We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holly Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
06/06/2017 07/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Holly Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 259: English reviews
Start your review of Holly Lodge
 Click to rate
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Received a warm welcome from our attentive and helpful hosts, George and Jackie. My family occupied all five rooms for 2 nights and we found the accommodation to be of a very high standard. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the rooms were furnished and equipped extremely well. A lot of thought had gone in to making sure that everything you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent B&B.Our room was upstairs No.4 and was roomy and light .Lovely shower all very clean. The bed was so comfortable and so were the pillows.Breakfast was varied from smoked kippers which were delicious to poached eggs on toast ,full English breakfast also smoked salmon with cream cheese and a warm toasted bagel.Also a selection of fruits yogurts and cereals.George...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjc46tm
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having received a warm welcome here many times over the years, I'm impressed that the high standards have been maintained. A perfectly situated property in a quiet area of Alnwick yet only a few minutes walk from the centre. The place is spotlessly clean with cozy bedrooms, comfortable television lounge and a wonderful breakfast. The perfect base to stay while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Honeyman39
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Once again we visit such a lovely part of the uk and had a wonderful stay at holly lodge . Been coming for years now and the stay has always been brilliant . A good breakfast which sets you up for the day and then a good nights sleep in the comfy beds . Great knowledge of surrounding areas so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martyn j
solihull
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Such a lovely peaceful place to stay. From the wind chimes gently blowing in the breeze to the not too distant church bells singing you to the land of nod almost guarantees a great night sleep. Then breakfast......delicious, local produce, cooked to perfection and served hot. Just what you need to start your day of exploration. George and Jackie are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicky g
george s, Owner at Holly Lodge, responded to this review

Nicky - thank you very much for your excellent review of your recent stay with us at Holly Lodge. On behalf of myself , Jackie and the Team it is very good news for us to receive a review like this. We sincerely hope you do come and stay with us again in the future.

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017

After our first visit in April 2016, we were sure that we would visit George and Jackie again. We were not disappointed, everything was as good as we remembered and it felt like we were 'home'. The area surrounding them is beautiful with lots of restaurant/pubs nearby for evening meals although the size and quality of the breakfasts needs a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Stayed in October, ground floor room. George very friendly, didn't see much of Jackie. The breakfasts were well cooked and plenty of choice. Unlike some guests we didn't have a problem with ordering breakfast the previous evening as many b&b's do this nowadays. We found the room size o.k, small but perfectly adequate, after all you only sleep there, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PCA50
oxford
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Stayed here for 4 nights late October on our first visit to Northumberland. George and Jackie are excellent and knowledgable hosts with recommendations for restaurants and things to do. The accommodation is modern, comfortable and spotlessly clean with nice touches such as chilled water available in the reception area. Breakfast is cooked to order and is of a very high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jjamesmg
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Quiet b&b near the centre of Alnwick. We stayed in downstairs room which was small but comfy. Breakfast ordered the night before, which we didn't mind and was freshly cooked as we had asked for. The only downside was the wet room shower. We would have preferred an enclosed shower or better still a bath. Quite conscious of not spraying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph A
London
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Good location, host George welcoming & helpful, didn't see much of Jacky. Stayed in ground floor disabled access room - good bed - but shower spray flow was limited due to poor waste drainage. - Notices on the wall not to alter settings or risk flooding. Good breakfast but required to choose items the previous night and early 10.00 check-out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FYILondon
george s, Owner at Holly Lodge, responded to this review

For the record there are NO issues with the shower room whatsoever! The reason a notice is in the shower is because we have extremely high water pressure - up to 8 bar of pressure when fully turned up - most households have around 1.5 bar of pressure. The shower drains away perfectly quickly as I have tested it myself...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (23)
06/06/2017 07/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.3 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
990 reviews
11.2 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,181 reviews
10.6 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bow House
Bow House
#4 of 66 in Alnwick
327 reviews
0.3 km away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#7 of 66 in Alnwick
145 reviews
1.1 km away
West Acre House
West Acre House
#1 of 66 in Alnwick
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 Star Gold Award, Visit Britain Kellogg's Breakfast Award. Location: Situated up a very quiet cul-de-sac, The Avenue off Prudhoe Street next to Police Station, a three minute walk to centre, restaurants and Alnwick Garden and Castle. A very peaceful place for an undisturbed great night's sleep, perfect base for Alnwick and district. Bedrooms: Six en-suite travertine tiled shower wet rooms, 1 room has sunken bathroom and bath /shower. 1 room has been modified to include ground floor disabled facilities. Five of these rooms have super king sized double beds, which can be split into comfortable single beds. Three rooms can accommodate an extra single bed for a child. All rooms have flat screen TV with freeview package, Sky TV and free Wi Fi. Tea /coffee making, hairdryer and ironing facility. Car Park: Large secure car park for up to 10 cars, C.C.T.V protected, in grounds. Lounge: Guest lounge with 42" flat screen TV with freeSAT and Sky package. Breakfast Room: Individual tables in modern style breakfast room. Reception: Private secure guest entrance with Reception facilities, and fridge with complimentary bottled chilled mineral water and ice making machine. Drying Room: Drying room available along with bike storage room. Decking Area: Private rear decking area and gardens with seats and two fish ponds with waterfall feature available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holly Lodge

Address: Holly Lodge The Avenue, Alnwick NE66 1UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Price Range: $147 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holly Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holly Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Lodge Alnwick, Northumberland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holly Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Reading, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holly Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 suitable for disabled people. Rooms 4 and 5 very spacious.”
P1651JMchristiner, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs room”
cjc46tm, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Book upstairs if you want privacy”
PCA50, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get an upstairs room if possible.”
898Annie, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms are more spacious.”
Sweetcharity19, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates