmi1234, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Very little to choose as all rooms were of similar standard with no banging doors, noisy air conditioning, traffic noise or cooking odours.”
 of 5 bubbles davideQ4792YJ, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Have a room on the traffic side because if there is a party u can sometimes hear that.”
 of 5 bubbles ellieg25, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5